We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nasty rude people who are not pet friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brimham Rocks Cottages
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nasty rude people who are not pet friendly!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We decided to have a long weekend away with friends and we both took our well behaved dogs. Upon arrival at the cottages I was bombarded with a list of rules some of which where dogs not allowed to be left for longer than one hour (I would definately not have took the dog if I would have know that) they where not allowed on the furinature or up stairs. This was pretty hard to control as there was no gate to stop them. Then I was shown to the hot tub where I was told to basically sit still and not too move. Then the owner said in other words DON'T HAVE FUN! They where her words!
Anyway the following evening we went out for a meal and on our return we were meet by a very red faced angry owner. He said the dogs had been barking for over 4 hours which was a total lie as we had only been out 2 max! Then he told us he had been into the cottage to let the dogs out. Well how dare he they could have run off or our friends teenage daughter could have been in there. Apparently there was a woman staying for a week who had complained so if you are stayin only a weekend you must be less important. The lady next door stayed in the cottage all weekend reading a book with the tv screen saying no signal (need I say anymore about her). The pool was closed for over two hours one day for a private lesson again no mention of this on the website. They seem to have a whole different set of rules when you get there. Also we had no hot water on the last day. The decor was very minty to say the least. It seems if they have problems you just have to suck it up but dare put a foot wrong and you will feel the wrath of a very rude owner!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank debbied735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at Brimham Rocks Cottages, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am genuinely sorry if you felt I was nasty or rude to you, that certainly was not my intention. However, I suspect your view is coloured more by what I said to you rather than in manner in which it was said.

We most certainly are pet friendly as many of the dog owners who visit us regularly will testify. However, we make no apologies for asking people who bring pets with them to adhere to a simple set of guidelines eg not to leave dogs for long periods, do not allow them on furniture or in bedrooms, poop and scoop etc. - designed to be fair to all visitors to our premises and to the dogs themselves. Why bring the dogs if you are not going to take them out with you?


The fact is that you went out on Saturday morning and left your dogs in the cottage - a strange environment for them - and they yapped and barked constantly until your return. We received complaints from the people in the cottage next to yours and also in a cottage 3 doors away and we witnessed the noise ourselves. On investigation at the cottage, although most of the ground floor lights were on, no one responded to our knocking on the door apart from the dogs.
As you know, we rang and sent a text to the only contact number we had for you to ask you to return to the site to settle the animals which were clearly distressed. We received no reply from you.

At around 6-15 pm I suggested to my wife that we should see if the dogs might need a toilet break and to see if we could quell their noise. I did indeed intend to attach our own dog leads to them but on opening the door it was clear that they had no intention of coming out of the house so we abandoned the plan. We don't make a habit of entering cottages when visitors are out.

After a brief discussion with the neighbour who complained, I was heading back to our house when you pulled into the parking area. I told you about the complaints and I made no secret of the fact that we had tried to lure the dogs out of the cottage. Your husband and his friends suggested that it was the first time the 2 dogs had ever been left together and that might be the reason they were excitable. At no time did anyone in your party apologise for the disturbance or give me the impression that you really cared that they had annoyed other guests. Nor did you apologise to the neighbour.That's why I asked you to ensure that there wouldn't be any further problems for the remainder of your stay.

Sadly you chose to ignore the request and in my absence, on Sunday afternoon, my wife received a further complaint. As one of your cars was on site she had a look around and discovered you and your friend in the games room whilst your children were in the pool. She asked you to return to the cottage to stop the dogs barking and was, frankly, very disappointed with your attitude and slow response.

You openly admit that your dogs are allowed on your furniture and in your bedrooms. However, I think most people, dog owners or not, would not expect us to allow dogs to behave that way in our properties. If dogs are properly trained they learn when and where they are allowed to go and behave properly. Indeed, you probably didn't realise that the lady in the cottage next to you had her own dog with her when you were staring through her window.

With regard to the hot tub. Clearly we have a duty of care to tell you how they work, how to use them properly and to inform you about the health and safety issues for you and for us. To seriously suggest that we didn't want you to have fun is laughable.

With regard to the water problem. My wife responded as soon as you made her aware that the hot water had stopped flowing after most of you had finished showering. It turned out to be an air lock, probably due to the water been turned off earlier in the week when the new kitchen was being fitted. Once again, we apologise for the inconvenience.

Finally, we have drafted a response to the comments you made in the e-mail you sent via the contact system on our own web site, and about the problem you had with the bedding! Unfortunately, you didn't include your own e-mail details so we couldn't send it to you. If you send us your contact details we will send it on. We have left a number of messages on your answering machine. Have you received them?

There are always two sides to every story and I will leave it to visitors to Trip Advisor to draw their own conclusions once they have read your comments and our response.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    38
    10
    3
    16
See reviews for
36
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have recently stayed for a week in Chestnut Cottage. We chose this one as it had 2 double beds and a twin room. This was very convenient as we are the grandparents who had the lower floor double with en-suite and our son and fiancée had the upstairs double with the 2 grandchildren in the twin (although we had to re-arrange the beds slightly to stop the 3 year old falling out of bed and to accommodate the child cot). The living space was compact and the kitchen area quite small when trying to prepare food for 5, but it was useful having the communal freezer.

The water pressure out of the showers was rather low which was not good for washing my long hair, but this was overcome by using the really good powerful shower in the pool changing room. The swimming pool was lovely especially as the weather was typically autumnal with some wet days (stayed end Sept into Oct 2013), the whole family thoroughly enjoyed this aspect.

The owners were very friendly giving tips on where to go and short cuts to get there. Lots to do locally although some of the children's things ad become weekend only at this time of year). They recommended the Half Moon Pub 1.5 miles away and this was perfect. Very welcoming to our pram and small child with good choice of kids menu. The main menu had plenty to choose from, portions were large and food very tasty, the mixed grill was out of this world!

Of course you must not miss the amazing Brimham rocks themselves, lovely morning spent exploring, great views, but take good boots if going off the main path.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We just enjoyed an excellent mid-week break in Willow Cottage (Mid Aug 2013).
Booked direct with no problems.
The accommodation and facilities were superb, the owners helpful and friendly - we arrived late and they handled it very graciously, even though it must have been inconvenient for them.
We would visit again and would not hesitate to recommend it.
The Half Moon Pub (about 1m) serves excellent food.
Highly recommended for cyclists, its on the Way of the Roses route, there is undercover bike storage (just ask the owners) and laundry facilities for what will be "sweaty" kit (it's HILLY in t'dales).
Be warned though it is a very rural location, just what we wanted, but you really need to drive to everything (other than the Half Moon pub!).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipswich
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

we stay in cedar for the second time with a dog. It was a lovely place and the hot tub was lovely. The owners very very helpful and showed us around. We were in the hot tub every night and it was really peaceful. There is loads of places to go to and would recommend the half moon pub about half a mile away as the food was brill and they will let dogs in to.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed in 'Oak Cottage' booked through Hoseasons. Upon arrival we were told our cottage wasn't ready (although this was just 2pm they had said it would be) this was not a particular problem as we planned to go to lunch anyway. The couple kindly rang round some venues to check they were still surviving (very helpful).

Once checked it to our accommodation we were quickly shown round by a member of staff and left to our own devices. The wine and chocs on arrival were a lovely touch. A few things to point out the kitchen is advertised as spacious. It is not. If there was anyone sat at the table you literally couldn't get round the kitchen. As we unpacked our shopping we realised how tiny the fridge was (bearing in mind this cottage eledgedly accommodates 8) and wast not in the slightest bit adiquite for a 4 night stay.,as we had been told there was a communal freezer went went to ask if there was extra fridge facilities. I should point out before I go on we had 4 adults 4 children and an infant and these are the details we entered onto Hoseasons to which brimham rocks appeared. Anyway on remarking to the gentleman owner how little fridge space there was his reply was "we'll that's all there is and to be honest your pushing your luck with the amount of guest you have in there". Well sorry but take that up with Hoseasons not us! Really rude and no need in our opinion.

The living room was a decent enough size with 3 sofas, non of which were very good quality. The sofa bed had a plank of wood under the cushions to descise the sagging. However the toilet adjacent wasn't really practical and BEWARE of the towel rail as it is continuously on full blast and is so close to the toilet there were several incidents of burnt legs and no way to turn it off that we could see. The curtains in the living room were extremely mouldy. If you stay here and it's forecast good weather take you own fans as we didnt and has to go out and buy one the next day it was so hot inside.

They advertised not supplying towels so we brought our own equaling more luggage and when we got there, there was 2 towels per person provided??

The bedrooms although compact were fine but the bathroom shower screen could do with replacing or given a good clean.

The swimming pool facilities were excellent although small which meant we had to wait until the pool was empty of other guests to use it. It also closes up each night at 8pm which we didn't feel was late enough. However the games room was a big hit for us and wasn't closed quite as sharply. The communal hot tub was unfortunately A waste of time as it was situated around lots of bushes and shrubbery etc and the minute u liffed the cover and got in you were literally bombarded with flies.

The communal garden wasn't the best. 2 picnic branches were fine but the table and chair set was broken and rotten in places. The garden (other then the grass) was completely unkept. Nettles and weeds growing up everywhere u could see to waste height and higher. Not ideal when u have small children. The BBQ area was fine however unfortunately the field adjacent to said area was full of cows so as soon as they appeared at the wall so did those dreaded flys again (not the fauktmof the owners im sure) so sadly we had to go back in doors.

I really didnt find our stay value for money in the slightest so upon reading the welcoming pack and seeing the owners requesting u strip all beds and have all crockery clean and back in cupboards on departure I was left wondering what it was we were paying for.

Overall an average stay and a place we don't intend returning to which is unfortunate as we stay in the area every year and upon arrival thought it looked the perfect place to return. Sadly this was not the case.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsFionaHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed for a long weekend in early June and had an absolutely fantastic time. The cottage (Maple) was spotlessly clean and so cosy that we did not want to leave. It was wonderful to be able to enjoy champagne (plastic flutes) in your own hot tub within the privacy of your own garden. The owners, David & Judith, were so very friendly and incredibly accommodating. The surrounding area is so beautiful and the walks are amazing. The wildlife is so varied and we saw and heard curlews, which is the first time either of us had ever seen these beautiful birds. We will certainly be back very soon. Thank you again David & Judith for a wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: Ring the owners and describe your requirements and they will point you in the right direction as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North east
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We recently for a midweek break and enjoyed our stay at Brimham rocks cottages.

The hosts were good and the wine and chocolates were a very nice surprise on our arrival. The cottage itself was reasonably clean although a little cramped. It was supposed to sleep 8 but we only had 6 and still found it small. If we had taken it to capacity it would have been very squashed. Although the bed was comfortable it was not a full size double due to the room size and me and the wife who are not massive people found it a little squashed so be aware. I think the other double was ok though. There was a dehumidifier on landing so i assume they get a lot of damp and i noticed a lot of mould around the landing window which is not a good look.

Heating is controlled by them not your self and one morning didnt seem to come on at other times later it got too hot, I know there are valves on radiators to control this but would have preferred control of it all. Our cottage (Oak) had a dishwasher but our friends also in an 8 berth did not, not a problem for us as we didn't use it but may be for some

Freezer is in utility room and is communal (free), is alongside with a washing machine and dryer (pay) and washing and drying can only be done on certain days.

Pool and games room is in pretty good nick the pool is small but maintained well and there is also a communal hot tub.

Brimham rocks and the area itself are very nice, stump cross caverns is worth a visit and Pately bridge is very nice ( recommend the chippy station i think its called). There is also nice food at the crown and near the cottages at the pub at Felbeck.

All in all nice break would have give it 3.5 but it wont allow it, so it has to be a 3. The rooms are a little dated or it would have been a 4. Would go back to the area

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrogate
8.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
10.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,454 reviews
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Spring Wood Lodges
Spring Wood Lodges
#5 of 30 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
18.6 mi away
Westholme Estate
Westholme Estate
#1 of 1 in Aysgarth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brimham Rocks Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brimham Rocks Cottages

Property: Brimham Rocks Cottages
Address: High North Farm | Fellbeck, Harrogate HG3 5EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Harrogate
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Brimham Rocks Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brimham Rocks Cottages Hotel Harrogate
Brimham Rocks Cottages Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing