We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel I have ever stayed in.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrogate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Azalea Court Hotel
Ranked #89 of 100 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The worst hotel I have ever stayed in.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

We booked for two nights and stayed for one, booking into another hotel. The room was so filthy we slept in our clothes. The door could not be locked from the inside, there was a broken window, the TV did not work. The taps dripped constantly in the rickety bathroom. The bedding looked like it was something from the 70's. The fire alarms went off at 2am in the morning. The owner walked into our room whilst we were in bed about an hour later..
The next morning we could not wait to leave. We decided not to eat breakfast with them as if the kitchen was a reflection of the run down hotel we would rather not eat. We spoke to the owner, via the intercom to inform them we would not be staying the second night. She was very rude and would not come to speak to us in person, and charged us for the second night..

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kat316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    5
    4
    57
See reviews for
8
20
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

This was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. We phoned to book a room advertised, at the last minute, in their sister hotel and were told there was none left, but we could have this one for £50 - we shouldn't have paid £5 for it! We arrived and phoned as the intercom was not working, the landlady answered and was having a conversation with someone else, after hearing car doors bang we could only presume they were coming from somewhere to let us in. The next thing the door opened and we entered the 'lobby'. Eventually a woman appeared from the back door. The place smelled of dogs and cigarettes and the carpet was filthy. The walls were dirty and in need of decoration. We were shown to our room. The bed did not look clean and the chair in the corner the cover was coming off. The bathroom was clean and there was shampoo and cotton wool, but no toilet paper - we had to use our own wet wipes.

Our bedroom door locked, but the key for the hotel main door did not work, but this didn't matter as the back door lock was broken and the door could be pushed open anyway - there was no security!!

There was a stain on the bedroom ceiling that was very questionable and I really didn't want to take my shoes off in the bedroom as the carpet was so disgusting.

Had it not been new years eve and the very late at night we would have left.

Awful, awful place, do not stay here no matter how cheap. My £2 per night hostel in Peru was a million times better than this.

Room Tip: Do not choose one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becksie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

Booked this so called hotel as my wife and I needed a last minute place to stay next to the (HIC) on buisness. We first thought something is very wrong with this place when we looked at how dirty it looked when we walked through the front door, the member of staff did not have our details even when we had payed in advance, they quickly pushed a key into my hand and said this is your room.Well we walked in and the smell of mould and dirt just went straight to the back of your throat, It was shambolic even for a hotel on a budget you expect a standard and this had none.We did not stay for the breakfast as we left in the early hours of the morning to sleep in our car,as there was no way we could sleep with all the noise of people drunk coming into the hotel singing at 4am in the morning with loud music playing from mobile phones.It was really scared me and my wife and would hate other members of the public to go through what we did.We have tried four times by phone to get our money back but the staff just say the manager is out and will get back to you and they never did, Harrogate is a fantastic place to stay but we will never step foot near to the Azalea Court Hotel ever again!!!

Room Tip: Please do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steven q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

We booked into this hotel requesting a double room with breakfast, when we got there we had to fight our way through a lot of blue bottles, and went up to the room to find it was two single beds, when we complained we were told that the beds would be pushed together, after looking at the shower we said no, only to be told that we could have the double room we wanted but for £15 more, we looked at the room and you would not put your worst enemy in it, We refused this room and then said we would not be stopping there and the owner said ok, but still charged us for the double room. If you are going to Harrogate give this place a massive miss.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Just back from weekend in Harrogate and luckily only spent one night in this shambolic establishment. We refused the first room which was located in the 'gods' and was completely not acceptable even for a Budget Hotel! I previously lived and worked in Harrogate for 25 years so know the area inside out together with the wealth of hotels and B&B establishments and have never come across anything like this before. The 2 members of staff we came across were in fact friendly and obliging but the state of the bedrooms and the overall general appearance is not just jaded and tired but in some cases unhygienic (the smell of damp in our room was disgusting). I did not attend the breakfast ceremony so cannot really comment - enough was enough!

Room Tip: Doubt there is one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gail a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Booked this hotel on the last minute. Wanted somewhere with parking and near to the town but did not read reviews beforehand. Will not do that again.
Had a look at the room and the bed was clean, en-suite in a cupboard was just about passable so we decided to stay the one night. There was plenty of hot water. TV only had one station, an obscure American one. The wires hung down and then went through the window and hung on the outside wall. Did manage eventually to get a parking spot. The way in from the car park at the back of the hotel is disgusting. Big bags of dirty washing, old chairs and piles of rubbish. To go in by the fire escape you have to get through the weeds and be careful of the broken stairs and railings. The two members of staff we came accross were pleasant. Breakfast was OK ,but the surroudings were a disgrace as it was in the basement of an old Japanese restaurant which needed a good clear-out. How this place stays open I do not know. The whole place needs gutting.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MSTBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

After we found some bad reviews on here about this B&B we were bothered that we had booked two nights here.
We were surprised to say the least by the clenliness of our room, the breakfast room needs a lot of work as it looks like an unfinished project, the breakfast was what you would expect from a budget B&B. The only real bad thing was from our room window we overlooked the overflowing bins with bags of rubbish surrounding them.( health hazard).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reasonable_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Conference View Guest House
Conference View Guest House
#70 of 100 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Arc Hotel
The Arc Hotel
#7 of 100 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ash Grove Guest House
Ash Grove Guest House
#37 of 100 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Camberley
The Camberley
#10 of 100 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Azalea Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Azalea Court Hotel

Property: The Azalea Court Hotel
Address: 55/58 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
The Azalea Court Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing