We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous apartment, but don't expect to sleep!”
Review of The Lawrance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lawrance
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Gorgeous apartment, but don't expect to sleep!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I recently stayed in one of the two bedroom apartments on York Road with some friends. The apartment was really well decorated and maintained, and it was a lovely space to call home for the weekend.

The apartment was well located, and had everything that you could wish for - a comfortable bed, great shower, fridge etc.

However, there were a few problems - the main one being the soundproofing. My friends and I returned back to the apartment around midnight, and we retired to bed shortly after. We were all kept awake until 2.30am-3am by people coming in and out of the other apartments, running up and down the stairs and generally making noise from their apartments.

I appreciate that the owners can do little about how noisy these people were being, but if the soundproofing was improved it would sound less like these people were actually in our apartment and the noise would be a faint murmur, rather than us being able to hear everything word for word.

The only other issue for us was that we couldn't get the cooker to work, no matter how hard we tried. I'm not sure if it was broken or if we just couldn't figure it out - a minor issue for us, as we ended up going out for breakfast instead.

Overall, great apartments in a fantastic location but don't hold out for a sound night's sleep - we definitely didn't feel rested after our stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lady_kates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    48
    14
    3
    8
See reviews for
29
120
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed in apartment D on Duchy Rd in November for a girls weekend. Apartment was lovely, spacious and well equipped and the location was perfect only a 5/10 minute walk to the centre.

However the lighting in all the rooms is terrible! The rooms were really dark even with all the lights switched on. There were no bulbs in the wardrobe light fittings so you couldn't see your clothes! Bathrooms were lovely too but again please improve the lighting.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ccolekris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stayed at this apartment twice this year, one week in July 2013 and two weeks in September/October 2013. They put me on Kings Rd in July 2013, and both York Rd and Duchy Rd in September/October 2013. I have stayed in the single room apartment, the two bedroom apartment, and a guest house. I had an wifi problem during my first stay but they offered me a free dinner at the restaurant next door while using their internet instead, which I kindly declined. Overall, it's a pleasant stay; it's clean, spacious, and walkable to the city center and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RicoGun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed in the Studio apartment on Kings Road at the beginning of Nov 2013 for 2 nights. It is exceptionally well furnished with excellent quality fittings. Exceptionally clean throughout. Great comfortable bed. Just a stones throw from the town centre with all it's amenities. Bathroom was spacious with an excellent power shower. Kitchenette is excellent again with excellent fittings. Lounge area great with quality modern fittings. All in all, a first class establishment. Would definitely stay again and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Forget conventional Hotels, try the Lawrance for it's exceptional quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a two night stay in apartment 3 York Road.
Although not very big it is beautifully maintained and the bed was exceptionally comfy.
It is just a five minute walk into the town centre and in a very quiet and pretty road.
The only two issues we found was that although the bathroom is very modern there is no hand rail in the large walk in shower. When the floor tiles are wet and soapy they are slippy. There is pleanty of room to instal a hand rail. I do not consider myself elderly but felt a bit unsteady.
The other thing is the height of the bar stools in the kitchen. They are too high for the breakfast bar making this most uncomfortable to eat at. As we were only there for the two nights and we ate out in the evening it was not too bad for us but if you were there longer and wanted an evening meal in then it could be.
Would have no hesitation recommending the apartments to others though.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We would normally stay in hotels but, decided to stay at The Lawrance after finding them on the internet. We were not disappointed. We stayed in apartment 1 on York Road. Very central, quiet location and private parking. The apartment was immaculate, comfortable and modern. Great beds and just a very relaxing place. The staff were very helpful whenever we contacted them. Will definitely be back and intend to try the York apartments now too!
Just one thing, the off road parking is very tight and wasn't helped by the fact that the space for 3 cars near the road side was selfishly occupied by 2 cars. Was unable to get my 4 wheel drive into the space outside apartment 1 but, we were lucky as the people in the coach house did not have a car so, I could park on the slope. Not a major issue though, just something for people to bear in mind.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyM25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The apartment was great. The staff could not be more helpfull. What a great idea. Much better than being in a hotel room, much more relaxed. The apartment was top spec. Really comfortable bed. Lovely bathroom. Thanks. I will recommend you to my friends & family.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlecorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
586 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
#10 of 30 in Harrogate
1,093 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lawrance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawrance

Property: The Lawrance
Address: 38-42 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lawrance 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfort of home, the five star service of a luxury hotel, The Lawrance. Your every need meticulously catered for, your every whim beautifully accommodated. Whether you're here on business or for pleasure, you'll find The Lawrance far more than just a place to stay. It's luxurious home from home accommodation.We have 3 properties to choose from, Kings, Duchy and York House. Studios - 3 bedroom apartments, from 1 night to 1 year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Lawrance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lawrance Hotel Harrogate
The Lawrance Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing