We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely b&b.!!!”
Review of Scotia House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scotia House
Ranked #25 of 98 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Lovely b&b!!! Excellent location for home and gift show directly opposite and was very kind to allow us park our car here for two days of us visiting!!!. Extremely clean, very friendly and scummy breakfast...would highly recommend and return here to scotia house!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubyandviolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

We booked a Friday night stay in Harrogate at the Scotia House, B&B. In fact To label it 'Bed & Breakfast' is perhaps to do it a disservice. B&B's are often imagined as basic, functional accommodation HOWEVER in this instance this description couldn't be further from the truth! Scotia House offers superb, quality accommodation at a standard very rarely equalled in larger corporate establishments. The accommodation is limited to 4 immaculately furnished bedrooms. Marie, the owner, is an extremely engaging host and takes the time to ensure that guests are cosseted and pampered during their stay. The breakfast is sumptuous and delicious....fresh fruit, an assortment of cereals and conserves, full English breakfast HOWEVER I was treated to perfectly cooked scrambled eggs and smoked salmon ( at no extra cost!) Truly sensational! The location is superb...5 minutes walk from the best shopping and restaurant areas. The downside? Well, due to the extremely limited accommodation (just 4 bedrooms) only a small number of lucky guests will be able to sample this absolute gem! My advice? Book early.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HardyMarsh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I travelled down to Harrogate from Scotland on my motorcycle for a three night stay in Scotia house. I needed an early check in which was no problem. The place was immaculate the bedroom small but ideal for me, the bathroom was spotless and the shower great. I was treated as I like, very friendly and no hassel. The breakfast was among the best I'v had in a B&B, lots of fresh fruit, pancakes, preserves and a great cooked breakfast with plenty of choice. Great location, handy for everything I wanted. Will go back if I'm down that way again.

Room Tip: Talk to the owners and tell them what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

Visited as 2 couples and we had the Kings suite that occupies the full frontage of the property. Owners have refurbished the property to impeccable standards and maintain it in pristine condition. They make you most welcome and offer advice about the area freely. Parking is no issue given a daily permit for on street parking. Great location will all the sites just a short walk away. Would thoroughly recommend and visit again if stopping in Harrogate. Thanks.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHousl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

After terrible accomodation last year at travelodge booked this Great bed and breakfast perfection in every way recommend it to anyone. Very handy for the Harrogate international centre and extremely peaceful at night

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSR874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights in single room. Very welcoming. Lovely modern, spotless bedroom and bathroom, soft towels, robe, good selection of tea/coffee/biscuits etc. Excellent breakfast. Free parking. Can't fault it. Very handy for Harrogate which is lovely, Conference Centre (opposite), train (few minutes walk) or for exploring the area by car. Book it you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harriet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We thought this B&B was excellent. Comfy, spotlessly clean room, a first class breakfast cooked to order and good service throughout. The owners were welcoming and very helpful.
We were on the top floor on the road side and on a Friday night it can be a bit noisy - rooms at the back are quieter.
Parking is off street with a disk permit but no problem.
It is located close to the shops (including the world famous Bettys), restaurants and lovely parks.
Certainly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.1 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 30 in Harrogate
1,767 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Welford Bed & Breakfast
The Welford Bed & Breakfast
#13 of 98 in Harrogate
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fountains Guesthouse
The Fountains Guesthouse
#10 of 98 in Harrogate
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alamah Guest House
Alamah Guest House
#7 of 98 in Harrogate
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotia House

Address: 66 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range: £64 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scotia House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm & welcoming guest house located directly opposite the Conference Centre and within walking distance to the town centre, restaurants and bars. Whether visiting Harrogate for business or pleasure we aim to ensure your stay is an enjoyable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Scotia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotia House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing