We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sacrewell
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You probably know us as a lovely place for children to see the animals, run around in beautiful countryside and let off steam in our state-of-the-art play barn - but there's a lot more to Sacrewell. With the help of £1.4 million from the Heritage Lottery Fund, our 18th century water mill is being transformed into a national centre for milling excellence - take a tour and find out how your great-grandparents got their daily bread. Foodies can also join a tractor trip around the fields of our tenant farmers Riverford Organic Farms (it's on our land). Then there's our wildlife trail, scavenger hunt and two new rambles - if you're lucky, you'll see the rare red kites and brown hares. Seasonal events range from our Lamb National to ploughing with vintage tractors. In our 50th year as a charity dedicated to agricultural education, we continue to welcome students of all ages who want to learn traditional skills and get an insight into rural life. We hope that all our visitors not only have a great day out but feel they've learned something too.
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Very poor farm area - quite a few empty pens and the animal discovery centre and hatchery were shocking - very run down and dirty, and very few animals.

However, the soft play barn is excellent - one of the best we have visited. Our toddler enjoyed this much more than the farm. If it wasn't for this I would have rated sacrewell much lower.

Thank LJJ78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SacrewellMeg, Public Relations Manager at Sacrewell, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Hello.
Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed the new play barn. We are delighted with it.
Our next area for improvement is, in fact, the small animal yard and Discovery Centre and we are currently starting to move animals out of the area in order to start work. Please keep an eye on our website for information and I hope you'll come back and see our improvements.
Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 275 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Went to the farm today. Great sunny weather helped. Arrived at 11, left at 4. Staff friendly, great water mill, fantastic play areas. The indoor play area is new. Ate hot food on the cafe. Good quality. Very clean restaurant. Animals well looked after. My 2 year old daughter loved it. Even my 13 year old daughter (who prefers theme parks) said she'd had a good day.

Very good value for the price. In our party were 3 adults and 2 children. Entry around 25 pounds.

In Windsor, where I live we pay 50 pounds for a family ticket to our local farm (odds farm). This farm is MUCH better value, with lots of rural exhibits and working water mill!

There's been a lot of recent investment in this farm, and it shows.

Highly recommended!

2  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SacrewellMeg, Public Relations Manager at Sacrewell, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Hi Simon,
Thank you very much for your lovely review and we're delighted that you had a good day. Perhaps next time you could bring a tent and stay over in our camp site!
The improvements will continue (next stop, Animal Village) and we hope to see you again soon,
Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Having visited a couple of times during the early spring to see the new lambs with my toddler, we've just signed up for an annual membership.
The new play barn is great and I couldn't get my little man off the tractors. The annual pass is worth the money for the play barn alone in my opinion.
Looking forward to more visits over the summer!

Thank Jolligiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SacrewellMeg, Public Relations Manager at Sacrewell, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Hello,
Thank you very much for your review and I'm delighted to hear that you have taken out a membership with us. We look forward to seeing you again very soon,
Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Although raining I still had an amazing day out! We went to the event being held this weekend and saw sheep sheering and even coloured in a mill. The day was polished off by some childish fun in the play barn! Coming from a thirteen year old i could spend all day in there! Little ones loved it too. Parents can get a coffee while children burn off their fuel! Excellent day! Will definatly be returning to go in the play barn!

Pam Belson

1  Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SacrewellMeg, Public Relations Manager at Sacrewell, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Hi Pam,
Thanks very much for your wonderful review. We're pleased that you found your visit both fun and educational (it means we're doing something right).
We look forward to seeing you again soon-perhaps you could pop by for the lamb national and duck race in the summer?
Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

As a group of four adults and two children we visited Sacrewell Farm over Easter 2014 as we have done for many years , the purpose being to see the White Rabbit and spend time explaining to the grandchildren about the animals and how they breed and care for their young.
What an absolute shambles met our eyes as the farm had not been touched in any way since our previous visit in 2013 when even then we felt that it was on it's last legs, most of the farm was completely devoid of animals and the pens and buildings are in urgent need of repair.
The "Tractor Ride" to see the Enchanted Wood was as fast as possible so as to get in as many rides as they can ( nearing on the dangerous for the toddlers and the elderly ) the White Rabbit
itself was an absolute joke with trainers on view and showing naked arms, even our four year old granddaughter remarked that it was a person dressed up which totally spoiled the illusion.
We now notice the added nonsense of photographs to make even more money, absolutely fine if it was done professionally but it wasn't.
We arrived as the farm opened but was unable to obtain refreshments owing to the restaurant opening half an hour later, but judging by the comments of previous customers this was a bonus as they spoke of over priced coffee and plastic food which is about the standard we encountered the year before.
The only good thing about the whole day was Grandma's picnic and we took that with us to avoid disappointment in the restaurant,
If this had been a Pop Concert or Theme Park customers would have been howling for their money back, this is definitely the last time we spend over £150 for this total disaster and if
SacrewellMeg would like me to walk around the farm with her to justify my remarks I would be only too willing to do so.
ABSOLUTELY THE WORST DAY OUT EVER. TERRAD R

6  Thank TERRAD R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SacrewellMeg, Public Relations Manager at Sacrewell, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Hello,
Thank you for your review and I am sorry you were not pleased with your visit-especially as I understand you have visited many times before. The Easter event is not something we have ever changed and it has stayed the same for many years. The photographer is only there if you want her to take your photo (it is not compulsory-you're welcome to take your own pictures) and as a local charity we are given a percentage of the proceeds from the sale of the photos as a donation.
Since your last visit we have made many improvements to the farm, including a new play barn and a complete refurbishment of the café. We have also added additional shelters and hard standing areas to the paddocks.
If you wanted to come to the farm to discuss your comments further either myself, the general manager or the site operations manager would be happy to walk with you and talk about the improvements we have made. Please feel free to e-mail us at info@sacrewell.org.uk
Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sacrewell also viewed

Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Sacrewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing