We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable stay”
Review of Baytree House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baytree House
Ranked #10 of 83 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at the Baytree House and thoroughly enjoyed it. We found Amanda and Simon very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.

The breakfasts are simply superb which sets you up for the day (we did not require lunch!) and the homemade bread and yogurt were delicious.

Our room (9) was spotless and immaculately presented, everything was all very comfortable, it is clear a lot of hard work goes in to maintaining these high standards.

The Baytree is very conveniently located and is barely a 10 min walk into the town centre, it is also very handily placed for those arriving by train.

We did not use our car at all during our stay as all the amenities are close to hand. Taking the train into places such as York are cheaper than taking the car.

Overall it was a fantastic stay and would love to return again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulW_Bmth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

This is a spectacular b& b. we were looked after beautifully and nothing was too much trouble. Simon cooked a delicious break key every morning, and Amanda a gracious hostess. There is no fault to this b& b. I would highly recommend.

Stayed: May 2013
2  Thank sue r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed for a week in early May 2013. Simon and Amanda were very friendly and helpful hosts. The luxury room we stayed in was spacious with a large bed and spotlessly clean. Breakfast is very good. The Baytree is located in a nice area of Harrogate and very quiet. It is only a five minute walk into town where there are numerous restaurants. Harrogate has a good shopping centre but is also only 20 miles from York where there is lots to see and do.An ideal position for exploring the Dales and the East coast is reachable in just over an hour. A very enjoyable stay and we would certainly re-visit.

Room Tip: The luxury room we had no 9 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed for three nights and enjoyed the whole experience immensely. Simon and Amanda are superb hosts - welcoming, friendly, professional, unobtrusively attentive - and are justifiably clearly very proud of their establishment. Simon's chef abilities are outstanding and the breakfast deserves the string of Breakfast Awards they have won (try the Eggs Benedict with crispy bacon!). Amanda's service leaves nothing to chance. The room was large, comfortable and beautifully furnished and the en-suite had everything we needed including an excellent power shower. As we run our own small B&B business we understand what it takes to do this well and we were blown away by Simon and Amanda (and we picked up some great tips that we will be using and which they generously shared). The dining room and guest lounge were both large, airy rooms, superbly decorated and furnished. We found it an easy walk into the town centre so avoiding the need to pay high parking charges in town. We can heartily recommend Baytree to tourists and business travelers alike.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil_Donoghue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My husband and i stayed at Baytree House for 3 nights last month and had a lovely time.We were in room 8 a large double with a four poster bed.The room was beautifully furnished and spotless,the ensuite was lovely with a large shower.The rest of the b&b was decorated and furnished to a very high standard.The breakfast was cooked beautifully by Simon who obviously works hard to provide high class food,the bread and yogurt was also homemade and so tasty.We were given a warm greeting from Amanda she also provided us with a map of Harrogate so we didn't get lost.
Harrogate is a lovely town though hilly i would also recomend a trip to Skipton Castle and Whitby.We didn't eat in town but found a great pub called The Travellers Rest just outside Harrogate which serve all home cooked meals at very reasonable prices.All in all our few days away from sunny Reading!!!!! were well worth it.We hope to go back to Baytree House later in the year.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lyndylou63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

My wife and I had a one night stay in Baytree House and I can only say that we could not have been more pleased with every aspect of our stay. We received a warm welcome from Amanda, including a useful map of all the sights of Harrogate.
Our room was fabulous, and was not what you would expect from a normal B&B! The four poster bed and accompanying furniture were all first class, with a great ensuite - would thoroughly recommend room 8. We walked into town (about a 10 minute stroll) so the location is ideal too.
Having read a previous review that said it was a little tired and dusty, I have to say the accommodation was immaculate and very clean and tidy.
Breakfast too was first class; well-served, plentiful and tasty. Overall my wife and I would recommend this accommodation very highly and look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Room 8 is great! Top floor, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marksuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I have stayed here with friends a number of times and it is always excellent. The rooms and bed are comfortable and the breakfasts are very well cooked and presented, with lots of choice. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HuddsRoadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.5 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 28 in Harrogate
1,779 reviews
0.8 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 28 in Harrogate
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Grafton
The Grafton
#9 of 83 in Harrogate
569 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bijou
The Bijou
#4 of 83 in Harrogate
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#2 of 83 in Harrogate
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baytree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baytree House

Address: 98 Franklin Road, Harrogate HG1 5EN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range: £82 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baytree House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baytree House can be found on a quiet tree-lined avenue amidst the classic Victorian and Edwardian architecture that makes up the spa town Harrogate. All our rooms are en-suite with luxury finishes to enhance your stay. Enjoy an AWARD WINNING breakfast complimentary when booked direct from our website. We are just 5 minutes walk to the Harrogate International Center (HIC) and a 10 minute stroll into the centre of Harrogate. FREE parking and WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Baytree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baytree House Hotel Harrogate
Baytree House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing