We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem”
Review of Queensgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queensgate Hotel
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Peterborough
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“Little Gem”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed one night at the Queensgate Hotel as we had an appointment at the Passport Office. The staff at check in were just lovely and helpful. We were shown to our room which was modern and well decorated and spotlessly clean. It had a super kingsize bed. The shower was hot and powerful. We did not eat at the restaurant but staff directed us to a local Chinese restaurant where we had a great meal.

Breakfast was outstanding. Fresh fruit and a "cooked to order" English breakfast served with very good coffee.

Would definitely return and am very happy to recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin R, General Manager at Queensgate Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for staying with us. I am glad all my staff looked after you well and that you really enjoyed our fresh breakfast. Hopefully your visit to the passport was a success!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    116
    59
    26
    17
See reviews for
43
102
22
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

Had a superior room that was clean and comfortable. With everything you would require for a short stay. Within a short walking distance of the town. The staff pleasant and accomodating. Breakfast excellent - real sausages!! Good value - will try the resturant next time.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcmrj25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin R, General Manager at Queensgate Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us and reviewing our services. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay, especially the sausages (we buy them from a local butcher).

we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

This friendly and welcoming hotel had good service, friendly staff and a good restaurant and very affordable prices. Although I was there for just one night I would rate this as a hotel that should not be ignored.

Room Tip: All rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoodwink7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin R, General Manager at Queensgate Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for choosing us for your stay and your review. I am please you rated us highly and I hope we will be welcoming you back to stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Myself and 2 colleagues stayed here recently on business. Our overall assessment was average with a few good bits. Specifially as foolwos: The staff were very good, friendly and helpful. I partook of a massage in the health studio which was relaxing and good value. My room, 31, was a good size however being at the front suffered badly from night time noise as there was no double glazing. My colleagues did not have the same problem. The Wifi did not work in rm 31, the pillows were poor quality foam ones, the shower was a bit small and ''plasticy'' and the water in the shower 'pulsed' hot and cool. Strangely there was no shelf in the bathroom to put any toiletries or toilet bag! And not much space to balance it on the top of the toilet cistern. Water in the sink was very hot and had no warning sign. Dangerous. The chip board desk had the edging strips falling off and there were several stored inside the desk drawer itself, I assume waiting to be re-attached which I fear unlikely. Finally, the breakfast in the morning was no better than average and maybe slightly below.

Room Tip: do not choose a room at the front. Too much road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herbie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin R, General Manager at Queensgate Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Thank you for your business and review. To answer some of your points; The wi-fi works throughout the hotel, however as with all radio based services there is the odd occasion reception is not 100%. Unlike many of our competition, this is why we provide it free of charge. The shower in the room has been checked and a small washer replaced - thank you for bringing the problem to our attention. The hot water in our system is kept at the correct temperature to comply with legionella regulations, and one would hope we have not reached the stage of having to warn people the water in the hot tap will be hot. The edging strips have, of course been re-attached so I can allay your fears on that point. I am of course glad that you found the staff helpful and friendly, and I am sure had you brought your problems to their attention during your stay they would have done all they could for you.

Once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Went in a group of eight, for evening meal. Food was lovely, staff very helpful and attentive. The menu is fairly small, but varied. The lamb shank was a real hit. parking is ample, location ideal - just on the edge of town. The restaurant was busy, but the serving staff coped well.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve8459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin R, General Manager at Queensgate Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your restaurant custom and for reviewing our food. We work very hard to provide a high quality food offering at reasonable prices, with of course many vegetarian and gluten free options.

Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

For the price we paid (£62 per night) I thought this was a very good place and much better than a lot of the over-priced places in Peterborough. We had rooms at the back of the hotel which were quiet and comfortable.
Only downsides were 1. having to pay in advance (I never like this idea in hotels), and 2. lack of staff in the bar (we left to find somewhere else after waiting 5 minutes).

Room Tip: Dont over pay, and ask for a room at the back as the hotel is on a busy road which I suspect will ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DangerousA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin R, General Manager at Queensgate Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your business and review. I am glad that on the whole you had a good stay and found us good value. With regard to our pay on arrival policy, we have found this suits the vast majority of our customers, who tend not to want to deal with such things on check out, and is consistent with most of the hotels in Peterborough.

With regard to bar service, I am unsure exactly when you were looking for service, however can confirm our reception staff are available 24 hrs a day and I am sure they would have served you.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights in July 2012, my room was quiet and adequate. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Food wasn't anything exciting but passable. I would stay here again quite happily. Ideal for business better than a premier inn.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jondiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin R, General Manager at Queensgate Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your business and review. I am glad you found our hotel on the whole to your liking and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
1.0 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 27 in Peterborough
348 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bull Hotel
Bull Hotel
#8 of 27 in Peterborough
902 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Peterborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Peterborough Central Hotel
0.8 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#9 of 27 in Peterborough
516 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensgate Hotel

Property: Queensgate Hotel
Address: 5-7 Fletton Avenue, Peterborough PE2 8AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queensgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensgate Hotel Peterborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing