We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shelbourne House
Nearby Hotels
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Harrogate(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
The West Park Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$294
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Crown Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel du Vin and Bistro(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rudding Park Hotel(Follifoot)
US$375
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairn Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kimberley Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$116
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$116
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveller rating
244
13
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
244
13
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bguest loungebarbershop conventionnothing is too much troublelocal producehome from homeplace to staylovely loungeslept really wellbreakfast was deliciousblack puddingtop floorgreat hostsminute walk into towna wonderful stayparking permitfresh fruit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 261 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I stayed with my wife just a for a night. The 'house' itself is lovely - very well decorated and each room has it's own character. Our room was at the top of the house and while it wasn't huge, it was comfy and had everything we needed. Sue is an excellent host - she said before we arrived that even if the room wasn't ready, she would provide an on-street parking pass so we didn't have to pay any parking charges. While there wasn't any off road parking, I found the fact Sue provided parking permits better as some of the other B&B's have limited parking so if you miss out you either have to pay or park a good distance away. Shelbourne is perfectly located just 5 mins from the centre of Harrogate and very easy to get to - from the A1 follow the main road into Harrogate and turn left onto the top of Kings Road. Shelbourne is towards the bottom almost opposite the conference centre.
Sue herself couldn't have been anymore welcoming, making sure we knew where everything was and even providing free drinks in the sitting room The breakfasts as has already been mentioned was fantastic.
Overall, 10/10 and I will not consider anywhere else on our next night in Harrogate.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueHarrogate, Owner at Shelbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Thank you very much for giving us this fabulous review. We appreciate your feedback. I always try and make people feel welcome and not just a number, which I feel smaller establishments can achieve. If you check out our Facebook page and press like you will receive the latest news and offers at Shelbourne House. You may also follow us on twitter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We spent 3 nights there whilst visiting the Harrogate Flower Show, Our host was welcoming and ready to ensure we had all that we needed. Parking was available. The house was 5 minutes from the centre of town and almost.opposite the Conference Centre. The room was comfortable. Breakfast was a feast. Options included fresh fruit and a variety of cooked breakfasts. These were freshly cooked to order. It was excellent value for money and I would certainly stay there again!

Room Tip: Back of the house was probably quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrestatynChanghua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueHarrogate, Owner at Shelbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to send us a review. We are glad that you found Shelbourne House ideally located for your break and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Please check out our face book page for up-to-date news, press like for information on offers we may have. Also you may follow us on twitter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Great place to stay. 2 minutes walk to the conference centre. Parking available. Very homely. Sue cooks a great breakfast. Well decorated and spotlessly clean. Would definitely recommend for business or pleasure

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janey1577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueHarrogate, Owner at Shelbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at Shelbourne House. Your review is appreciated. All our food is locally sourced and we pride ourselves with providing a good quality fresh breakfast.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Me and my friend actually won our stay at Shelbourme House through a charity event which the Shelbourne house support. It was a wonderful stay, excellant decor throughout the house and was made to feel more than welcome. It had a homely atmosphere and only a 5-10 min walk into the centre (even in heels). My favourite was the rug in the lounge-amazing!
Highly recommended and would love to stay again the next time im in Harrogate!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueHarrogate, Owner at Shelbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is very much appreciated. We get lots of comments on our decor and the rug does stand out, and gets lots of great remarks, it was actually Neil's choice, he has a great eye for quirky and unusual design. We love it when our guests actually comment and enjoy the house as much as us.

We hope that if you ever decide to visit Harrogate in the future you will stay at Shelbourne House again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stayed 9th-11th April. Had a lovely room. The owner made us feel so welcome and even got us fresh milk instead of little cartons for our tea. The breakfasts were huge, delicious and cooked as you wanted them. I cannot fault Shelbourne House at all. I would return and would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shervette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueHarrogate, Owner at Shelbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Thank you so much for leaving this wonderful review, it is very much appreciated We take pride in sourcing local ingredients for our freshly made breakfasts. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, maybe for a longer stay?

Sue x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews