We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very calm and cosy”

Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms - Harrogate
Ranked #36 of 442 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$61
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very calm and cosy”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I went to Betty's on a Wednesday evening at around 5.45pm when the front part of the cafe was about to change to serving hot food. There was no queue at this time, so plenty of choice of seating. I was on my own and sat in the window with a lovely cup of chinese rose petal tea. I waited until the evening menus appeared and ordered a Yorkshire Slow cooked Steak pie. This was delicious. I thought it was priced on the high side but there was plenty of choice for a small tea shop and there were cheaper things on the menu (but a steak pie seemed perfect for a chilly evening). The waiting staff were very polite and calm, no rushing about at all, which made for a lovely peaceful atmosphere. Thanks Betty's :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charbellafox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,464
    1,185
    599
    190
    82
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portadown
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Poor show”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We made our way to Betty's with high anticipation for a special coffee!! Well, we queued outside clutching our menus in the cold, eventually we were shown to a seat and told to go to the counter to place our order. The menu was very limited and when I placed the order it was difficult to decide what I wanted as the food on the counter was not the same as on the menu. 2 coffees, a croissant and a selection of 3 minute pastries cost the princely sum of £15.00!!
Our coffees arrived, very nice but slightly cool!! A few minutes later the pastries arrived, the croissant was at best Luke warm and chewy, while the pastries were nice, but very small. We were surrounded by snobbish ladies who were blocking seats while they waited for their friends, chatting loudly on mobile phones, and competing to see who could talk the most nonsense. The worst thing of all was the queue of hopeful customers who had there faces pressed against the windows watching us try to enjoy our coffee and hoping we would hurry up to allow them to have our seats for their expensive cuppa. The shop on the other side was crammed and it was impossible to purchase any food items. Not somewhere I would rush back to!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank joan1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always worth a visit!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Our favourite spot for breakfast when we've dropped the kids at school. Always enjoyable and always great service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robblanden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Betty's is Betty's”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

What can you say about Betty's that hasn't already been said Betty's is Harrogate.
People come from far and wide to experience the traditional afternoon delight.
You still have to queue but that is to be expected with such a popular venue.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“hygiene”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

After visiting Bettys Tearoom on Monday evening to celebrate my sons birthday, I was very concerned regarding one member of staff cleaning the inside of my coffee cup with a "J" cloth that had been actively used to clean down the counter where my coffee was being prepared. I refused the drink. Also, to my disbelief, kitchen staff where accumalating in the reception area, where one member of staff swore indirectly, where my family were dining.

The food and drink was good quality, but portions very small, and, even though expected, very expensive. I would not say that the food was of value.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms - Harrogate also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms - Harrogate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing