We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter fun at brimham rocks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brimham Rocks Cottages
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The weather was great so always helps to have a great day. We spent a full day there, took a picnic and we left about 3.30. The cadburys Easter egg hunt was on so it was really busy. My girls (2 and 7) both enjoyed and my eldest one loved climbing up the rocks. Definitely take a picnic. Don't know what's available from the refreshment kiosk. The queue was huge. Car park charges apply £5 for 4 hours or £6 for all day. Great family day out cheap and fun

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed in the 2 person Cedar cottage for a weekend. Lovely welcome and tour of the property and site and it was nice to see a bottle of wine and chocolates on the table.
Property was a lot smaller than I had imagined, some imaginative planning to get it all into such a small space! Well-equipped kitchen, nice to see that there was washing up liquid etc. provided, likewise the hand soap in the bathroom. TV was a bit temperamental, but was ok. Although I was happy with the standard of the cottage I would not class them as 'luxury' as stated on the website. Furnishings are more shabby chic/rustic and the bathroom is rather dated. There were also several patches of damp on the walls.

The outside was very well-kept and the hot tub was fantastic.

The on-site facilities were very good, the games room was a good size with table tennis, table football and pool. We had it all to ourselves when we used it. We also had the pool to ourselves for 2 sessions, although small it is a very pleasant and the showers in the changing rooms are lovely, much better than in the cottage.

The heating is very noisy so I would recommend bringing ear plugs if you are a light sleeper!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roamuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Brimham rocks cottages this weekend after booking the weekend there with my girlfriend and our dog. The whole weekend from beginning to end was exactly what we wanted and so much more.

Upon arriving we were greeted by a lovely lady who was extremely welcoming and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. The cottage itself (cedar cottage) was perfect for the three of us providing us with a cosy, warm, homely feel with the added extra of a beautiful, private garden offering sublime views and of course the private hot tub which was perfect to relax in after our long walks.

We will undoubtedly be returning to the cottages and would highly recommend to anybody wanting to unwind and relax for a weekend break.

Krystian, becky and meela

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank krystian_lippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We returned from Brimham Rocks Cottages today having stayed in Rowan Cottage with our 11 month old. We received a lovely, warm welcome and were shown around the site by the owners before being taken to our cottage. Once inside, we were given a small file with a few bits to read - some advice to assist using the hot tub and swimming pool etc, and local places to visit and eat. There was also a bottle of wine and some small chocolates upon arrival which we though was a nice touch. The cottage was warm and clean, although not being pet owners, we really smelt dog and cat when sat playing on the floor with our daughter. Not pleasant for us, but to be expected at a place which welcomes animals. The hot tub was lovely and made a great relaxing end to the day! We loved taking our little girl swimming and she really enjoyed it too - particularly since it was never busy, which is always a bonus. There was a very small park on site which was a nice touch too.

The location is beautiful, we'd recommend a trip to Pately Bridge and Knaresborough, amongst lots of other beautiful surrounding areas.

Would likely return here, but perhaps when the little one is a bit older. It made a very warm and relaxing break.

I also feel the need to defend the owners from previous posts on here - if someone had left their dog barking all day at a place like this whilst we were there, I too would have complained. I don't want to hear your dogs distressed all day and then all evening! I'm also astonished to read the word 'nasty' in a previous review. Absolutely unfounded in our opinion - the owners were friendly, welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misshels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Me and my partner just got back from weekend away in cedar cottage at brimham rocks was a beautiful and peaceful place to stay cottage has everything you need clean hot tub was amazing friendly and welcoming owner, definitely recommend and will be booking with other family again soon. Jade and kyle

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrt89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We spent a weekend at Brimham Rocks Cottages and found the weekend a complete disaster, the owners were rude and that was when they were present, we were not greeted nor did we see anybody when we left. When we arrived we had a list of rules presented to us by friends, no mention of a welcome following a 2hour trip over on a Friday evening. We took our two dogs as the cottages are supposed to be dog friendly, this however was not the case, we did leave our dogs behind to take the kids into Harrogate which was lovely by the way, and again during that evening to eat out in nearby Patley Bridge. Upon arriving back from eating out we were met by an angry and rude owner as whilst eating out our dogs had been barking, something that we did not expect as at home they are fine, but hey the place was supposed to be dog friendly. The owner would not listen to what we had to say and was just concerned about another guest who was staying for one week. I can understand if they were barking it can be annoying , but we did not expect them to bark whilst we were out, and i myself did appologise, the owner did not however try to in any way help us, he just made it clear that we could not leave the dogs at all, as a result of this we had to disapoint the kids by cancelling the trip to the enchanted forest which we had planned for them, dogs are not allowed at that location. I was also horrified to learn once arriving that mice are present in the cottage, had i have known this prior to going then i would not have stayed there, the kitchen was new and was nice, the rest of the cottage probably requires some attention a good clean remove cobwebs and lick of paint, there was also constant banging from the water pipes during the evening and from our neighbour in the early hours.The pool was fine and hot tub was ok too, although probably needs to be warmer due to the cold weather now, there was also reference made to children being left unattended by the pool, this was not nor ever would be the case. It needs to state more clearly that if your dog may bark, then you cant leave it unattended, it really did spoil what should have been a good weekend. One posotive was Brimham Rocks both kids and dogs loved that place, otherwise it was a bit of a disaster the owners really should be more understanding of all of their guests.

Room Tip: take an extra duvet it was cold as the owner controls the heating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at Brimham Rocks Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Please see my response to the review posted on 11 November by the other couple who stayed with this couple.
I really do find it very sad that people feel it is ok to show no respect for other peoples property, show no consideration to other people visiting our site and, most of all, bring their dogs on holiday to the countryside and then leave them locked up for the day in a strange environment. Then, when problems are brought to there attention, they offer no apology, repeat the behaviour the following day and then blame us. It beggars belief.

I am just so pleased that the vast majority of visitors in general and dog owners in particular who visit our site share the same values we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have just returned from a lovely, relaxing weekend in Maple cottage. We found the cottage to be cosy, warm, well equipped and clean and the hot tub was, of course, fabulous. The garden was well laid out and there were some lovely touches such as the lantern, CD player, wine and chocolates. We were greeted warmly and given lots of information, which was helpful. We needed more time to explore the surrounding area, but were primarily there to relax, so mainly made the most of the hot tub and lovely views. The only downside was being able to hear your neighbours walking around on the very creaky floorboards, but then they are old buildings. All in all a lovely weekend and I'm sure we will visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bumblebeeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
8.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
292 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chequers Inn
Chequers Inn
#2 of 2 in Bishop Thornton
105 reviews
10.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,029 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,357 reviews
8 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 28 in Harrogate
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brimham Rocks Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brimham Rocks Cottages

Address: High North Farm | Fellbeck, Harrogate HG3 5EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Harrogate
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Brimham Rocks Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brimham Rocks Cottages Hotel Harrogate
Brimham Rocks Cottages Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing