We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm welcome”
Review of The New Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The New Inn
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Sturton By Stow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“warm welcome”
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed at The New Inn whilst travelling to a classic jag show; what a little gem of a place! The owners Tim and Pauline were friendly and fun; the food excellent and the newly refurbished bar/ restaurant area is delightfull. The rooms are lovely, airy and clean. We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresa1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    24
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
59
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

A fantastic stay,warm friendly welcome from Tim and Pauline and the locals! Rosie the resident staffie was on fine form and I do not normaly take to dogs easily she however was loving and friendly! My hubby loved the real ales - Vallhalle gave him a sore head my spritzers were spot on and the food was delicious - I cannot give enough praise for the hygiene, the shower was wonderful clean towels daily - tea, coffee and biscuits changed every day! we wolu d go back again should we holiday in Yorkshire! Mark & Mikela - Lincoln

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikkiLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

I needed somewhere to stay whilst doing an exhibition in Harrogate and chose the New Inn purely from the TripAdvisor recommendations.
This is a lovely little pub within 20 minutes of Harrogate and, whilst at a crossroads, there was little or no traffic noise.
It has a nice bar/restaurant with three real ales plus the other usual lagers and ciders. The wine list is quite wide with the majority available by the glass and the food was excellent. If I had one gripe, it was the steak knives - they will let you on an international flight with a New Inn steak knife! The ordinary version was sharper!
I had a single room with a nice wide bed (perhaps it was a small double room?) Clean, well stocked for tea/coffee and a nice en suite bathroom. Every evening the room had been tidied from the condition I had left it in and was in the same condition as when I first arrived. The TV only gets five channels, but that is probably a geographical problem.
All in all I would recommend the New Inn and will be going again. I hope that this review doesn't mean it is full on my next visit!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longhaul-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

we stayed here for one night before travelling onto York. We arrived about 8.30pm as we got lost. Nice cosy room, with a huge power shower. tea and coffee and biscuits (fab)
It was nice to relax on the sofa's and get merry on wine.
Breakfast was lovely in the morning .
friendly owners, and lovely resident staffy bull dog.
would stay again

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staffscasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2010

My partner and I stayed at The New Inn for two nights in June. Upon arrival, we were greeted and shown to our room which was spottless, homely and comfortable. Tim and Pauline King (the owners) were friendly and welcoming, as were the other members of staff. The morning breakfasts and the evening meals were absolutely superb, faultless. We would definitely like to return for another lovely get-away in the near future. - Pat Dezulian, Swansea.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patdez01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2010

we didnt actually stay in the hotel, just popped in for food and whilst we was sat waiting for our food the barman was bringing out big plates of food, so we thought this looks promising. My food was nice but when my boyfriends food came we was EXTREMELY disappointed, he ordered a chicken curry and even his 5 year old niece would not have filled up on it. There must have been 2 table spoons of curry and not much more rice. It is a shame cos up until then it seemed a lovely place and my boyfriend and friends have classic cars and often go driving out for food and thought (before we got our food) that this one be one we would return to, however after our experience we wont and will not be recommending it to any of our friends and relatives. VERY DISAPPOINTED !!!!!!!!

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shirbutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We stayed here for our first visit to the Harrogate Flower Show. First seen via an internet search you are never quite sure what you will find. We shouldn't have worried as the owners, Tim & Pauline King, made us most welcome. The friendly bar area was frequented by cheerful locals and the coal fire added that extra touch. Tim had a good choice of music and could often be seen moving to the beat! The bar had a good choice of local beers as well as an adequate choice of wines by the glass and bottle. From the bar we were able to make our evening meal choice from a printed menu with about 6 starters, 6 mains and 6 sweets. Added to this was a "Specials" board of another 4 to 5 items plus a "Griddle" menu of 6 items. The restaurant was a little quiet but it was early in the season but that changed on the Saturday evening. All the food was deliciously cooked and well presented and served by Pauline. The room we had was clean and cosy with excellent supplies of coffee and biscuits.
Perhaps the only down side were the thin walls but that might have just been our room.
We shall be back again without fail either for the next show or just to take in the superb Yorkshire scenery.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertKent73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
4.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,277 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
4.2 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 30 in Harrogate
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,721 reviews
4.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
1,387 reviews
4.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn

Property: The New Inn
Address: Pateley Bridge Road, Harrogate HG3 3EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated on the doorstep of the Yorkshire Dales yet only a 10 minute drive from Harrogate, The New Inn offers the traveler comfortable fully refurbished 4 star accommodation, a restaurant serving delicious food and fine wines and a traditional bar with real ales and in winter a roaring fire. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The New Hotel Harrogate
The New Inn Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing