We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unexpected find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Harrogate Brasserie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Harrogate Brasserie Hotel
Ranked #16 of 104 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“unexpected find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I decided to eat at the Harrogate brasserie after checking all the other restaurants in the town. I am pleased to say we were not disappointed in our choice. We arrived at 7 and the manager kindly informed us that we could order from the "early bird menu" if we were quick which saved us some money ! Inside the bar area is very cosy and welcoming and there was a singer/piano player on which was very enjoyable. The food was delicious and reasonably priced

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank missboobles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    145
    46
    27
    13
See reviews for
54
270
9
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed one night in a top floor small apartment on a last minute deal.Location central and very good for most things.Staff pleasant and helpful.Didn't have dinner but breakfast was very good with good quality ingredients.Free off road parking to the rear.Would return.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

My wife and I , along with my mother have just spent a fantastic weekend at the Harrogate Brasserie Hotel.The location is ideal , more or less in the town centre. Close to bus and rail links. All of the staff we found were very helpful. On arrival I managed to park my car at the rear of the Hotel, there are spaces for around 10 vehicles, I would suggest arriving early or at around "check out time" as you will have a better chance of getting parked.
Both of our rooms were just like the Hotel very quirky and interesting "something different".
The rooms were very comfortable and spacious, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer etc etc.
I had booked a table for evening dinner in advance, this proved to be a wise choice as the restaurant was full. We found the reason why it is so popular - the food was very good, great presentation & excellent quality. The Hotel does merit its 4 star AA award.
The only fault that we had during our visit was that on the Saturday we returned from a shopping trip, to discover that the restaurant / bar area had been taken over by a wedding party.
The only means of accessing our rooms was by being ushered through the kitchen area or by using the rear entrance.
As we did not want to intrude on the wedding party we more or less stayed in our rooms until they vacated. It would have been better if the Hotel had a separate function area, guests could then still make use of the facilities.
This was an inconvenience and would have been an even bigger issue had we chosen to remain in the Hotel for example if the weather had been bad.
Breakfast was very good plenty of choice. All in all we really enjoyed our stay and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smudge62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
283 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We have just returned from 5 nights at this hotel. It is centrally located and just a few minutes walk from the theatres and other main attractions. It also has a limited amount of free parking at the rear, which was a boone in Harrogate. If you like modern minimalism then this hotel is not for you, as the look is a mixture of decorations from many periods and places. Our room (No 3) was dark and very warm. There is no air conditioning in the hotel (which is common in Harrogate where there are a great many listed buildings) and we were not offered a fan. However, the staff were extremely helpful, the breakfasts fine and the one evening meal which we ate here was the best we had in Harrogate.

Room Tip: Room 4 looked lighter and faced the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dopeyhopey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turre, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Just returned home from the most fantastic stay at this fabulous quirky hotel in a perfect central location. Had booked the one bedroom apt. but as the hotel was full the lovely owner upgraded us to a three bedroom town house apt. In the adjacent street. It was beautifully furnished and decorated and comfortably sleeps five. Had a lovely meal in the restaurant the night of arrival and food and service was excellent. Breakfasts were delicious and service impeccable and so friendly. Did not want to leave this morning but we will be back again Just before leaving the owner let us take a look in several of the rooms that had been vacated this morning...all so different, but charming. Cannot recommend this hotel more highly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff4Julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
496 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Converted private housing with fire doors and partitions slapped across stairways and landings makes a ‘boutique hotel’ but when the stairways and corridors are cluttered with furniture and heavily carpeted and curtained it represents a fire trap in my eyes, especially when the first fire door you encounter on leaving your room opens the wrong way. In the event of fire you will need to hope the Fire Brigade arrives quickly and gets a ladder to your window – the posted fire exit is the front door and there are no external fire escapes. An accident waiting to happen. Else the food is good, the public area décor ‘interesting’ if you like photographs picked up from sources all over the world (I certainly do appreciate good photography), comfy beds and a superb wet area/shower in the room we had.

Room Tip: The nearer the front door the better else you may fry alive
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OLDGIT71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Booked for one night based on Internet reviews and have to say we were very pleased. A very pleasant hotel with. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Not too expensive and the price included breakfast as well. The room was comfortable and situated directly above the restaurant but not noisy as expected. We did not sleep too well, but this was due to the heat and humidity. The weather being a mix of downpours and sun. The car park is little small but gave us no problems. It is centrally located and access to the shops etc is within easy walking. We visited the Harrogate Spa which is just round the corner (see separate review for this). We did not use the restaurant for the evening meal - no reflection on the restaurant, we had already booked elsewhere. The breakfast was very good, again with the staff being very helpful. We are already planning to stay again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshire_Chiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
#10 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.3 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harrogate Brasserie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrogate Brasserie Hotel

Property: The Harrogate Brasserie Hotel
Address: 26-30 Cheltenham Parade, Harrogate HG1 1DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harrogate Brasserie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Harrogate Brasserie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harrogate Brasserie Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing