We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent 5*****”
Review of Shelbourne House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelbourne House
Ranked #25 of 99 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent 5*****”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Sue was the nicest person I have ever met, the room was lovely, spotless and bright, a lovely couple and a lovely B&B, only a 5 min walk from town centre and opposite the conference centre, parking in the street round the corner but not a problem. Would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twdsaltburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueHarrogate, Owner at Shelbourne House, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are so glad we could accommodate you at the last minute, rare for the weekend!, hopefully next time you will be able to stay longer. Check out our face book page and "like" us to receive our New Year deal and offers we have throughout the year. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
113
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I had to find a room in a hurry in Harrogate and this lovely place was recommended as it was only a 10 minute walk from where I needed to be. There are not enough superlatives in the English language to describe this lovely little B&B. From the comfort, decor, wonderful Yorkshire breakfast to the very special hospitality of the hosts. I really felt like I was a very special guest staying in their home. I will definitely stay there again and will recommend it to anyone who is going to Harrogate for a short break. Sue and Neil, just keep on doing what you are doing. It's perfect and there is no improvement on perfection!!

Room Tip: I had the single (it had a 3/4 double bed and would have accommodated 2 of us). Lovely little ensuit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueHarrogate, Owner at Shelbourne House, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
We are very pleased you choose to stay at Shelbourne House. Many of our guests are lone travellers, especially as it is a conference town. We aim to ensure everyone who stays with us, feel safe and comfortable, and are treated as a individual not just a number.

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and we hope to see you again.

Check out our face book page, "like" us to receive our news and special offers. Follow us on twitter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

I booked in shelbourne house for my second visit to Harrogate for my birthday weekend with my partner.
The welcome as always was exceptional!! We asked where was good to eat and Neil spent time to draw us a map and recommend local bars and pubs aswell as restaurants or where's good just to get a bite or snack. The breakfasts were beautiful and when my iPhone charger broke the owners leant me theirs for the night till I could get a new one!
We absolutely loved the stay the beds are so unbelievably comfy and the house is kept to perfection! Cannot recommend highly enough!
Will definitely be back in the future!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueHarrogate, Manager at Shelbourne House, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for coming back to stay with us, and that you enjoyed your stay, and Harrogate just as much as the last time. A comfy bed and a great breakfast are two of our main priorities, we want our guests to go away wanting to come back as soon as possible. Because we are so close to the town, when you arrive and park up, with free 24 hr parking passes, you may leave the car ,and five minutes walk, you are in the heart of the town with its extensive choice of restaurants, bars. cafes and shops. Fifteen minutes drive and enjoy the beautiful Yorkshire Dales.

Check out our face book page, press 'like' to receive our up-to-date news and special deals, please follow us on twitter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Looking for agood B&B?,No a great B&B?,then look no further.Shelbourne has it all.Highly recomendable for comfort and food Sue And Neil do a great job.As a famous American General once said " I shall return."
Margaret & Derek

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derekbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueHarrogate, Manager at Shelbourne House, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We hope it shows that we love meeting people, our aim is to make staying at Shelbourne House a memorable, comfortable experience. It is important our breakfasts are from the finest ingredients, that is locally sourced and specially chosen by us.

We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Arriving in Harrogate after a long drive to find our original hotel overbooked it was Shelbourne House to the rescue. Taking in two near heartbroken travellers, hoping to celebrate a special birthday, bank holiday Saturday evening. We cant thank you enough! The room, though the last available, was gorgeous, the welcome second to none and the sensitivity to our predicament most gracious. The hotel as a whole was exquisite and the lounge as welcoming as the hosts with the most unexpected complementary aperitif . The stay was too short and we will definitely be seeing you again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueHarrogate, Manager at Shelbourne House, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Aw.. what a lovely review, we were only too pleased that we could help. Shelbourne House is a Victorian House, so all the rooms are different sizes, adding to the charm. Great thought and care have been given to the renovation and decoration of the rooms, so that no matter what, our guests are happy and most importantly comfortable.

We hope that you will choose to stay at Shelbourne if you ever visit Harrogate in the future.

Please check out our face book page for up-to-date news and deals. Follow us on tweeter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Came to Shelbourne house a group of 9 of us for a hen doo in June 2013.
The house is located really central to the centre with plenty of restaurants and the turkish baths within walking distance.

The house is decorated very up to date and clean to a high standard, I stayed in a single room on the top floor and found my bed comfy and my room felt luxurious despite being the smallest, my bathroom was great, in comparison to other B&B's I've experienced it was huge!

As a group we had a great time & it was great to be able to make use of the lounge where there was room for us all to sit & enjoy a drink before we headed out for the evening, our hosts were even kind enough to chill our drinks and take a group photo before we left.

Breakfast was fantastic, the menu with some twists on the classic full english was nice and made a change for a B&B where often there is no choice, we even had fresh croissants :) I would absolutley return to Shelbourne House again with a partner or family too x

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amie_lou7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueHarrogate, Manager at Shelbourne House, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Room 4 and Room 8 are our single rooms. With the experience of Neil's 25years in design (where he had to extensively travel and stay in many different establishments), he has renovated them to a high standard so that they have everything and more that is needed in a guest room, making them feel much larger. Our aim is to give personal service to our guests so that they are not just a number.

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Just back from another fabulous weekend at the shelbourne. This is my 3rd time staying here and I will return next year. Sue and Neil make you so welcome and provide a delicious breakfast. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the beds are so comfy. Nothing is too much trouble for them at all.

Room Tip: The Double room with the Bath is amazing x
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariemillar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueHarrogate, Manager at Shelbourne House, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Your return visits says it all, thank you for your kind review. We aim to keep everything at Shelbourne House interesting and contemporary, in keeping with the original Victorian features. Our love of meeting and talking to people hopefully shines through, making our guests feel happy and comfortable and want to come back to stay with us.

See you next year :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Scotia House
Scotia House
#28 of 99 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#13 of 99 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grafton
The Grafton
#5 of 99 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alamah Guest House
Alamah Guest House
#4 of 99 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Welford Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#6 of 99 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelbourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelbourne House

Property: Shelbourne House
Address: 78 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelbourne House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shelbourne House AA four star,More than just a family run bed and breakfast. The house is ahigh standard boutique style accommodation. Located adjacent to the International Conference Centre and Exhibition Halls. Two minutes walk from the door is the historic spa town, and its selection of elegant boutiques, fine restuarants, contemporary cafes and period tea rooms. All of this is complemented by the unique homely and relaxed style of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shelbourne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne House Hotel Harrogate
Shelbourne House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing