We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All furr coat and no knickers..”

Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms - Harrogate
Ranked #34 of 448 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$61
Cuisines: Delicatessen, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“All furr coat and no knickers..”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Queued up outside for 30mins maybe more,10 more inside.. Very busy but lovely ambiance, fine china, Arthur price cutlery, the lot.. Finally seated, I had the high tea and my partner had chips and a sandwich. Expecting high standard food, but.. My sandwiches were been pre-made and stale and my boyfriends chips tasted like they were cooked in old fat (oil needed changing). Not so bad if u were in a greesy spoon, but we'd queued up expecting brilliance and it was all furr coat and no knickers! :-( disappointing

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sallvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,611
    1,253
    625
    201
    85
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“A step back in time.”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stopped here for a classic cup of tea and cake, it was really just like stepping back in time and the cafe and restaurant are on different levels many with good window views. This is a bit of a tourist trap but as a treat really worthwhile. The selection of fresh teas and coffees are superb albeit a bit expensive. The ambience in the place is excellent and I suggest you go early before the queues start at lunchtime.
Glad we dropped in, a really classical olde worlde tea shoppe.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteNook333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Delicious morning coffee and cake”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had morning coffee and a cake each and both were delicious. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The only downside was the cost, Betty's trades on it's name and it is very good but also expensive compared to other good coffee/tea rooms. Nevertheless if we visit North Yorkshire again we will, no doubt, visit again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pet00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“pure theatre”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

what fun it was stopping off for coffee and cake here - i felt i was in a film or at the theatre. i almost spent the whole time looking round to see if hercules poirot was there and wondering who was going to get murdered. in the end it was the coffee cake - cant remember the fancy name they gave it, but ooh, it was gooey and gorgeous. and as for the "hot mocha" - the most expensive cofffee (and chocolate) imaginable but fantastic. do not miss this glorious experience - it is well worth the wait (often up to an hour!!!)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phetola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Iconic disappointment”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

After a long wait to get in, in the first instance between 30/45 minutes. We were taken to the table and then went to the counter to place our order. It then took 30 minutes for the food to arrive and part of the order was delivered incorrectly. An additional few minutes elapsed. The food and drinks were very good but the unnecessary waiting time caused much frustration. It's alright having an international reputation but service is paramount.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms - Harrogate also viewed

 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms - Harrogate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing