We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wide range of things to do”

Ferry Meadows Country Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There is something for everybody at Ferry Meadows. Imagine somewhere beautiful, safe and unspoilt where you can walk, cycle, play, horse-ride, ride a train, go fishing, exercise the dog, jog, push the buggy and explore endless meadows, lakes and woodland all less than three miles from Peterborough's busy city centre. We also offer three play areas catering for different ages and an events programme throughout the year with lots of activities for children. If all of this isn't enough to keep you entertained the Visitor Centre stocks a wide range of toys and games along with gifts, souvenirs and sweet treats. After all this activity you can relax at one of our cafes, find a nice spot for a picnic or fire up on one of our barbecue stands. New for 2014: On 11 April Lakeside at Ferry Meadows will open its doors to Park visitors. Lakeside provides a hub for activity and relaxation within Ferry Meadows as the home for Nene Outdoors, a new watersports and outdoor activity venture and Lakeside Kitchen & Bar, a contemporary dining and function venue. A new and exciting play area is set to open in early April. Aimed at younger children the new Otter playground will provide an exciting play space to explore and enjoy.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“wide range of things to do”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at caravan club site which was excellent. Loads to do for mixed age families, walking/cycling/kayaking/sailing/mini railway/play parks. Watersports centre charges £5 to launch kayaks and the lakes are picturesque. Nene valley railway 50yards away (very expensive but discount for caravan club site). Pitch and putt 100yards away very fun.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    737
    283
    60
    14
    28
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Old Colwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great park”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

2 lovely cafes, water sports, small steam train, play grounds, lakes, cycle paths- something for everyone!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Me1an1e2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Afternoon with friends”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Lovely place, plenty of groups cooking and socialising in the park with joggers, dog walkers and others enjoying the water and facilities.
Never been to Peterborough before but would certainly return

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Peacefull, relaxing visit!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Our friend recommended this place to us when we were looking for somewhere safe to teach our 5yo to ride a bike. It's huge with lots of paths with stunning lake views. Park, children play areas are nicely kept. There are few big BBQ, so all you need is to bring some coal and food. Over the summer holidays we visited this place few times and always had great time! We will definately be coming back!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank caro_linky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NPTrust, Visitor Services Officer at Ferry Meadows Country Park, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Sounds like you had a great visit. We also run events all year round and have Discovery Packs for hire from the Visitor Centre which are packed with activities for children. Hope to see you in the park again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very pretty space and good facilities”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I went for a cycle around the park and it was very enjoyable.

I found the cycle parking and so decided to have lunch in the cafe. It was a lovely day so lots of people were eating outside. I also had a look in the gift shop which was very tidy and had interesting things to buy.

A lot of families with young kids, but they weren't any trouble as there was plenty of space for them to run around and be active.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ferry Meadows Country Park also viewed

Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Ferry Meadows Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing