We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The New Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The New Inn
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed over in Harrogate Sunday 15.09.2013 at the new inn we at friends in the bar at lunchtime on returning at evening we went to our room (room 8 ) lovely room very comfortable bed very good nights sleep a fantastic power shower in the immaculate en-suite bathroom
breakfast very nice with cereal and an English breakfast
We would highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Room 8 very comfortable great shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gareee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    24
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
57
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for my birthday weekend. Warm and friendly reception on arrival and throughout our stay. Room was cosy and immaculately clean. The power shower was amazing! ! We ate here in the evening and the food was delicious. The pate starter was gorgeous served with chunky granary toasted bread and chutney. Specials board gave an exceptional offering. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this very special place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jackpotgenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Durham England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

I stayed here whilst on business, the rooms are very clean and comfortable, the food is fantastic particularly breakfast and especially the home made Pate, Pauline and Tim are excellent hosts and are both extremely accommodating, nothing is to much trouble for them.
the views from the hotel are breath taking and the location was ideal for me and very quite. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Booked by my partner claiming we were staying in Harrogate but turns out this place is out in the sticks. We wanted Harrogate one day and Brimham Rocks the next so served our purpose as central to both. It does limit the choice of places to dine if you both fancy a drink.

Warm welcome and allocated Room 6 which was spacious and tastefully furnished although the room did form part of the emergency exit for other rooms (as well as the mortice lock on the door there was a "break glass" and lift the lever mechanism). Nice views from the room that was to the rear of the Inn away from the main road. Small flat screen tv and excellent refreshment tray with quality drinks and biscuits. The bed was king sized and comfortable. The towels provided were quality ... thick and fluffy. The bathroom was fit for purpose with complimentary toiletries provided. The emergency exit door was in a poor state of repair (although solid you could see daylight through it!) which could mean a draughty cold room in winter.

Was expecting a good selection of hand pulled ales but they only had 3. My first pint was cloudy and the second ok. My partner enjoyed her wine. The food was ok, meat/bread platter to start and tempura prawns. Two rib-eye steaks for mains cooked spot on with fries. Also on the plate were some "on the vine" cherry tomatoes and a flat mushroom. It felt like there was something missing but did not like to ask ... to me those items are a garnish and would have like to have seen vegetables/salad provided. We had a cheese board to finish that we nearly had to share with the landlord's dog as it almost helped itself to the plate. I don't think pets should be in the room while food is served and they should be under control. The food was ok but think I would venture into Harrogate next time and miss the drink (Graveleys caught my eye). The landlady had done a good job making a feature of a wall with vinyl records and their covers ... an interesting touch.

Breakfast was good. Orange juice, cereals, summer fruits, toast/preserves and a cooked breakfast. Bacon, sausage, egg, mushrooms (very tasty as I hate tinned ones), black pudding and tomato. They were happy to provide refills on the tea. As another reviewer said, breakfast is 8-9am so an early rise is essential.

All in all a very comfortable stay. Remote location. Happy to recommend Room 6. Would recommend elsewhere for a good meal or ale.

Room Tip: Room 6 is to the rear, away from the main road with nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CgMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

If you're thinking of visiting North Yorkshire and the Dales around Harrogate make sure you book in to the New Inn at Burnt Yates
It's only a few miles from Harrogate and Knaresborough and is the perfect place to base your stay
The owners Tim and Pauline are perfect hosts and the accommodation is of a very high standard
We booked on a bed and breakfast basis and expected to go out each nigh to eat..We didn't as the evening menu was varied and very reasonably priced.The locals all eat there too so it cant be bad!!
Unlike many places in the area parking is not a problem as there is a large car park .
You might have seen Ade Edmonson's tv programme about The Dales when he featured Ripley castle.This is only about a mile away and is well worth a visit as the Fountains Abbey which is a bit further away.
We used the stay to research some of my ancestors who lived in Knaresborough and on our next visit we will certainly hope to stay at the New Inn again

Room Tip: Don't worry they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger9674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Absolutely briliant! I was here for two nights for work and thoroughly enjoyed myself. I dont know much about the area as i didnt have much time to explore but had enough time to explore the immediate surroundings, which were lovely. The newly refurbished rooms above the pub were great, my room was very comfortable and the bathroom was fresh and clean. The rooms at the back of the pub onto the car park looked old and worn but i am not sure if these are used. I ate here both nights and the food was delish, the breakfasts also were tasty. Pauline and Tim the owners were really friendly and kind. I will definatly return here for leisure next time!

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hol_Emman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stopped here for an overnight stay and wow what fantastic hospitality! The rooms are not fancy but homely and very clean and most importantly the bed was comfy. The food was very good and my husband loved the ales. Most of all we relaxed and considering we have 3 children that was a blessing ( who were not with us) .
It has a wonderful rustic charm and the owners add to this , we loved it so much we booked to revisit this gem in 2013!
This is not the contemporary place, it is rustic , open fires, homely, heart warming food and good beverages ,everything that you would expect to find in the countryside!
There is many things to visit and the The New Inn is well situated, they were also very helpful in guiding us to good attractions and walks.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sayersharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
4.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn

Property: The New Inn
Address: Pateley Bridge Road, Harrogate HG3 3EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated on the doorstep of the Yorkshire Dales yet only a 10 minute drive from Harrogate, The New Inn offers the traveler comfortable fully refurbished 4 star accommodation, a restaurant serving delicious food and fine wines and a traditional bar with real ales and in winter a roaring fire. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The New Hotel Harrogate
The New Inn Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing