We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rubbish movies” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Showcase Cinema

Showcase Cinema
Ranked #10 of 67 things to do in Peterborough
Attraction details
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rubbish movies”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Why does the Showcase continually churn out 'popcorn' movies aimed at those with the intellect of a 7 yr old. The building is in the wrong place, smells unpleasant and has a monopoly on the cinema going public. Like Waterloo Station with a carpet!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    53
    97
    36
    32
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overpriced snacks but good selection of movies”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We love to go to the cinema and would go more often if the prices were more affordable for families. Just for the 3 of us, we're looking £30-45 depending on movie, then £1.50 each for glasses, 60p each administration fee when booking on line and our snacks on a top of that.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank caro_linky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dated but it does the job.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Overpriced (like most cinema's these days) but it good enough if you want to go see the latest films. Food and drink are also well over priced and the seating is very dated and hasn't been renovated in a very long time, some seats are broken and not very comfortable. They also charge a premium if you want to sit in one of the seats located at the back of the cinema, something they never used to do, and ends up with the rest of the cinema full and just the back few rows completely empty.

I always try to go to a different cinema if I can, but sometimes it's the only convenient choice.

TLDR: Go somewhere else if you can, dated and overpriced.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Josef M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittlesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“OK Cinema not upto modern age”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We visited this cinema for the first time since visiting the area, the lobby area is very retro and i thought it was a nice touch, we went to see a late film and was very dissapointed that most of the popcorn holders were being emptied into big bags, i feel that knowing the popcorn is bought in packets ruins the cinema magic, the popcorn was kind of stale, we had the usual pick and mix too which as at any cinema was very expensive!, when we got into the screen it was evident that the retro theme was not a theme and was how the cinema was, all the seats were on 1 level and you have to crook your neck up at the screen even at the back where we were the seats were not that comfortable sqeeked while reclining. They are nowhere near the standard that Odeon, Vue or Cineworld, which is a shame as they are the only cinema in Peterborough and they should invest before a competitor comes into the local area :-(

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank 94tosss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I visited showcase cinema today, we had a costa coffee where the service from the middle aged lady with short hair and glasses was terrible! She just grunted never smiled her customer service was the worst I've ever seen does not give the customer any satisfaction to drink there at all. I think the price of the cinema was too expensive for how dated the place is.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 12345678becky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Showcase Cinema also viewed

Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Showcase Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing