We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check In? I should've checked out!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Peterborough
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Never before have I had to ARGUE with a hotel to get a non smoking room. Why didn't they tell me at check in or booking. 2 nights in a smoking room (I've never smoked, it makes me sick)! The receptionist said "it's all we've got left" she was so rude as her English as so patchy (Eastern European) so she failed to understand. Anyway. Breakfast ok, other staff pleasant but I'll never stay there again and will ensure all my colleagues know what a let down the place is (that'll be 11,000 people Marriott). Train your staff would be my advice.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank HubertAudifred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

533 - 539 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

I arrived and was told they only had smoking rooms available! The smell of stale smoke kept me wake all night. When I complained at reception they just looked at me blankly.
Wine is nearly £10 a glass in a very unprepossessing bar. Halloumi cheese starter had cold hard halloumi- the whole point of halloumi cheese is that it becomes soft and gooey when cooked.
The whole experience was dreadful. In this day and age it is inexcusable to make someone sleep in a smoking room-)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank gardenladySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian T, Manager at Peterborough Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear gardenladySurrey

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review and sharing your experience with the Peterborough Marriott Hotel.

Please accept my apology that the hotel was unable to allocate you your requested room type. I can confirm we are currently reviewing the number of smoking bedrooms in our inventory.

Your feedback regarding the Halloumi cheese has been shared your with the Executive Head Chef who has revisited the sepcification and cooking instructions of the dish with his brigade.

Kind Regards,

Christian T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed one night on a bed and breakfast basis, the check-in was professional and friendly by Mark who gave us details of the hotel facilities. The lobby area is very attractive with a beautiful chandelier and fire place and comfy sofas. Our room was of a good size, very clean and had a plentiful supply of tea and coffee, along with an ice bucket and glasses (ice available from a machine on the corridor). The bed was huge with extremely white bedding of good quality, and so comfortable, and the room was very clean.
Breakfast was busy but the staff worked well clearing tables and keeping the food replenished so didn't have to wait for anything. A chef was at hand cooking fried eggs to order and also omelettes.
The Leisure Club has a gym, swimming pool, spa, sauna and steam room, which is well kept and clean with friendly staff on hand to give advice. It was nice to be able to relax on pool side on the loungers, with drinks and food available.

The hotel is situated on the edge of Peterborough, not far from the A1, with plenty of free parking and well kept grounds, would I recommend this hotel? Yes of course I would it was a perfect stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Great stay with over 50 of our employees. The rooms are really spacious and decorated well. The beds are really comfy and inviting. The bar was great staff really helpfull. The only disapointing thing is as a corporate customer i would have expected free wi fi in the rooms, the only area it is availible is the lobby. Other than that food was spot on service was 5 star check in and out speedy. The restaraunt is really nice offering a good choice of food.

Room Tip: Second floor was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDS240490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Broke journey on way back from the north. Very good reception & room on ground floor was fine as expected. Car park was nearly full & all disabled bays were in use-suggest more could be made available.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GOALS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian T, Manager at Peterborough Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear GOALS10

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review and sharing your experience with the Peterborough Marriott Hotel.

I am please you emjoyed your stay.

I have instructed the Duty Management team to montior the use of Blue Badge Bays so that the hotel can review the number of bays avaliable.

Kind Regards,

Christian T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Staff were very friendly and accommodating.
We did not realise there was no lift though and had 2year old with a pram so very difficult up and down. We had a lovely view though and people helped but perhaps they should of offered ground floor , but then maybe room not as nice so hard to know. We looked out into the garden with a window seat and bunnies so worth the hassle.

Breakfast here not as wow and relaxed as other Marriotts with less selection, but reasonable selection and it was busy

Facilities - pool extremely good and highly recommended . Lovely patio for out door drinks

Grounds well kept and attractive and 2min walk to Al Walton village cute country pub and chocolate box houses

We would return

Room Tip: View out the back on to gardens lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kar0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Untrained staff with little knowledge of English, computer systems, or local area, but happy to trot out meaningless Marriot-speak in parrot fashion. Examples include, 'How was your day?', 'Do you have any nice plans for the weekend?', etc. Frankly, why would I tell a Czech girl who is struggling to pre-authorise my credit card about my day, or my weekend? She's not interested, and is unable to process my answer anyway. I'd far rather she did her job than twitter on from a script. Hotels really miss the point, especially those with a US parent company. Just give us decent basic service from someone who can respond to a simple question without resorting to the eastern European equivalent of 'Que?'

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Django F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Peterborough West
Holiday Inn Peterborough West
#8 of 27 in Peterborough
600 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Peterborough
Holiday Inn Express Peterborough
#12 of 27 in Peterborough
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Peterborough
Days Inn Peterborough
#19 of 27 in Peterborough
370 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 27 in Peterborough
391 reviews
3.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Peterborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peterborough Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peterborough Marriott Hotel

Address: Peterborough Business Park | Lynch Wood, Peterborough PE2 6GB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Peterborough
Price Range: £59 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peterborough Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully sitting on 11 acres of picturesque countryside, the Peterborough Marriott Hotel perfectly blends traditional sophistication with modern comforts. Our stunning 4-star hotel boasts an ideal location 3 miles from city center and just a short walk from Peterborough Showground and Arena. Enjoy our tranquil spa and a state-of-the-art Leisure Club sure to create a truly memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Peterborough Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Peterborough
Peterborough Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing