We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but see beyond the shortfallings”
Review of Pigeons Farm

Pigeons Farm
Ranked #19 of 70 things to do in Peterborough
Attraction details
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Basic but see beyond the shortfallings”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We decided to do a little last minute camping here. Its a good deal as you get free entry for the farm and the kids can use the park before and after the place closes. Its very basic but the idea behind it is good. They need someone to bring the place up to good visitor standards eg more signage to guide you along. The petting area is good for the little ones and at least one of the staff know what they're talking about ( but not all of them..good for local youth emplyment though!) With egg collecting, a tractor ride and the ugliest pig you've ever seen its worth a trip. Without the extra draw of camping I may have been a little disappointed but saying that businesses like this have to start somewhere. The camping is again basic but ideal for visiting the busy area of Peterborough.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Owner at Pigeons Farm, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your visit but I will certainly look at our signs and try to improve them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    24
    16
    22
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Shabby and needs some TLC”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Went for a morning with my family including 3 under 10's and grandparents for what promised to be a nice day. Unfortunately, the farm appears to be maybe exactly what it is, a non-working farm filled with animals in makeshift cages to attract the kiddies. The whole farm has an edge of dilapidation and lack of care, although all the animals seemed happy and healthy. Considering the entrance fee and the relatively unusual fact that it cost an extra £1 pp for the tractor ride (with a rude driver who didn't say much apart from "a pound each over three") i'm pretty sure a can of paint isn't out of the question to make it at least superficially seem cared for. Customer service seems to be lacking with courtsey to the people paying good money for the attraction not in evidence. The play area in the farm however is marvellous. It is nice to see that this area has had money put into it but maybe it would be a good idea to show the rest of the farm the same level of care.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great farm and fun camping!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

10 of us camped here for a weekend in August; children, parents and grandchildren, and it wasn't our first visit here – we always have a good time.

The children loved the big park and holding all the baby guinea pigs and bunnies and the pig racing was so much fun for the whole family! The bigger kids went on a tractor ride and were excited to see quail chicks hatching out. Staff are very friendly and knowledgeable and were only too happy to pick up the animals and let everyone stroke them and hold them.

The campsite is small but has everything you could need including electric, toilets, a clean shower and a shop to buy ice cream. There was even an early morning wake-up call from a few cockerel’s!

Pigeons farm isn't a zoo, it doesn't have hundreds of animals but is a worthwhile visit. If you camp, you don’t pay entrance to the farm / parks.

Will be returning.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“pig racing! Fantastic fun.”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We took our 4 year old grandaughter to the farm where she got to hold a two week old baby rabbit, she was thrilled. The animals were clearly happy and very well cared for, the staff friendly and helpful. The pig racing was such fun and will be talked about in our family for a long time. Such a lot to see and do but still compact enough to be friendly for old and young to walk around, a thoroughly enjoyable day, fully intend to return with more grandchildren in the near future.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Needs some attention but good for little ones”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We have been here a couple of times now, it definitely needs a cash injection to bring it up to date but is over all a nice afternoon out with toddlers. I'm not sure it would hold the attention of older children, very little for them. The food in the cafe is very nice and we'll worth a visit for lunch, if nothing else.

Helpful?
Thank earkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pigeons Farm also viewed

Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Pigeons Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing