We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gianni's Brio Restaurant & Pizzeria

Gianni's Brio Restaurant & Pizzeria
Reserve with OpenTable
Gianni's Brio Restaurant & Pizzeria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 433 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$24 - US$48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the very centre of the upmarket Yorkshire town of Harrogate, Gianni's Brio offers an authentic slice of Italy with a splash of flair. Bright and spacious with a totally modern interior, complete with scarlet red walls and disco balls, Gianni's Brio is certainly not your typical trattoria giving it a wide appeal for diners young and old, couples, families and groups. An a la carte menu takes a grand tour of Italy, from city to coast, with an innovative approach to cookery which wouldn���t be out of place in the most sophisticated restaurants of Rome or Venice. The relaxed, come-as-you-are attitude of Gianni's Brio coupled with its delicious cuisine makes it one of the town���s most popular eateries.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Having got to harrogate a little late we happened across Brio and took a gamble out of necessity! We were glad we did, the surroundings were modern, the service efficient and polite and the food very tasty. The drinks arrived swiftly and the orders taken without fuss. The food was all cooked to order and arrived without delay. Portions were just right and well seasoned. No issues at all. Would go again if back in Harrogate.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Azardamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    183
    47
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exceptional restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

In Harrogate visiting the Gilbert and Sullivan Festival and going to see a show and wanted to eat beforehand and stumbled on Gianni's.The restaurant was very busy and we hadn't booked but the managed to fit us in. The service was excellent, the ambience great and the food was superb. I highly recommend it and will definitely recommend it, though booking is advisable to avoid disappointment

Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food, good atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Went last night, and took the family (including two young kids). Been eating here for years and it's never failed to impress on both food and atmosphere - everytime! Even though we had the children it was still adult dining rather than the usual Pizza Express bun fight. Also it's heads above Jamie's Italian which recently opened in town (had buzz but failed on food as it did when we visited the Leeds restaurant). The food was excellent, definitely not the usual bland 'Italian chain', all courses tasted very fresh and homemade, obviously a proven menu. Prices at the medium end, but good value for the quality. Sounding like I have shares in the restaurant! Wish I had.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“average food. Waiters need to learn how to smile ....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Having visited this restaurant early aug must say it wasn't a very happy experience. Service taken to long and when there were service I had to send food back to be cooked a little more. A little disappointing as I have eaten here before and it was lovely. Waiters need to be a little more polite and smile wouldn't be so bad....! Wasn't made to feel welcome at all.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 11Bonnie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“This Resaurant has everything.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Harrogate is filled with restaurants with several of them being Italian. Four of us gave this one a try on Tuesday July 29th and we are really glad we did. The food was first rate. Well cooked, tasty and good portions. Starters, mains and dolci, not one disappointment. What made it special was the attitude of the serving staff. They were very attentive and friendly. When one of them found out I was of Italian extraction he showed a genuine interest in finding out my past. When it came time to order desserts one of our group asked about the gelati and we were treated to an interesting run down of their establishment's history of ice cream. Nothing was too much trouble for them. I find that a staff that shows a regard for their customers is vital for the success of any business and this one certainly had it. If you're looking for a first class Italian restaurant with a friendly staff look no further!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank jannuary831 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gianni's Brio Restaurant & Pizzeria also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Gianni's Brio Restaurant & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing