We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Anniversary treat”
Review of van Zeller - CLOSED

van Zeller
Price range: US$33 - US$33
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Van Zeller restaurant in Harrogate has a chef of rare gifts in native Yorkshireman Tom Van Zeller. Creating delicious and innovative British cuisine is the mission here, and one that has succeeded admirably. The smart dining room is both stylish and comfortable, a fine, intimate bistro-style setting for the kitchen's high ambitions. Chef Van Zeller started his career locally at the famous Betty's Tearooms and Rudding Park before learning his craft in some Michelin-starred restaurants in London, Sydney and New York. Now returning to his roots, Van Zeller won the backing of esteemed restaurateur David Moore (two Michelin starred Pied a Terre and Michelin starred l'Autre Pied) in creating Van Zeller restaurant. Almost immediately, his creative cuisine has earned Van Zeller Best Newcomer at the 2010 Northern Hospitality Awards, Best Chef at the 2010 Harrogate Hospitality & Tourism Awards and a pair of AA rosettes. Van Zeller is one of Harrogate's destination restaurants.
Harrogate, North Yorks
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wedding Anniversary treat”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My husband & I have eaten at Van Zeller's a few times now and it has always been an enjoyable experience with consistently good food & service.
On our last visit we tried the beef & snails and my husband has never tried snails before & he was pleasantly surprised by how much he liked them and this can be attributed to how well they were prepared & cooked. The amuse-bouche's are always a treat & the desserts are delicious.
We will definitely be visiting again soon.

Helpful?
2 Thank Travelfanatic07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    64
    36
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing journey of flavours! ”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and myself loved this place! If you like to try new and interesting flavours this is the place. I would recommend the wine flight.

Helpful?
1 Thank BellaLondon83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We booked to have the early evening two courses and a glass of wine for £30 a head.
I'm always suspicious of restaurants that don't provide condiments as it can be a sign of pretentiousness, but I need not have been concerned in this case. All the food we had was well seasoned.

Two "amuse bouche", an excellent choice of breads and two beautifully presented courses later, we left feeling that we had enjoyed a very special dinner indeed. The portions are a of a modest size and the service was good.

I wish we had a restaurant of this standard in Lincoln!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CandSLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great addition to Yorkshire restaurant scene”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We went for lunch, and had the special deal lunch menu. The dishes were all interesting and very tasty, with plenty of fresh seasonal ingredients. The cooking was certainly Michelin star standard, and service was attentive and subtle. We didn't have the suggested wine pairings - we weren't convinced they looked quite right to cover all the dishes - but the wine list gives plenty of options across a range to suit all requirements. Very lovely setting - our window view was great - but little atmosphere when we arrived at 12.00. It got a lot better as the place filled up a bit after 1.00 to 1.30.
We left feeling that we would like to come back and try the dinner menu, which is a little more extensive. Agree with others that I prefer to add the tip myself, but perhaps the economics of running a Yorkshire restaurant make their practice essential for survival.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikePatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wrexham
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“TdF Weekend Treat”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

great and interesting food, obviously expensive but didn't feel like being ripped off, as service was very good, not too aloof, conversational etc. Particularly enjoyed the sousvide meat course, and in fact every other course. Had done the Stage 1 of TdF that day (96 miles in the rain with my 13 yr old), and to be honest the thought of tiny plates of food as we entered didn't seem that good an idea, but we more than made up for that with copious and delicious bread - 3 types. Good deserts and great wine list. go for the flight of wine, and try some great combinations

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nobsterwrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed van Zeller also viewed

 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing