We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pure theatre”

Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms - Harrogate
Ranked #33 of 448 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$61
Cuisines: Delicatessen, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“pure theatre”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

what fun it was stopping off for coffee and cake here - i felt i was in a film or at the theatre. i almost spent the whole time looking round to see if hercules poirot was there and wondering who was going to get murdered. in the end it was the coffee cake - cant remember the fancy name they gave it, but ooh, it was gooey and gorgeous. and as for the "hot mocha" - the most expensive cofffee (and chocolate) imaginable but fantastic. do not miss this glorious experience - it is well worth the wait (often up to an hour!!!)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phetola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,606
    1,251
    624
    201
    84
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Iconic disappointment”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

After a long wait to get in, in the first instance between 30/45 minutes. We were taken to the table and then went to the counter to place our order. It then took 30 minutes for the food to arrive and part of the order was delivered incorrectly. An additional few minutes elapsed. The food and drinks were very good but the unnecessary waiting time caused much frustration. It's alright having an international reputation but service is paramount.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Here I am again”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I was born in Harrogate and have visited Betty's Tea Room a lot and even had my Wedding Breakfast there when It was Cafe Imperial and it never fails to delight me, I now live in Spain so every time I am back in the UK I try to go back to Betty's to savour the atmosphere and the delicious food and I was pleased to see that they have opened up the upstairs for afternoon tea, didn't go this time, needed lunch which was as usual very good, sat in the restaurant, luckily in a window seat, but next time I will be there for afternoon tea in the Imperial Room to reminisce.
Anyone who visits Harrogate must go and have a Betty's experience, you will be very pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
474 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“A Must if you can bear to queue”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Betty's in Harrogate really is the thing to do/ see/ experience in the town. Queuing it seems is the downside of its excellent and well deserved reputation.... so be patient and you'll enjoy the rewards once inside - or else book tea in the imperial Room upstairs.
Once inside the atmosphere and service are impeccable. Anyone who wants to know what it would have felt like to breakfast or have English Tea alongside Hercule Poirot must eat at Betty's.
Even window shopping is fantastic as you scan the delicacies on display and for sale in the shop at the side of the restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Saturday morning, 8.40, went to this tremendous tea rooms. I had a latte and my wife an Americano each accompanied by a warmed croissant, jam and butter. Superb!! Friendly service and a great atmosphere. Put it on your list if you're in Harrogate. Get a window seat and watch the world go by. If you walk out without buying anything in the shop you obviously have more willpower than I...!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GoddardPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms - Harrogate also viewed

 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms - Harrogate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing