We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Flag Fen

Flag Fen
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little disappointing”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We went on a Monday in the school summer holidays. My son was really looking forward to seeing the roundhouses; sadly, they were not open as they were being (somewhat desultorily) renovated. The Big Dig tent wasn't open either. The preservation hall with the causeway was interesting, as was the (small) museum and the Must Farm boats. However, overall the site had an air of slight neglect; peeling paint on infoboards, general clutter around the museum and the arts/crafts room, fallen and overgrown timbers and wattle hurdles in the "glade" area. The cafe was also very basic.

That said, the visitor centre itself was very nice, and the staff were helpful and welcoming. I'd go again, provided the entrance fee didn't go up!

The site could do a lot more, fairly easily, to improve. For example, while the renovations to the roundhouses are going on, they could put up infoboards explaining what's happening and how the work is being done. Some exhibits on what life would have been like in the Bronze Age would have been good too (e.g. food and cooking, clothing, hunting, religion and society). I appreciate that funding and staffing probably curtail a lot of what could be done, but some things could be done fairly cheaply.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    46
    17
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great trip into the Bronze Age”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My family recently visited Flag Fen as part of a trip to the UK. We all enjoyed it and it was a great introduction for the kids (12 and 14) into British history and good preparation for some of the sites we visited later in the holiday. The combination of archaeology, reconstruction and museum was great. The round house reconstructions weren't open, but nonetheless it was a very educational couple of hours, and looking at a series of trackways over 3000 years old is a great experience!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cameron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very disappointed”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Was so looking forward to this visit and made it the much anticipated highlight of our holiday only to end up feeling really let down. Neither reconstruction of of the iron age round houses were open as they have been left to seemingly fall apart. These reconstructions were our main reason for wanting to visit as they are touted as being a serious attempt to recreate building techniques true to the period. However it was easy to see this had not been the case here as you could see what looked like chicken wire and some sort of squares of plastic matting which had been used to construct the roof on one. If you want to see experimental archaeology I couldn't recommend this as a day out. The preserved remains of the causeway were interesting and genuine and although we could not see much of the preserved boats the lady who was there on the day we visited was knowledgeable about them. The site is pretty however that is not what we went to see. If you want to be able to actually see inside a round house get yourself to the Ryedale Folk Museum in North Yorkshire. Smashing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank graham a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Walk through 4000+ Years”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I took a taxi from Peterborough Station to Flag Fen to save time, It cost just under £10 although costs can vary according to traffic. The visitor centre was welcoming and informative. The trails across the site is easy to follow. The preserved wooden causeway is impressive and the conservation of the recently discovered boats interesting. The reconstructions of round houses and associated items and the museum displays gave a sense of how our ancestors lived in probably a comfortable manner. I walked back to Peterborough by a cycle track that met and followed the bank of the River Nene, a walk of just over 3 miles. It was a visit well worth making.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank davelannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackheath london
Level Contributor
167 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A serious leap back into England's Past history”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

A side of the origins and history of the fens which we didn't expect lovely loungers and we started in Stamford stopped off for lunch in John Clare's Cottage in Helpston and finished with The Great Fen Magical Day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flag Fen also viewed

Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Flag Fen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing