We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and relaxing stay”
Review of Ashwood House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashwood House
Ranked #35 of 83 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this well run b and b. We had a friendly and efficient welcome and found the house to be well presented and very clean. Our room was comfortable and spacious, with everything provided - including a kettle and a hairdryer. The price was very reasonable for the quality. It is well placed for exploring the town - only a five minute walk away, but is situated in a quiet residential area with the added bonus of free parking. Would definitely recommend Ashwood House!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyd1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed at Ashford House on a very cold weekend but received a warm welcome. The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. Just a short walk into the town centre where you will find plenty of restaurants and excellent shopping facilities. Breakfast was especially good, all in all great accommodation very reasonably priced and free car parking included. The owner was most obliging and very informative about local facilities.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank rose1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Stayed for four nights and had a thoroughly wonderfuly stay. The guest house is off the main road so nice and quiet and plenty of parking while we were there. We had booked an ensuite twin room and were given a family-style room on the top floor with a double and single bed. The room was light, airy, nicely decorated and very clean with a bath/shower combination that was perfect for our needs. Kristian, the owner, even helped lug our cases upstairs. Breakfast was great, plenty of choice and food. I especially liked the malty brown bread for toast. Anita who served breakfast was really friendly and we found ourselves lingering to have a chat most mornings and get advice on what to do and where to go. She was also really helpful with the parking permit system, making sure everyone at breakfast was covered for the day. The guest house is just a few minutes walk from the centre of town and all the restaurants. We were sorry to leave and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKTravelInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Just got back from a two night stay at this gem of a guest house. The proprietors were the most friendliest welcoming and genuine people you could wish to meet. We stayed in a lovely four poster room which was spotless and comfy throughout. The breakfast was ample and freshly prepared and served on beautiful crockery - all very fitting for a place like Harrogate which we thoroughly enjoyed visiting. Thank you Ashwood House for your hospitality, and providing a first class service. We'd definitely choose you again :-)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerrynDavidLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

First visit to Harrogate, to see the RHS gardens at Harlow Carr, and greatly impressed with the town and with Harlow Carr. Staying at Ashwood House made the break perfect though. The house was clean and tastefully decorated. It is situated in a quiet cul-de-sac just minutes' walk from the town centre, the shops, the railway station and the bus station, which means you can leave the car and not have to worry about parking if you go out shopping or to eat. Anita & Kristian are super hosts - Anita gave us lots of tips on places to eat and shop, and was so friendly and smiling, it was a treat to go down to breakfast! Breakfast was very good, quickly and pleasantly served, and nothing was too much trouble. The room was spotless, excellent shower, plenty room, comfy beds.
This is a bed & breakfast which deserves to succeed, and we will definitely book here next time we visit Harrogate, which we hope will be soon. Great place for a break!

Room Tip: Didn't see all the rooms, but ours was spacious, clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alec1550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

the house was set in a quiet cul de sac and the room was large and clean, the bed was very comfy, and the breakfast set you up for the day. anita was very friendly and full of knowledge about harrogate. i would recommend ashwood house to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mouseManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I have stayed at Ashwood House on 3 separate occasions whilst attending an annual conference in Harrogate and have had another great stay! Ashwood House is really close to the conference centre and even closer to the Majestic Hotel where our conference dinner was hosted (approx 1 minute 30 walk home)...

The room was clean and nicely furnished with a large wardrobe (with hangers!), desk, small coffee table (kettle, tea/coffee/biscuits), single bed, side table and importantly a hair dryer. The en suite was really nice and seemed to have been recently refurbished and had a hot and powerful walk in rain shower.

Kristian was really helpful - I had to have a poster sent up owing to very late preparation and he was there to receive it and it was ready and waiting in my room when I arrived.

All in all a great trip and fantastic service (and all for just £45 per night, bargain!).

Room Tip: I have stayed in the single room, twin room and family room and all have been great. Rain shower in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P_L_Rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
330 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,767 reviews
5 mi away
Chequers Inn
Chequers Inn
#2 of 2 in Bishop Thornton
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,089 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashwood House

Address: 7 Spring Grove, Harrogate HG1 2HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range: £58 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ashwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashwood House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing