We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Bed and Breakfast”
Review of Shelbourne House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelbourne House
Ranked #24 of 98 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Just back from another fabulous weekend at the shelbourne. This is my 3rd time staying here and I will return next year. Sue and Neil make you so welcome and provide a delicious breakfast. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the beds are so comfy. Nothing is too much trouble for them at all.

Room Tip: The Double room with the Bath is amazing x
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariemillar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueHarrogate, Manager at Shelbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Your return visits says it all, thank you for your kind review. We aim to keep everything at Shelbourne House interesting and contemporary, in keeping with the original Victorian features. Our love of meeting and talking to people hopefully shines through, making our guests feel happy and comfortable and want to come back to stay with us.

See you next year :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
There are newer reviews for Shelbourne House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

I brought my mum and my 12yr old daughter to Shelbourne House for my mums birthday weekend - we stayed in the family room and a single room... my daughter didn't want to leave the house and was wondering if Sue and Neil would adopt her (haha). Both rooms were absolutely gorgeous, as was the house. the finishing touches have had lots of thought put into them, i'm sure Laurence Llewelyn-Bowen would be suitably impressed. The whole standard at this B&B is way above the standards of all others I've seen, furnished with expensive taste, cleaned to the highest standards and breakfast cooked to perfection. You will not find a nicer place to stay. Sue and Neil are fantastic and know so much about Harrogate and i feel as though I've gained some good friends in them, and certainly will return at some point. If you are looking for a nice place to stay, you just have to experience Shelbourne House. Now go ahead and book in, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulesOro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueHarrogate, Manager at Shelbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Hi, thanks for the review :-) love the comment in the guest book!. It was lovely to have three generations in one family all enjoy the house and Harrogate so much.

We hope that you come back very soon and enjoy your stay just as much, if not more.

Check out our face book page for updated news and offers please follow us in twitter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Booked a one night mid week stay at Shelbourne House for our first visit to Harrogate.
We were warmly met by Sue on our arrival and shown to our room - no:3 with the slipper bath.
Room was lovely, bright and immaculately clean. It was apparent a lot of thought had gone into the design and soft furnishings, not only in the rooms but throughout the whole building.
Sue armed us with a local map and we spent the day exploring the beautiful town and was also able to offer suggestions on restaurants and places of interest.
We slept like babies - a combination of a very comfortable bed and lashings of fresh Yorkshire air.
Breakfast was a feast, fresh fruit, cereal, museli - followed by a full Yorkshire (other alternatives were available) and finished off by toast and local preserves.
We didn't eat again that day until 7pm!!
Sue recommended a train trip to Knaresborough - £2 per person return and just nine minutes away. Again a good recommendation from a landlady who is obviously passionate about Harrogate.

Room Tip: Room number 3 for a beautiful en suite with slipper bath
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LincolnshireFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueHarrogate, Manager at Shelbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review. Harrogate is our adopted town and we would not live anywhere else. it has everything you could possibly want, great restaurants, quality cafes, couture shops, and the gateway to the beautiful Yorkshire Dales....bliss.

We hope that you will visit us and Harrogate again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed for 3 nights on the 19th April and found both Neil and Sue fantastic, warm and very friendly. The house is gorgeous, our room was furnished very expensively in French reproduction, the en suite was luxurious and there are lots of nice little touches like good quality tea and biscuits.
The location is unbeatable,only a very short walk to town with its great restaurants and bars and parking was unexpectedly easy with a permit provided on your arrival.
Breakfast was first rate and all in all, we could not fault a single thing about our stay. We would definitely go back,as this B&B is 100%. We are just sorry that it has taken so long to write our review. Richard and Laura Stebbing (Kent) PS Sue and Neil your too cheap, your worth more!!

Room Tip: The Laurence LLewelin- Bowen room as Neil calls it!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichandLaurastebbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueHarrogate, Manager at Shelbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Your review blew us away, thank you very much. Neil enjoys putting his artistic touch in Shelbourne House and when our guests enjoy it and better still comment on it, all the hard work is more than worth it. Having a room to remember and a good hearty breakfast is very important to us, our main aim is quality and taking the time to source everything from the decor to the food hopefully shows.

Please check out our face book page for up to date news and offers, also follow us on twitter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed at this beautiful bed and breakfast last weekend for our 20th wedding anniversary and had the most fantastic time. As other reviewers have commented, you arrive as strangers and really do leave as friends. Neil looked after us so well and everything was very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were amazing, using the best quality ingredients which are all locally sourced. We loved the delicious home made jams. Neil could not have been more helpful in recommending local places to eat and we loved the location as it was a five minute walk into town. Thank you again for your kind hospitality. We will be back and recommend you to anyone looking to visit Harrogate, one of my favourite places to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlasgowTravelbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueHarrogate, Manager at Shelbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for the fantastic review. We are very proud of how Shelbourne House has evolved over the years. We are interested in style and design and try and keep up with what we feel our guests will want and enjoy, making their stay in Harrogate a memory that has them coming back again and again.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Everything is perfect so friendly and very helpfull Neil and Sue know how to treat guests.Our daughter stayed with us after flying into leeds bradford airport and she said this is a very good choice.If anyone one comes to harrogate make sure you stay here you wont regret it.The breakfasts are all cooked with top quality local produce and are fantastic.Thanks again to Neil and Sue we hpoe to come back later in the year.

Room Tip: Room 4 is the best room in the hotel. Very well Designed.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluejayaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueHarrogate, Manager at Shelbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. Neil was a design engineer for 25 years so even our most compact rooms are well designed and have everything we feel you will need to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Harrogate is slap bang in the middle of the UK so a good place to meet family and friends.

Please check us out on face book for great deals and follow us on twitter.

We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Me and my hubby visited here fri 14th June for 2 nights for my birthday , and honestly it was superb. Comfy and clean bedrooms and beds, friendly hosts that really made you feel at home . Lovely breakfast , will definitely return if we come back to harrogate.

Thanks Neil and sue for your friendly stay.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jubby1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueHarrogate, Manager at Shelbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Shelbourne House and Harrogate is the place to come for a special occasion. Let us know and we are more than happy to put a treat in your room. Five minutes walk and you are in the beautiful town of Harrogate, full of fantastic restaurants, coffee houses and bars. Fifteen minutes drive and enjoy the Yorkshire Dales.

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.0 mi away
Alamah Guest House
Alamah Guest House
#5 of 98 in Harrogate
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arc Hotel
The Arc Hotel
#8 of 98 in Harrogate
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#2 of 98 in Harrogate
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Harrogate Brasserie Hotel
0.1 mi away
Geminian
Geminian
#19 of 98 in Harrogate
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Welford Bed & Breakfast
The Welford Bed & Breakfast
#14 of 98 in Harrogate
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelbourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelbourne House

Address: 78 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range: £64 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelbourne House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shelbourne House AA four star,More than just a family run bed and breakfast. The house is ahigh standard boutique style accommodation. Located adjacent to the International Conference Centre and Exhibition Halls. Two minutes walk from the door is the historic spa town, and its selection of elegant boutiques, fine restuarants, contemporary cafes and period tea rooms. All of this is complemented by the unique homely and relaxed style of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Shelbourne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne House Hotel Harrogate
Shelbourne House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing