We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best for business, back for a break!”
Review of The Lawrance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lawrance
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2010

I recently stayed with The Lawrence on a 3 day business trip to Harrogate and the surrounding area. My colleague and I where lucky enough to share one of the York House aprtments.

I can honestly say, after staying in a number of serviced apartments around the country, that this one was by far the most luxurious I have experienced. The apartments where obviously very new. The furnishings were of a high quality and very comfortable. Very contemporary. Our apartment was in a very nice location and 5 mins walk from the town centre. Plenty of places to eat/drink etc.

The staff where fantastic, 100% friendly and helpful the whole time we were there. They assited us with a dinner reservation for a client and sent us to a great restaurant. They where full of great snippets of helpful information. Very attentive.

Whilst I was staying on business this is somewhere I will definately be coming back to with my partner. The accommodation is ideal (perhaps more suited) for a luxurious romantic break.

The only downside was the cost. The apartments are more expensive than other serviced apartments in the area but you get what you pay for!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onroute1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2010

We were excited about staying at the Lawrance Apartments, especially as we had been upgraded to a two bedroom apartment at York Road due to plumbing problems in the Duchy apartment we had originally booked. Unfortunately a number of minor (but annoying) problems plagued our stay which made it less than enjoyable. The building has beautiful original glass-stained windows which let in a terrific draught in every room and the under-floor heating was completely inadequate in heating up the space. Consequently I spent much of New Year's Eve wearing a scarf and gloves inside!

Also the lack of sound-proofing between apartments meant that we entertained by a huge party in the apartment above into the New Year, We were then rudely awoken at 5am by revellers in the apartment below who had returned from clubbing and were intent on partying well into New Years Day. It was at that point that we decided to pack our bags and go home.

It seems as if the owners of the Lawrence have spent their budget on fancy gadgets rather than creating a place for a comfortable stay. The free WiFi didn't work and, according to the website, there should have been TVs in the bedroom (there weren't) which would have been handy to drown out the noise from the other apartments. Minor problems perhaps but they added up to a fairly miserable break. Thank god for Betty's cakes and coffees which were the highlight of our stay!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PollyLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

Fed up with faceless hotel rooms we decided to try an upmarket serviced apartment and we weren't disappointed at all. Loved everything about it - beautiful decor, toiletries, robes, furniture, comfy deep bath, monsoon shower, location - hoping to return very soon.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken-Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2009

These apartments are fab - they are way beyond standard of hotel let alone serviced apartments. Staff were impeccable - attention to details second to none. This is such a better value for money option than anything else we have tried in Harrogate. First class - good luck to them!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharonindevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2009

He booked this room via laterooms, and arrived around 2.30 and luckly there was a car parking space outside (the hotel has 2 spaces) otherwise you'll need to park in the main car parks - Jubilee I think is the closest.

We were allocated Apartment 1 - which was lovely, didnt have a sofa but two big chairs, and had tea & coffee, milk etc.. The bathroom was gorgeous, and the bedrooms really comfy. Unfortunately our toilet would not flush and we were moved to Apartment 7 - no fuss, the staff could not be more attentive. Apartment 7 is the one shown on their website, it was 2 bedroomed and was fabulous. Our stay was perfect, the toiletries, luxury robes, and top of the range furniture, tv, kitchen - everything was brilliant. Would definately recommend to anyone, it is so central, and is above Brio restaurant.

Much better than a hotel, but with even better facilities. We paid £92 which was a bargain. We will definately return.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisalush70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2009

We arrived on friday night at about 7pm after a long journey up M1 from Nottingham. I was with my wife and we we meeting two of our friends from the Lake district in Harrogate. I found the Lawrance via Laterooms and was seriously impressed when we arrived. The level of service was fantastic. Our two bedroomed suite was spacious and had everything. WiFI, Playstation and MP3 docking station. It was clean and Home from home. Brilliant place.. We ordered room service via the room menu Sat which was not expected.. Our entire weekend as a four was £440.00 and for 5 star, thats value for money. I understand they have just opened in 2009 so hope they keep up this impeccable standard..

Daniel Brown

Stayed: January 2009
Thank NottinghamDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
Thank Ulrich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLawrance, Manager at The Lawrance, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
322 reviews
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 28 in Harrogate
653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
#10 of 28 in Harrogate
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lawrance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawrance

Address: 38-42 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Harrogate
Price Range: £55 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lawrance 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfort of home, the five star service of a luxury hotel, The Lawrance. Your every need meticulously catered for, your every whim beautifully accommodated. Whether you're here on business or for pleasure, you'll find The Lawrance far more than just a place to stay. It's luxurious home from home accommodation.We have 3 properties to choose from, Kings, Duchy and York House. Studios - 3 bedroom apartments, from 1 night to 1 year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Lawrance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lawrance Hotel Harrogate
The Lawrance Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing