We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten track - but full on Saturday lunchtime”
Review of Cafe Clarkes - CLOSED

Cafe Clarkes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track - but full on Saturday lunchtime”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Based at the Key Theatre, I was not expecting much having eaten at several theatre restaurants. But this was wonderful. The best eggs benedict I have ever tasted, great service a really well informed waitress, great wine. Then the main course lamb two ways, a lovely rump and a lamb croquet flavoured with mint, the rump was perfectly cooked and well worth the price. There is a set menu which again given the reasonable price has a really good selection. We opted for the a la carte. The sweet selection is really good, the triple chocolate cheesecake looked great, but my poached ginger pear with ginger parfait was fantastic. The place was packed - and given you need to walk a distance from the town centre was a testament to the place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    49
    8
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Really good value lunch”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The £15 3-course lunch is seriously good, flavour led, food. Portions might appear smallish but, x3, add up to a very satisfactory lunch. I've heard Lee (Clarke) boast that he can get (more than?) 50% butter into his mash and, I suspect, his disciples (nearly?) achieved that in my crushed potatos! Excellent service (2 foh, 3 in kitchen, coped well with c40 covers). Only negative that I can think of is that hard floors = noisy environment. Nice setting, especially if you get a window seat..

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rennatian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food in good surroundings”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We went at lunchtime and it was very quiet, but clearly the key time is around theatre show times. The food was excellent, the menu a good mix of snacks and full meals. The café space is clean, light and welcoming, with the added bonus of seats outside. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StamfordWoodsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
719 reviews
358 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
“First Class pre theatre supper”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Once again first class food. How can they get it so right when others fail.

They produced great food to a tight pre theatre agenda to wonderful quality .

The team run the Banyan Tree Indian and have an interest in Clarkes so I guess as a team they are focusing on food and service where others fail?


Well done guys!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Droopydrawrs52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
719 reviews
358 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
“Excellent pre-theatre supper”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We went to the Key Theatre this evening but had an early supper at Cafe Clarkes . Just so good at a great price . These guys know how to produce good food to a tight pre theatre agenda well done.

The team run the Banyan Tree Indian restaurant and have an interest in Clarkes I guess they have at long last brought decent food and service to the city ?

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Droopydrawrs52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Clarkes also viewed

Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing