We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely way to spend a morning”
Review of Pigeons Farm

Pigeons Farm
Ranked #19 of 70 things to do in Peterborough
Attraction details
Wisbech, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely way to spend a morning”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We've been to Pigeon's Farm once a year for the past three years. Before our visit this year, I'd read some of the recent reviews on here and was a bit worried that maybe standards had slipped - after all, a year is a long time and things can change. Nothing could be further from the truth and this was our most enjoyable visit so far.

Highlights:
The giant bullock - never seen a cow so big!
Feeding the pigs who are so cute and funny
Giant rabbit, completely chillaxed even lying on its back!
Friendly, welcoming staff who chatted to us for ages about the animals

Since our last visit they've added more playground equipment - climbing frames, slides, swings - and the playbarn is completely overhauled and very nice. I found everything clean and tidy, and well maintained. Our 5-yr old daughter loves the bouncy cushion. :-)

With reference to some other recent reviews, I didn't see any animals in cages, the "rusty pipes" had been boarded up, and the overgrown pen I saw was definitely not in use (although a pony was having a feast of the nettles!)

We had a really lovely morning and could have stayed much longer but had to be elsewhere.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    24
    16
    22
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
March, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Health & Safety Nightmare”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

If you go here Please Please do not let your small children out of your sights. The whole place is rundown and almost derelict in places. I was quite surprised to realise it’s been operating for at least 3 years, the state it’s in you could be forgiven for thinking it had only opened this year as a last ditch attempt at saving a failing farm. In the central area are large what I assume were large round storage containers, out of these come large rusty pipes - large enough for small children to get into with rat poison bait boxes in them. I realize farms/countryside will always have an issue with rats but leaving them so easily accessible is inexcusable. There are piles of bricks and wood, scattered all around very tempting for children to climb on but not at all safe.

Despite being peak season the whole place seemed understaffed. There was no one on hand if something went wrong or if kids/parents were behaving dangerously or harming the animals.
There was nothing for slightly older children other than the Gobots which were great fun but worked out very expensive for 2 kids and hubby. The zip wire was not properly set up. My nephew (13) ended up dragged on the floor despite being nowhere near the upper weight limit.

I realise that you can’t allow 20 or so child rampaging around the hen house collecting eggs but something a little more realistic than putting your hand through a hole to pick up an egg from a wooden shelf would have been nice.

There were a couple of overgrown what I assumed were derelict pens which I was appalled to realise were actually still in use. Would not return even with younger children.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Itsysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Owner at Pigeons Farm, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
I'm sorry you did not enjoy your visit to Pigeons Farm .I'm afraid I think your comments about health and safety are not very fair. The farm is equipment is regularly checked for safety and we would not be able to operate if it were not safe. The storage containers you mention are old corn silos which were used to store corn in the past. Yes, we do have tamper-proof bait boxes around the farm but this is a precaution to prevent unwanted vermin moving in. No child could get into them. Staff are always in the farm to talk to visitors and allow them to meet the animals. The egg collecting is for small children who have never seen where eggs come from and they are allowed to put their hand into the nest box and remove an egg-this is always supervised .We can't suit everyone but many, many children love what we offer here in a traditional farm setting and come back time and time again .For older children, the Jumping Pillow is great entertainment and the Gobots .If they love animals they will still find enough to fill their visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Basic but see beyond the shortfallings”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We decided to do a little last minute camping here. Its a good deal as you get free entry for the farm and the kids can use the park before and after the place closes. Its very basic but the idea behind it is good. They need someone to bring the place up to good visitor standards eg more signage to guide you along. The petting area is good for the little ones and at least one of the staff know what they're talking about ( but not all of them..good for local youth emplyment though!) With egg collecting, a tractor ride and the ugliest pig you've ever seen its worth a trip. Without the extra draw of camping I may have been a little disappointed but saying that businesses like this have to start somewhere. The camping is again basic but ideal for visiting the busy area of Peterborough.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Owner at Pigeons Farm, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your visit but I will certainly look at our signs and try to improve them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Shabby and needs some TLC”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Went for a morning with my family including 3 under 10's and grandparents for what promised to be a nice day. Unfortunately, the farm appears to be maybe exactly what it is, a non-working farm filled with animals in makeshift cages to attract the kiddies. The whole farm has an edge of dilapidation and lack of care, although all the animals seemed happy and healthy. Considering the entrance fee and the relatively unusual fact that it cost an extra £1 pp for the tractor ride (with a rude driver who didn't say much apart from "a pound each over three") i'm pretty sure a can of paint isn't out of the question to make it at least superficially seem cared for. Customer service seems to be lacking with courtsey to the people paying good money for the attraction not in evidence. The play area in the farm however is marvellous. It is nice to see that this area has had money put into it but maybe it would be a good idea to show the rest of the farm the same level of care.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great farm and fun camping!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

10 of us camped here for a weekend in August; children, parents and grandchildren, and it wasn't our first visit here – we always have a good time.

The children loved the big park and holding all the baby guinea pigs and bunnies and the pig racing was so much fun for the whole family! The bigger kids went on a tractor ride and were excited to see quail chicks hatching out. Staff are very friendly and knowledgeable and were only too happy to pick up the animals and let everyone stroke them and hold them.

The campsite is small but has everything you could need including electric, toilets, a clean shower and a shop to buy ice cream. There was even an early morning wake-up call from a few cockerel’s!

Pigeons farm isn't a zoo, it doesn't have hundreds of animals but is a worthwhile visit. If you camp, you don’t pay entrance to the farm / parks.

Will be returning.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pigeons Farm also viewed

Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Pigeons Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing