We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a B&B in a great location”
Review of Ashwood House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashwood House
Ranked #42 of 99 Harrogate B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Gem of a B&B in a great location”
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

This is my second time staying here and I'm thrilled to say it didn't disappoint on either stay. My room was warm and welcoming with excellent facilities (super comfy bed) and the en suite was clean and up to date. The owner makes a delicious breakfast with good quality bacon and sausages so I definitely recommend budgeting time in your visit to sample it!

Excellently located - 10 minutes to walk into the town centre but the B&B itself is on a quiet road so I had a peaceful Easter break - just what I needed!

Harrogate itself is gorgeous and on this visit it didn't rain so walking from the spa to afternoon tea was a delight.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondiesurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
45
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this well run b and b. We had a friendly and efficient welcome and found the house to be well presented and very clean. Our room was comfortable and spacious, with everything provided - including a kettle and a hairdryer. The price was very reasonable for the quality. It is well placed for exploring the town - only a five minute walk away, but is situated in a quiet residential area with the added bonus of free parking. Would definitely recommend Ashwood House!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyd1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Ashford House on a very cold weekend but received a warm welcome. The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. Just a short walk into the town centre where you will find plenty of restaurants and excellent shopping facilities. Breakfast was especially good, all in all great accommodation very reasonably priced and free car parking included. The owner was most obliging and very informative about local facilities.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rose1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Stayed for four nights and had a thoroughly wonderfuly stay. The guest house is off the main road so nice and quiet and plenty of parking while we were there. We had booked an ensuite twin room and were given a family-style room on the top floor with a double and single bed. The room was light, airy, nicely decorated and very clean with a bath/shower combination that was perfect for our needs. Kristian, the owner, even helped lug our cases upstairs. Breakfast was great, plenty of choice and food. I especially liked the malty brown bread for toast. Anita who served breakfast was really friendly and we found ourselves lingering to have a chat most mornings and get advice on what to do and where to go. She was also really helpful with the parking permit system, making sure everyone at breakfast was covered for the day. The guest house is just a few minutes walk from the centre of town and all the restaurants. We were sorry to leave and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKTravelInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Just got back from a two night stay at this gem of a guest house. The proprietors were the most friendliest welcoming and genuine people you could wish to meet. We stayed in a lovely four poster room which was spotless and comfy throughout. The breakfast was ample and freshly prepared and served on beautiful crockery - all very fitting for a place like Harrogate which we thoroughly enjoyed visiting. Thank you Ashwood House for your hospitality, and providing a first class service. We'd definitely choose you again :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerrynDavidLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

First visit to Harrogate, to see the RHS gardens at Harlow Carr, and greatly impressed with the town and with Harlow Carr. Staying at Ashwood House made the break perfect though. The house was clean and tastefully decorated. It is situated in a quiet cul-de-sac just minutes' walk from the town centre, the shops, the railway station and the bus station, which means you can leave the car and not have to worry about parking if you go out shopping or to eat. Anita & Kristian are super hosts - Anita gave us lots of tips on places to eat and shop, and was so friendly and smiling, it was a treat to go down to breakfast! Breakfast was very good, quickly and pleasantly served, and nothing was too much trouble. The room was spotless, excellent shower, plenty room, comfy beds.
This is a bed & breakfast which deserves to succeed, and we will definitely book here next time we visit Harrogate, which we hope will be soon. Great place for a break!

Room Tip: Didn't see all the rooms, but ours was spacious, clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alec1550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2011

the house was set in a quiet cul de sac and the room was large and clean, the bed was very comfy, and the breakfast set you up for the day. anita was very friendly and full of knowledge about harrogate. i would recommend ashwood house to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mouseManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.0 mi away
Springdale Guest House
Springdale Guest House
#43 of 99 in Harrogate
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spring Lodge Guest House
Spring Lodge Guest House
#60 of 99 in Harrogate
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Arc Hotel
The Arc Hotel
#9 of 99 in Harrogate
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wynnstay House
Wynnstay House
#25 of 99 in Harrogate
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
April House
April House
#29 of 99 in Harrogate
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alamah Guest House
Alamah Guest House
#3 of 99 in Harrogate
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashwood House

Property: Ashwood House
Address: 7 Spring Grove, Harrogate HG1 2HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ashwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashwood House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing