We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbearable road noise in my room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Peterborough Alwalton
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Peterborough
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unbearable road noise in my room”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

The road noise made it impossible to sleep. There seemed to be some ventilation in the window of the room I was in that allowed a lot of noise from the A1 road the hotel is on. I assume the quieter rooms at the back of the hotel had all been taken up given that other reviews had reported this problem. I do not know if my room was worse than others facing the A1. The level of noise made it impossible for me to sleep and in the morning I just wanted to get out as I was so tired. When asked if I had a pleasant stay I just said yes as I wanted to leave asap. I was even tempted to just leave in the early hours of the morning and try and catch a couple of hours sleep in my car somewhere quiet. Given that the night before I had stayed at a lovely Travelodge that was comfortable and quiet, cheaper but just a few miles further out, I realise that in hindsight I made a bad selection with this hotel and in future I will make sure I read all the reviews. The staff were pleasant however I was too tired from trying to get to sleep all night that I did not mention to noise and just wanted to go asap. As for the facilities everything was fine except the shower was very low pressure, and the shower head so low that I had to crouch and still caught my head of the shower head. I am 6' so a normal height for a male.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank LeonJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Peterborough Alwalton, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
We do hope that our guests have a peaceful nights sleep so it is regrettable to learn you were disturbed by the noise outside of the hotel LeonJN, in an attempt to reduce noise we do provide insulated walls and double glazing. We also expect that water pressure in the shower to be adequate for our guests so we are truly sorry to learn you found it to be unsatisfactory during your stay. We would like to further understand the issues you have highlighted to find a resolution. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    41
    38
    14
    22
See reviews for
45
45
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

clean good position. nice helpful staff directing me to where I was going from the Travelodge. Would use again this location and other travelodges.
Great staff and cheerful approach to guests.
would use for business again and also for pleasure when taking family away and looking for a good location to places



  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

we arrived early for check in and was made to feel very welcome whilst the receptionist arrived, The new bed arrangements and the space it provides is great but could perhaps do with fold up chairs to sit on now the sofa beds have gone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 997ChristopherB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

This is a clean hotel very convenient for the A1 when heading south (less than 30 seconds diversion). I arrived at 01:30 in the morning to be greeted by a very friendly, helpful night receptionist who was still on duty when I left at 7:00 and was still cheerful, friendly and helpful. Full marks for staff quality.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Panamax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Good price/quality ratio, if you're not expecting too much. Ask for a room on the back when booking to avoid noise from the A1.
There was a smell coming form the bathroom, so I had to make sure the bathroom door was closed at all times.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Trainman666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

if you like a bed as hard as a blank of wood then this is the place to stay! we booked a twin room, expecting to find two single beds... when we got into the room we found one double bed... oh, no problem they said, they have a spare, pull out bed under the double bed.... well be warned, this is basically a base to a divan bed with no matteress! hard as a plank of wood! we had to ask for more duvets just to soften the bed to make it a tiny bit more comfortable!!!
the bathroom had no way been newly refurbished, the toilet bowl was cracked and the toilet itself gurgled the whole time.
not very happy customers!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Peterborough hotels

Exmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

we arrived late after travelling from devon, when we arrived we found my sister had made a mistake on the online booking and only booked 2 adults in each room, none of the childrens beds were made up. we went to reception who explained the mistake but luckily we had adam on reception who soon sorted it for us, running around getting us anything we needed. nothing was too much trouble. adam had it sorted very quickly so we could get the children settled down. the room was very nice, basic but very clean. the travelodge is on the main road but once iside i wasn't aware of the road. the only disappointment was the breakfast is from the little chef next door and very overpriced. but the actual travelodge was lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Peterborough
Days Inn Peterborough
#20 of 27 in Peterborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Peterborough
Holiday Inn Express Peterborough
#12 of 27 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 27 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Premier Inn Peterborough (Norman Cross A1(M), J16) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
#11 of 27 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Peterborough (Ferry Meadows) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Peterborough Alwalton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Peterborough Alwalton

Property: Travelodge Peterborough Alwalton
Address: A1, Great North Road | Alwalton Village, Peterborough PE7 3UR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Peterborough Alwalton 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Peterborough Alwalton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Peterborough Alwalton Hotel Peterborough
Travel Lodge Peterborough
Peterborough Travel Lodge
Peterborough Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing