We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful easy atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of embe restaurant - CLOSED

embe restaurant
Price range: US$16 - US$26
Cuisines: Caribbean, African, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: At embe Restaurant we pride ourselves on offering a Taste of Africa and the Caribbean from our Peterborough restaurant, just five minutes walk from the City Centre.Our menu includes delicious favourites such as Jambalaya, Jerk Mix and of course Curried Mutton plus some exciting new dishes for you to try.We are open for lunch and dinner
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful easy atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Went with 9 colleagues not knowing what to expect.... special place, good food, attentive service.
Would recommend the drinks!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madeleine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    61
    18
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Poor selection, poor presentation slow service and over priced. Shabby interior. One waitress and one chef

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick R, Owner at embe restaurant, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
As a small, family business we try to build upon constructive criticism. Every so often a review occurs that is thoroughly negative, with no detail, and is completely inaccurate. This is one of those reviews - all of our waiting staff are men and have been since September, just to illustrate the inaccuracy here.
Please read further reviews to gain a more balanced understanding of the image and food we try to deliver; relaxed, informal and freshly prepared, therefore not using an extensive menu. I am absolutely certain that given the quality and quality of the fresh ingredients that we use, it is unfair to say that we are overpriced. You will most certainly find restaurant and pub chains in the city selling mass produced, frozen food at and above the price points we use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Meal and Team”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Have had many a great meal in here, it's one of my favourite places to go! The service is always fantastic too!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joannemwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Went here with friends who had been here previously to have Sunday lunch. The whole experience was a pleasant one from the attentive staff to the food which was delicious. If you wish to try something different to the usual I would heartily recommend Embe

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Visited with my husband. No complaints at all. We hadnt booked, but they were able to accomodate us. Food was lovely, a change from Indian or Chinese, staff were very friendly and service was good. Will definately eat there again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 102Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed embe restaurant also viewed

 
Thorney, Peterborough
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing