We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harrogate brasserie”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Harrogate Brasserie Hotel
Ranked #17 of 99 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Harrogate brasserie”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Nice hotel in a good position near the centre of Harrogate. Parking in that area was sparse at best so its good they have a parking area around the rear of the hotel. Although it was a squeeze to park there was an attendant to assist if required.
Rooms were clean spacious although the bathroom was very small.
Breakfast was very good with a good choice and the dinner was also very good

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a decent bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    156
    49
    28
    14
See reviews for
60
290
10
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eye, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I would recommend anyone to stay at this extremely quirky hotel which offers superb accommodation and excellent cuisine. Richard Finney and his team offer excellent service to all residents and diners. The best fillet steak I have eaten in a long time.

Go on spoil yourself and try the Harrogate Brasserie and with complimentary "Live" JAZZ most evenings what could be better!!

The real tops in Yorkshire Hospitality.........

Room Tip: You'll need to book your room early as it is extremely popular and don't forget to book a ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin_gregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We had a fabulous two night stay in a studio apartment. Great room, loved the little balcony, great location. The apartment had a small kitchen but the only down side was that there was no pots or pans, crockery, cutlery, washing up stuff etc - looked like the hob had never been used. If we were staying for longer I would have asked for these things, but the fridge was useful. The people were very hospitable - Michael was brilliant at dinner despite my particular nature, Peter was a great host and gave good local recommendations and the chap at breakfast (sorry I don't have the name) really looked after us. This place is warm, relaxed and friendly. We would be very happy to stay here again. Thanks to them all.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRich71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

A quirky hotel with a lot of character, good food, good service accompanied by nice live music and nice decor. So much character that our room lacked a shower holder or curtain which presented challenges not really expected of.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Hotel very nice and clean, spotless in fact. We stayed in top floor apartment. This is not for the faint hearted with luggage. The apartment was lovely but no utensils at all so not really an apartment more a room with very nice tea and coffee making facilities. Food in the restaurant was lovely, though book a table on arrival as we only just got a table. Breakfast was very good, cooked to order and to perfection. Harrogate itself is as dull as dishwater, it, s got the atmosphere of Mars

Room Tip: Room 19 if you dont mind stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jargan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This was our first visit to this hotel and it shall certainly be our last. On arrival, around 3pm, a quite helpful young receptionist informed us that we had been allocated the 'Garden Room'. This proved to be a complete misnomer as the room was in a grubby basement area adjoining the car park with only brick walls and a stomach turning rat trap on the vista. Nevertheless, our first impressions of the room itself were quite favourable as at least it offered relatively cheerful décor and a spacious, contemporary bathroom. Within seconds however we realised that we were actually located beneath the kitchen area and the thunderous footsteps from above had us back to reception immediately. To be fair, another helpful employee offered us a further room (The Lodge) which had all the charm of a lock up garage from the exterior and absolutely nothing to recommend it on the interior either....dated décor, dusty furniture and lacking adequate showering/bathing facilities. Refusing the second option we were informed that we have to put up with the kitchen noise which was set to worsen as the evening progressed and advised to go out for the evening! The noise continued well into late hours only then to be replaced by the sound of refrigeration equipment and a constantly streaming overflow. However, even worse were the awful smells emanating from the drainage system in the bathroom, which the proprietors were obviously aware of, as attempts had been made to mask these with high intensity plug-in air fresheners and (previously burned) cheap candle aromas. Given this truly sensorial smell/sight/sound situation we spent a wakeful, if chilly, night with the windows opened fully to prevent choking, or worse, and the television on for distraction. The whole point of staying in a hotel is to gain a comfortable night's SLEEP. This room is not fit for purpose and the proprietors knowingly charged £110 for this nightmare. No way a boutique hotel and no way 4Star. It is a quirky and characterful establishment, but it is really a restaurant with a few rooms on the side. Obviously the persons who rate this hotel favourably are lucky in their allocation of accommodation.

At least there was light relief to be gained at breakfast as shambolic service by one of the owners (at other tables, not ours) proved entertaining.....other diners were treated to mystery breakfasts, not at all as ordered, with ensuing histrionic arguments in the kitchen as to who was to blame! Nevertheless, the breakfast was fine.....tasty, cooked to perfection and enjoyable. Fortunately, we were served attentively and courteously.They should really employ trained waiting staff and all would be fine in this respect.

In summary, it appears that this hotel is run by amateurs, keen to charge over the odds for what is on offer and exploiting the excellent location of the hotel. But there are plenty of other hotels close by......next time we will choose a recognised hotel provider in Harrogate as standards vary less.

On departure I tried to speak to one of the owners to provide private feedback about the 'Garden Room' but complete disinterest was shown and I was told to use this forum instead.

Room Tip: Avoid the 'Garden Room' and the' Lodge'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank silka0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Nice food, nice atmosphere and good location! We really enjoyed the live jazz music even if it was a little load. Will most likely return again to try different options on the menu. Would be good with perhaps some cheaper specials, just a thought.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
603 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
1,700 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
#10 of 30 in Harrogate
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harrogate Brasserie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrogate Brasserie Hotel

Property: The Harrogate Brasserie Hotel
Address: 26-30 Cheltenham Parade, Harrogate HG1 1DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harrogate Brasserie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Harrogate Brasserie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harrogate Brasserie Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing