We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - well worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Peterborough
Huddersfield
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel - well worth a visit”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip in November 2012. The decor and facilities in the hotel are very impressive and I was very pleasantly surprised. The room service and spa facilities were also very welcome after a very busy day at work.

I will definitely be re-visiting next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    284
    138
    73
    49
See reviews for
117
247
21
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

My wife and I stayed over one night whilst visiting the area for an event.

Location: On the outskirts of Peterborough.
Set in a quiet location adjacent to a business park and the Showground, a mile or so off the A1M Great North Road, so would also suit if you are going up to/down from the North and needed a stop off, or a touring base.
In my opinion this is a car only destination, there is no public transport I could see which services the area. There were plenty of cabs, so should not be a problem getting in to the city.

We have also stayed at the Northampton Marriott not that far from here, which looks very similar, fairly nondescript slightly dated design, but it blends in and is well kept.
Free parking. Exit is security controlled by pin code.

Impression is of a very clean and well run hotel.
Check in was simple (booked online).

Room: Ground floor. Spotless and well presented.
The bathroom was fine, straightforward shower controls.
The double bed was very comfortable, and the aircon worked.
The kettle did not work but was changed very quickly without fuss.

Public areas:
We dined out at a pub/restaurant across the road, but we used the bar, which was small but OK.
Breakfast (which was included in the weekend rate) was excellent. The staff did a really good job of handling the rush, with several groups converging almost simultaneously.

Did not have time to use the pool or health facility.

All the staff were friendly and helpful.

Dislikes.
Honestly, none, aside from my usual bugbear about "charged for" wi-fi. I do not understand this. We use mobile broadband as a result.

We really like the Marriott brand, definitely a step up from Travelodge or Premier Inns ( which to be fair have their own strengths and reasons for using). The pricing is usually higher than we want, but judicious use of their weekend deals can give really good value.
Since we found out by chance that our football team (who were playing in Peterborough) were staying there we will check out the Marriott chain for future away fixtures! BTW the hotel handled the team and its entourage discreetly and efficiently, very professional.

Room Tip: two stories. there are no lifts, I believe, so ground floor if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012 via mobile

Attending a charity function at the Arena, the Marriott was the nearest hotel.

From arrival to departure, the staff were professional, the room was clean and well presented.

Breakfast was one of the best I have had for a hotel stay in some considerable time.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bracknell
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Due to its 1970s build, think of an oversized old people home in exterior looks and also much of the interior. However rooms are well sized, windows open and there is silence outside. A/c very efficient and very quiet. Everything, very comfy and clean, the rooms are also free of bumps and scuffs so I guess must have been fairly recently refurbished. Bathroom was functional and clean though shower is over the bath which may be an issue for some.

The hotel bar was very basic and seemed to be missing many standard alcohol choices and frankly was a little depressing, on the up side most of the dishes available in the full service restaurant were also available here, so you could just sit down have a drink and a plate of food without any fuss.

Restaurant served surprisingly edible food and also offered a fixed price 3 course menu, which I think is to be admired. Al a carte menu included several steaks and again I was impressed that the price included some rather nice chips (possibly triple cooked?), mushrooms, tomatoes and a bit of greenery. Good service and some nice bottles of wine available (but not cheap). On a small down side the table next to us was left empty and uncleared throughout the whole meal (the staff were not noticeably busy - so no excuse for this) and again decoratively the room was just a little depressing.

Gold stars for offering the health club and pool to guests and nul points for charging £6.00 per hour for wi-fi. The wi-fi charge was avoided by us due to the kindness of the reception staff who Google mapped our driving route for the next day and printed it off for us - top marks and much appreciated.

Overall on our week-end rate I felt our stay was a bit of a bargain and we will definitely use the hotel again.

Room Tip: No lift to the 1st floor & bedroom corridors seem to go on for miles. If you have mobility issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbBracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This hotel was brilliant!! Three friends and myself went on a David Palmer weekend and nothing was too much trouble. The beds were mmmmmmmm superb. The food was fab.Just a short five minute walk into little village with thatched roof cottages and a log fired pub. it was like home from home very cosy. I would love to stay for longer it was so relaxing one night wasn't enough.

Room Tip: our room was on floor level. no problems at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpalleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Well equipped, modern four star hotel with comfortably roomy rooms (!) on the outskirts of town close to the A1 and right next to the showground. I have always found Marriott's staff the friendliest of any four star hotel chain and Peterborough is no exception: from the reception staff to the waitresses everyone smiled and was genuinely helpful. Excellent breakfast, the bar food is good too (if a tad expensive) and there's free WIFI for the first hour. Lovely leisure centre which is well equipped (the staff wil serve you drinks by the pool!) although the pool is rather small for serious swimming. The only negative is the design of the hotel which means that if a wedding is taking place the guests all spill out into the reception and lounge are and you have to walk through them all on way to your room or the leisure centre (I was in muddy boots and nearly stepped on a bride's dress!) With the guests also spilling onto the mezzanine floor there was no where peaceful to sit except my room. But this is a small point: overall very good hotel and will happily stay here again. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank politicsandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Enjoyed our stay on a Sunday evening. Hotel was quiet (apart from a wedding, although that wasn't a problem) and the restaurant wasn't open, but full menu served in the bar, and we were given a generous choice on our DB&B rate. Rooms comfortable and clean, pool not huge but very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBLALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 27 in Peterborough
356 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Peterborough West
Holiday Inn Peterborough West
#9 of 27 in Peterborough
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Peterborough
Holiday Inn Express Peterborough
#13 of 27 in Peterborough
408 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bull Hotel
Bull Hotel
#6 of 27 in Peterborough
917 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Peterborough
Days Inn Peterborough
#19 of 27 in Peterborough
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peterborough Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peterborough Marriott Hotel

Property: Peterborough Marriott Hotel
Address: Peterborough Business Park | Lynch Wood, Peterborough PE2 6GB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Peterborough Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully sitting on 11 acres of picturesque countryside, the Peterborough Marriott Hotel perfectly blends traditional sophistication with modern comforts. Our stunning 4-star hotel boasts an ideal location 3 miles from city center and just a short walk from Peterborough Showground and Arena. Enjoy our tranquil spa and a state-of-the-art Leisure Club sure to create a truly memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Peterborough Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Peterborough
Peterborough Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing