We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for kids”

Peterborough Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

I usually go to the museum every couple of months as the art gallery and temporary exhibitions change on a regular basis. The museum has undergone a complete revamp with interactive sections for children (and not forgetting the big children). The sections of the museum cover dinosaurs, wildlife,early people settling in Peterborough, a great section on Normans Cross the Napoleonic prisoner of war camp, the story of the museum building, a Victorian operating theatre and the industrial history of the city.
The museum shop is reasonably priced as well as the coffee shop.
The museum also runs ghost walks and ghost 'hunts' inside the museum building tickets can be bought from the museum shop.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HoneyQueens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    102
    16
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very we'll informed and helpful staff”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Loved this with my three children, we always visit in the school holidays. Good to go when the museum is holding a special event.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank deeuk2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Unexpected changes”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I live in Peterborough and haven't been to the museum in years. I was very surprised to see it had been completely revamped inside. Lots to see and the gallery now hosts visiting exhibitions. Lots of interactive stuff for younger visitors (5-11's) not that much for teens. I am pleased to see the investment in our local museum.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambs uk
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“excellent visit”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Such a lot to see and do especially for children. My grandchildren love it. There are usually extra activities in the school holidays. Also a lot for adults to enjoy. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank millie044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Very disappointed, poor displays, areas closed off very strange artwork display. Considering the history of the area not very much about covering it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peterborough Museum also viewed

Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Peterborough Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing