We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brimham Rocks Cottages
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect weekend break”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Brimham rocks cottages this weekend after booking the weekend there with my girlfriend and our dog. The whole weekend from beginning to end was exactly what we wanted and so much more.

Upon arriving we were greeted by a lovely lady who was extremely welcoming and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. The cottage itself (cedar cottage) was perfect for the three of us providing us with a cosy, warm, homely feel with the added extra of a beautiful, private garden offering sublime views and of course the private hot tub which was perfect to relax in after our long walks.

We will undoubtedly be returning to the cottages and would highly recommend to anybody wanting to unwind and relax for a weekend break.

Krystian, becky and meela

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank krystian_lippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    38
    10
    3
    16
See reviews for
36
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We returned from Brimham Rocks Cottages today having stayed in Rowan Cottage with our 11 month old. We received a lovely, warm welcome and were shown around the site by the owners before being taken to our cottage. Once inside, we were given a small file with a few bits to read - some advice to assist using the hot tub and swimming pool etc, and local places to visit and eat. There was also a bottle of wine and some small chocolates upon arrival which we though was a nice touch. The cottage was warm and clean, although not being pet owners, we really smelt dog and cat when sat playing on the floor with our daughter. Not pleasant for us, but to be expected at a place which welcomes animals. The hot tub was lovely and made a great relaxing end to the day! We loved taking our little girl swimming and she really enjoyed it too - particularly since it was never busy, which is always a bonus. There was a very small park on site which was a nice touch too.

The location is beautiful, we'd recommend a trip to Pately Bridge and Knaresborough, amongst lots of other beautiful surrounding areas.

Would likely return here, but perhaps when the little one is a bit older. It made a very warm and relaxing break.

I also feel the need to defend the owners from previous posts on here - if someone had left their dog barking all day at a place like this whilst we were there, I too would have complained. I don't want to hear your dogs distressed all day and then all evening! I'm also astonished to read the word 'nasty' in a previous review. Absolutely unfounded in our opinion - the owners were friendly, welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misshels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Me and my partner just got back from weekend away in cedar cottage at brimham rocks was a beautiful and peaceful place to stay cottage has everything you need clean hot tub was amazing friendly and welcoming owner, definitely recommend and will be booking with other family again soon. Jade and kyle

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrt89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We have been here twice now and each time have enjoyed ourselves enormously. The place may need a little attention but it by no means detracts from the relaxing environment it offers. I do feel that some previous comments are a little harsh... If you bring a dog and you leave it all day and it barks constantly I would expect the owners to say something... come on folks other people have paid too and don't expect selfish people to ruin their time away either... as for the mouse comment... well its in the country... get a grip....!!!

Come here with the expectation of a great time in a great location with great facilities.

Everyone who we talked to who was there had stayed before... as had we....that must say something...!!

Thank you to the owners who offer good information and leave you alone to just get on with having a relaxing time.... PERFECT..... we would not change a thing....

We will be coming again and again.... its our haven....

Room Tip: Have had a tour of all the properties... they all look nice..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bullcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We spent a weekend at Brimham Rocks Cottages and found the weekend a complete disaster, the owners were rude and that was when they were present, we were not greeted nor did we see anybody when we left. When we arrived we had a list of rules presented to us by friends, no mention of a welcome following a 2hour trip over on a Friday evening. We took our two dogs as the cottages are supposed to be dog friendly, this however was not the case, we did leave our dogs behind to take the kids into Harrogate which was lovely by the way, and again during that evening to eat out in nearby Patley Bridge. Upon arriving back from eating out we were met by an angry and rude owner as whilst eating out our dogs had been barking, something that we did not expect as at home they are fine, but hey the place was supposed to be dog friendly. The owner would not listen to what we had to say and was just concerned about another guest who was staying for one week. I can understand if they were barking it can be annoying , but we did not expect them to bark whilst we were out, and i myself did appologise, the owner did not however try to in any way help us, he just made it clear that we could not leave the dogs at all, as a result of this we had to disapoint the kids by cancelling the trip to the enchanted forest which we had planned for them, dogs are not allowed at that location. I was also horrified to learn once arriving that mice are present in the cottage, had i have known this prior to going then i would not have stayed there, the kitchen was new and was nice, the rest of the cottage probably requires some attention a good clean remove cobwebs and lick of paint, there was also constant banging from the water pipes during the evening and from our neighbour in the early hours.The pool was fine and hot tub was ok too, although probably needs to be warmer due to the cold weather now, there was also reference made to children being left unattended by the pool, this was not nor ever would be the case. It needs to state more clearly that if your dog may bark, then you cant leave it unattended, it really did spoil what should have been a good weekend. One posotive was Brimham Rocks both kids and dogs loved that place, otherwise it was a bit of a disaster the owners really should be more understanding of all of their guests.

Room Tip: take an extra duvet it was cold as the owner controls the heating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at Brimham Rocks Cottages, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Please see my response to the review posted on 11 November by the other couple who stayed with this couple.
I really do find it very sad that people feel it is ok to show no respect for other peoples property, show no consideration to other people visiting our site and, most of all, bring their dogs on holiday to the countryside and then leave them locked up for the day in a strange environment. Then, when problems are brought to there attention, they offer no apology, repeat the behaviour the following day and then blame us. It beggars belief.

I am just so pleased that the vast majority of visitors in general and dog owners in particular who visit our site share the same values we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have just returned from a lovely, relaxing weekend in Maple cottage. We found the cottage to be cosy, warm, well equipped and clean and the hot tub was, of course, fabulous. The garden was well laid out and there were some lovely touches such as the lantern, CD player, wine and chocolates. We were greeted warmly and given lots of information, which was helpful. We needed more time to explore the surrounding area, but were primarily there to relax, so mainly made the most of the hot tub and lovely views. The only downside was being able to hear your neighbours walking around on the very creaky floorboards, but then they are old buildings. All in all a lovely weekend and I'm sure we will visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bumblebeeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the cottages on many occassions over the last few years and on every occasion the cottages have been fantastic and the owners extremly helpful and accomodating. Nothing is too much trouble. i would recomend the cottages to anyone.

For anyone reading the review from the dog owner, we were staying at the cottages that weekend and took the time to tell the dog owner when asked by him that his dogs had been barking in a distressed way for the few hours we had been home. i would take what he said as sour grapes after both the owners and guests pointed out his dogs were distressed and needed taking care of not to mention making a disturbance.

The cottages are great with excellent facilities in a beautiful location.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank tez09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrogate
8.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
594 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
Mallard Grange
Mallard Grange
#1 of 2 in Aldfield
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,570 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chequers Inn
Chequers Inn
#2 of 2 in Bishop Thornton
96 reviews
8.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brimham Rocks Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brimham Rocks Cottages

Property: Brimham Rocks Cottages
Address: High North Farm | Fellbeck, Harrogate HG3 5EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Harrogate
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brimham Rocks Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brimham Rocks Cottages Hotel Harrogate
Brimham Rocks Cottages Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing