We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy Bed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Peterborough Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Peterborough Central Hotel
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Peterborough
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Comfy Bed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

These Dreamer beds are really comfy and with the pillows offer really good support.
The room better as this Travelodge has been newly refurbished, lighter and brighter.
Needs AC or at least a fan, as all windows have locks so no air really circulates at all.

Room Tip: Light rooms, bring a fan !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kangela73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    79
    34
    31
    25
See reviews for
45
56
31
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

opposite 2 nightclubs which blast out music and loud drunks till 3am, not on complaining i was told "well it does say about the noise on the website"...... thats really handy because at the time i booked by phone cause i had no internet access and matey who took the booking defo didnt mention it...... second moan...... no carpark attached..... the only two nearby are a bit dodgy to say the least.... girl behind the reception said well we've only had one vehicle broke into..... third moan..... i know its getting boring now but ive stayed in a few premier inns and even thou this travelodge isn't that old its tired and needs a good old fashion burning to the ground..... thats just my opinion....... wont use it again but if ya like the night life.... go for it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank longlance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Peterborough hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Had to stay as needed to collect a passport and being a long drive from Bristol decided this would be the inexpensive option. Paid parking around the corner only £1.50 and next door to the passport office. Staff friendly,spotless rooms,nice big TV and bring at the back pretty quiet. However we were located in room 101 next to a door that required entry to guest corridor by key card. VERY noisy throughout the whole night with ppl coming and going the door slamming constantly.

We were asked on checkout and I pointed this out to which the lady on reception seemed aware of the issue. Not really something that can be helped but annoying none the less after a very sleepless night and a 4 hour drive to look forward to.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAdams2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Why do a lot of Travelodge's have that sewer smell? I arrived at this one and remembered why I don't often stay in a Travelodge - it is because of the smell. They are clean and functional but that smell gets me every time.

As far as Peterborough Central is concerned another issue is its location. Whilst it is central it is right opposite two nightclubs. Even at the back the bass drums.

Good value though especially if you book in advance.

Room Tip: Definitely chose the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KitHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed here in July. Room was clean but very basic, bed was comfortable but bathroom was small with a sink that did not drain away. Very noisy at night however we did expect this on a busy road in a city location. Very hot with no air conditioning and the noise outside prevented you from having the window open. Staff were very good and the plus of the hotels location is an excellent restaurant opposite

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Millmoorfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel is in a great location and the staff did try to be helpful. Check-in was difficult and we had to change rooms. The rooms aren't air conditioned, and face out onto a club opposite at the front of the hotel. This means in summer if you want your window open you have to contend with loud music or get swelteringly hot with the window closed. Other than the lack of air conditioning the room was fine. The bath was very short - long enough to sit in, but not to lie in. The bed was a king and quite comfortable. The pillows were passable. The level of noise in the hotel was entirely unacceptable. There was a lot of noise form the corridor throughout the night, especially around half 2 in the morning. On top of the music from outside it combined to make the experience rather unpleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chickof78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Peterborough Central Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
We are pleased to learn you were happy with the location and staff at our Peterborough hotel chickof78. This particular hotel does not provide air conditioning however in an attempt to ensure our customers get a comfortable sleep we do offer fans at reception on a first come first serve basis. We also do provide double glazing so it is regrettable that you were disturbed from the noise outside. We also ask all of our guests to be courteous of other guests when around the hotel and ask them to keep to reasonable noise levels. We’d like to be able to contact you to find a resolution so please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I travel a lot and there are 2 things I want from a hotel - a place to sleep and wifi.
The problem is that this central location is opposite a taxi rank and night clubs on a main road. This would be fine if there was some sort of climate control, or even a fan - however when asking the fans for the rooms were not arriving for another month.
In a hot room I had 2 choices - leave the window open to try and cool it down and cope with the noise, or close the window and sweat in the box. Not much of a choice really.
The wifi has only 30 min free.
The staff were helpful and friendly, and this still doesn't resolve the primary reason you stay at a hotel - to get a nights sleep.

The worn décor and stained towels added to the flophouse feel.

Maybe in winter it is more bearable. I will not be coming back to find out.

Room Tip: Top floor, odd numbered room. That will be on the other side to the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OzTravel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
0.0 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 29 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Peterborough
0.0 mi away
Bull Hotel
Bull Hotel
#9 of 29 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Queensgate Hotel
Queensgate Hotel
#15 of 29 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#8 of 29 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Peterborough
Days Inn Peterborough
#20 of 29 in Peterborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Peterborough Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Peterborough Central Hotel

Property: Travelodge Peterborough Central Hotel
Address: Chapel Street, Peterborough PE1 1TT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Peterborough Central Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Peterborough Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Peterborough
Travel Lodge Peterborough
Peterborough Travelodge
Peterborough Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing