We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try Elsewhere” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Baths Chinese Restaurant

Royal Baths Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 433 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$123
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An epicureans dream is how our Chinese restaurant has been described by one food magazine. Everything from the hand painted wash bowls in the toilets to the imported finest quality furniture has be meticulously hand picked to make The Royal Baths the very best restaurant it can be. We have spent in excess of 1.5 million pounds on the interior, maintaining the styles of the famous baths. Our chefs have come from the very best restaurants from around the world to bring you the delights of the East. We serve traditional food as well as cuisine you may not have seen before. The Royal Baths will astound both your eyes and your taste buds.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Try Elsewhere”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had a party of around a hundred all booked. The service was poor, food came at different times, I have eaten better in most places and the PA system which we had paid for was appalling so our international speakers ( one a Baroness another a Knight) couldn't be heard which was embarrassing. To top it, the owner of the restaurant was rude because although we paid a lot in cash she insisted on us paying a trumped up charge. Don't be fooled by the splendour. There is a wolf here in sheep's clothing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mysterydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy-RoyalBaths, Manager at Royal Baths Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
We are very disappointed to see your very unfair and completely one sided review on here about us. I feel I must clarify with anyone who reads your review the truth about what happened that evening.
Firstly, you were constantly changing the number of guests which made it very hard for us to organise the evening. For over 100 guests, the food will arrive at tables a few minutes apart! It is impossible to serve everybody at the same time!
The PA system was paid for and bought by US!!!!! The PA system belongs to the restaurant. You had absolutely no contribution towards the PA system! It was not faulty but a couple of your guests whilst making their speeches decided to stand very close to the speakers with their mics! The previous guest speeches that you had earlier on in the evening had no problems.

As for paying your bill. You wanted to pay for the bill the next day. As no prior arrangement had be made, we were hesitant. So, you wrote us a cheque but told us not to bank it in as it would bounce! We thought you were joking! You then took back the cheque and issued us with another for a lesser amount but again warned us that we should wait four days before taking it to the bank as it would also bounce! The remaining balance of your bill was paid in cash as you had no other alternative. Through all this, we gave a £100 discount off your bill PLUS we waived the 10% service charge on your party of over 100 people!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    190
    86
    42
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I am not even shure how to rate this place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

The food was medium at best, the service was poor and I would not go here again, we tried the buffet and it was pricey, there were flies around deserts and the guy at the front looks like a police as opposed of welcoming

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Iva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trim, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Surroundings hide a lot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We couldn't resist visiting this amazing restaurant for its unique architectural style which alone made the visit worthwhile. However, the food did not match the surroundings and portions were on the "fashionably meagre" side! The food was acceptably tasty but not as much as anticipated. Prices were a bit on the high side too. I kept getting distracted by the attractiveness if the place. I would return for the pleasure of the surroundings but wouldn't bring a big appetite with me. That said it was a delightful experience and very well located in Harrowgate.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pleasure-seeker95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful food Beautiful surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Happened upon this restaurant by chance and so glad we did.
Fresh and tasty food no additives !! Sometimes associated with Chinese foods. Set in the most amazing part of the old Harrogate Spa and Baths. The food befitted the wonderful surroundings
The staff friendly yet professional. All in all well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not 'authentic' Chinese food!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I won't there again! I heard lots of raving about this place. Decor is beautiful and the service is great though. Overall, expensive & small portions. Re: the dishes, 'Pak Choi' with no leaf? (They cut them off for some other worthy dish). Steamed dumplings taste the same as shop bought frozen. If Chinese people don't eat there, don't go there!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Baths Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Royal Baths Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing