We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“JUST WHAT IT SAYS ON THE TIN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Peterborough (Norman Cross A1(M), J16) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Peterborough
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“JUST WHAT IT SAYS ON THE TIN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

By booking in advance I've just stayed in a twin room at the Premier Inn Norman Cross for £34 a night - the cheapest hotel price I've ever paid. The room was clean with every facility one might need for an overnight. The furniture was practical, there was a good range of lighting and the beds were comfortable with good duvets. There was a desk, adequate seating, well positioned mirrors, mini bedside tables and a hair drier. The bathroom was excellent with both a bath and shower and I was mightily impressed by the whole experience. The staff were friendly on arrival, keen to stress the good night's sleep promise (they will move you or refund if you don't get a good night's sleep!). On departure they enquired as to whether we'd had a good stay.
We simply needed to bed down after an all day wedding so we wanted an easily reached hotel with no frills. If you want somewhere clean and comfortable that is good value, look no further. Functionality and practicality are the key drivers of chains like these. Forget them if you are looking for a hotel experience, character, fine dining and a charming location. But as stopovers, Norman Cross was excellent. The traffic noise was all but blocked out by the double glazing and the air conditioning very effective.
A couple of minor gripes for the staff/management to note. The slow door shutting mechanism fixed to the back of the bedroom door smashes into the right hand wardrobe door when you open it (Room 107). Breakfast is surprisingly expensive (at nearly £9 for the all you can eat menu) when compared with the room rate. I cannot evaluate the bar or dining since we chose not to buy into these. More power to hotel groups like premier who are very effectively plugging niche gaps in the market. If you're 'on the road' or looking for a very acceptable short term stopover, do give this hotel some consideration. If I'd booked at the last minute, the rate would almost have doubled for a room that one could cancel at the last minute - do be warned.

Room Tip: Ask to be as far away from the motorway as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelboff22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    203
    74
    16
    12
See reviews for
142
230
44
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

just a one night stay at Norman Cross and a real pleasure

Though an older building in top condition and very comfortable and well kept..stayed in the original motel circular bit which was very interesting. Usual Premier comfort and the usual very very comfy bed with a choice of pillows

however-what really made the stay for me were the staff..very friendly from the word go-and a great interaction between each other which lead to a nice atmosphere be it in reception , bar or during breakfast. They seemed proud of the place and good knowledge of the local area..one lady telling me about what it was like as a motel

Didn't try the dinner menu but breakfast was fine..wide choice and help yourself...to give you an example - 'proper' mushrooms and either fresh or tinned cooked tomatoes...small point that makes the differance. I was also offered either a poached egg or omlettee to order option too..how good is that for b&b at just under £45 !!!

A really nice stop.....with outstanding motivated staff....try it ! .

Room Tip: can't go wrong anywhere in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldFordfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Booked a disabled room for a 3 night stay, Saturday to Monday. The room was clean and comfortable but was disappointed with the bathroom. There was no shelf to put any toilet material on for shaving, washing or make up. My wife has ME and has numerous food intolerance which was explained before booking but she might as well not have bothered. The breakfast was good except there was no plain corn flakes. The dinner on the Meal Deal was a disappointment. There was little variation and I found that the soup was the same 3 nights running. Will not be taking the Meal Deal again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Steven Hicks, Social Media at Premier Inn Peterborough (Norman Cross A1(M), J16) Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our team ensured you were comfortable and well looked after. Please accept my apologies for the disappointment caused with the service you received in the restaurant. We will follow up your comments with the management team at the hotel, to make sure that there is a suitable variety in the restaurant, and more information available for people with allergies or intolerances.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

I recently booked 4 family rooms at this hotel for an overnight stay. I was amazed at the quality of service and accommodation, at such a reasonable price (£34 per room). The rooms were large and spotlessly clean. The beds were very comfortable and the decor tastefully done. They also provided excellent cots for the infants in our party. There was complimentary tea/coffee in the rooms, and free wifi (30min). The receptionist was most welcoming and helpful. The bar was pleasant and stays open until 1am. I was particularly impressed with the quality of the breakfast - bacon, sausage, eggs, tomato, mushrooms, beans, hash browns, toast, cereal, fresh fruit etc. and 'Costa Coffee'.- eat and drink as much as you like - and the children eat free!
I have not stayed at a Premier Inn before, and I don't know if they all come up to this standard, but I have no hesitation in recommending this one.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
859 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stopped over at the Premier Inn at Norman Cross on route thome in the Midlands. I chose it primarily for its location just off junction 16 of the A1M. The hotel is on the A15 towards Yaxley but is not clear to see from the road! It is the first on the left from the A1M about 100 yards after the roundabout. Blink and you really will miss it!!!

The building itself is rather strange at first glance. Our room was in a circular part of the hotel, up a narrow flight of stairs to where there were two bedrooms. The room was clean and tidy with all the facilities required for a nights stay. The bed was very comfy with a choice of pillows, hard and soft. Although the hotel is close to the A1M we were not bothered by traffic noise.

We did not eat in the hotel, choosing instead to eat our own croissants in bed as there was a late check out time of 12.00.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

On its own need a car to get to. Rooms typical budget priced hotel lacking attention to detail. The rooms were as you expect clean and quite. The bed was ok but not that comfortable.

Food was of good choice and no complaints with. The hotel had an indoor pool and it had no water in this was a shame as it would add value to it.

Staff were freindly


Stay of nothing to remember. Hotel overpriced for what you get.

Would stay again on a cheaper rate.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRSGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We have used this Premier Inn a number of times over the last year whilst visiting relatives. Since we discovered it we have not stopped elsewhere. One of the benefits of this Premier Inn is that everything is in one building - rooms, restaurant and bar. The staff are welcoming and attentive and ensure that our stay is enjoyable. Although close to the A1(M) motorway we have never been disturbed by any noise. Although we travel into Peterborough we would use this Premier Inn in preference to others nearer town.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angliaknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
5.3 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 27 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Peterborough (Hampton) Hotel
8.6 mi away
Bell Inn Stilton
Bell Inn Stilton
#4 of 27 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Days Inn Peterborough
Days Inn Peterborough
#20 of 27 in Peterborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
6.7 mi away
Premier Inn Peterborough North Hotel
7.4 mi away
Premier Inn Peterborough (Ferry Meadows) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Peterborough (Norman Cross A1(M), J16) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Peterborough (Norman Cross A1(M), J16) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Peterborough (Norman Cross A1(M), J16) Hotel
Address: Norman Cross, Peterborough PE7 3TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Peterborough
#2 Business Hotel in Peterborough
#3 Romantic Hotel in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Peterborough (Norman Cross A1(M), J16) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic, 99 bedroom hotel with full en-suite bathrooms, air-con & flatscreen Freeview TV in all rooms. Large relaxing lounge area. Fully licensed restaurant & bar serving a fine selection of classic dishes, pizzas, grills & pastas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Peterborough (Norman Cross A1(M), J16) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Peterborough (a1(m) Jct 16) Hotel Peterborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing