We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Riverside Cottages”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Barley Cottage is a 2 double bedroom fully facilitated stone cottage with modern amenities.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Barley Cottage is a 2 double bedroom fully facilitated stone cottage with modern amenities.
Barley Cottage has an open plan living/dining/kitchen space with stairs leading up to the bedrooms.
Small Mezzanine reading area.
View from mezzanine reading area.
View from mezzanine reading area.
The Old North Road through Water Newton.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Roady72
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Riverside Cottages”
Reviewed 15 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Fantastic easy to find location with major road networks, yet rural location with riverside views.

After a long day of travelling from Texas we were welcomed by the lovely hosts Steven And Phillip. Back in the UK for a family emergency we were looking for a perfect place to call home for a week. Cleanliness and tranquility were a priority as we were travelling with our 3 month old. We found that in Barley Cottage. Fantastic value for money, idyllic location and guests who were so very helpful. Highly recommend this location if you have business on A1M near Peterborough / Stamford or looking for a riverside location with a great network to visit Cambs, Lincs and Rutland!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2017
Thanks very much for your review Tim and Donna. I'm sorry we didn't see you before you returned to the US and we are delighted you were comfy and happy. Best wishes for 2017, Stephen and Philip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oblix
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 5 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

What a lovely surprise this cottage is. Set in beautiful surroundings - riverside location & country fields all around in a village hamlet. The cottage itself is very well appointed with everything we could possibly need. Warm & cozy with a genuine welcome. We'll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2017
Thank you for your lovely review Elaine. We are very pleased you had such a lovely stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes from us both, Stephen and Philip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A beautiful cottage in a stunning location”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This is a beautiful cottage in a stunning location, ideal for exploring Peterborough and the surrounding villages and countryside. The cottage is full of character (exposed beams, vaulted ceilings, log fire etc) but it’s also got a fabulous modern shower room and has been decorated throughout with great style and taste. The owners are impeccable hosts who pay attention to the details – lovely towels and hand soap in the bathroom, croissants and bubbly in the fridge (amongst other things) and our three year old was thrilled by the decanter of m&ms and glass jars of sweets! Water Newton is an ancient, tiny hamlet of honey coloured stone buildings, right on the River Nene, next to a lock. We really feel like we fell on our feet in finding this cottage and have spent three lovely days there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the owners, the decor
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2016
Thank you both so much for your lovely review. It was super to meet you all and an honour to have you as our first guests in Barley Cottage. We have already 'dined out' on the yellow rubber gloves story, one which I will always remember and recite, so thank you for that too. We look forward to hosting you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing