We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and efficient, with a very warm welcome.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Peterborough
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We used this hotel for one night, so we could have a short drive after a party. The check-in was efficient and friendly; a big plus for me. We had already received an email telling who would be on duty, and we found the staff mentioned there. Quickly to our room we found it as clean and tidy as expected though rather warm. It was cold outside, and we quickly adjusted the heating to be more to our liking; it might have a saved bit on the energy bill if it had been turned down.
We like the Marriott beds and we were not disappointed. One drink in the bar had lemonade added rather than the requested soda; it was quickly sorted and not a spoiler.
At breakfast (on a not too busy weekend morning) no-one was waiting to take our room number so we just started to sit down when a staff member addressed from afar. Not so keen on that though soon enjoying the food stuffs on offer. Coffee was warm and fresh and strong enough for the main coffee lover in the party.
So we were off via another efficient and friendly person at check out; we enjoyed the stay and would certainly look at the offers for a return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NotquiteRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

678 - 684 of 841 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2012

The hotel itself is quite grand and welcoming in the public areas and was very comfortable. The rooms themselves were furnished very nicely however, there was no main light in the room so it was permanently dim and made it impossible to do anything that required you to see detail.

The size and furnishings in the room were no better than a three star establishment as far as I could see. There was only one arm chair so two people could not sit comfortably together, someone would have to sit on the office like char from the desk.

I was just generally underwhelmed with the room.

The breakfast however was excellent, a great selection and very good quality. It would have been nice if the hot food was cooked to order however and not left as self service, again not what I would expect from a 4 star establishment.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LJLK89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Back after 3 years, with a one night stay to attend a local event. Staff at checkin very efficient and welcoming. Bar staff got my drink wrong but quickly replaced it. Someone here has complained about the bar but I think it is very pleasant. Bedrooms are typical Marriott with bathrooms a tiny bit dated but fine. Love those window seats! The breakfast is a highlight- I caught no smells from the eggs- in fact I think it is great that they cook eggs to order and, remarkably for an American chain, they still do fried bread AND hash browns. Full points to Marriott. The pastries and cheese looked excellent too. Coffee was good as well. Paid a good price and had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoldlyGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I recently stayed at the Peterborough Marriott. I have stayed there three times before, not always an agreeable stay in the past but this time staff were efficient, rooms clean, interconnected as requested and in a quiet part of the hotel. Perhaps the Marriott Manchester Airport may learn from their sister hotel with regard to my recent stay there in November.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamWrawby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

Just attended a Christmas party here and stayed over in a suite. Party was great with very tasty food. The room was huge everything was great except having to chase up the complimentary wine!

Breakfast was good although just the now standard buffet.

But the dampener was even paying 165 for a room they still wanted more for Internet. In this day and age this is truly a rip off!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme_UK_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

This is a former Swallow hotel, hence looks a little like a motorway hotel. Far too expensive during the week when the hotel takes advantage of the fact that Peterborough does not have many four star hotels. At weekend, we paid £85 including breakfast. The rooms are ok but the bathrooms are dated and the shower weak, still no free WiFi which is criminal for a business hotel. The service is good and food ok but the breakfast room always smells of fat from the egg and omelette station, sit anywhere near that and you will smell like a frying pan for the rest of he day. The hotel staff post a bill through your door over night which is rather strange as it is far from a positive wake up experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Dinner at the Marriott. Pre-ordered 3 course meal, £36 without any drinks, large glass of wine £9.70. Meal was ok. Full wine bottles and glasses removed by waiters while dancing. High prices for an average meal. Booked at a very well known restaurant with work for Xmas , Michelin recommended for £31 per person.
Would have expected better quality and imagination for that place. Would I go there again? Did not meet my expectations so I guess I won't be returning there soon

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Marwan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Peterborough West
Holiday Inn Peterborough West
#10 of 27 in Peterborough
618 reviews
4 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 27 in Peterborough
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Peterborough
Holiday Inn Express Peterborough
#12 of 27 in Peterborough
430 reviews
3.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Peterborough
3.9 mi away
Bull Hotel
Bull Hotel
#9 of 27 in Peterborough
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peterborough Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peterborough Marriott Hotel

Address: Peterborough Business Park | Lynch Wood, Peterborough PE2 6GB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Peterborough
Price Range: £58 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peterborough Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully sitting on 11 acres of picturesque countryside, the Peterborough Marriott Hotel perfectly blends traditional sophistication with modern comforts. Our stunning 4-star hotel boasts an ideal location 3 miles from city center and just a short walk from Peterborough Showground and Arena. Enjoy our tranquil spa and a state-of-the-art Leisure Club sure to create a truly memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Peterborough Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Peterborough
Peterborough Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing