We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will return - but not to room 1” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingsway Hotel Harrogate

Kingsway Hotel Harrogate
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrogate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kingsway Hotel Harrogate
Ranked #85 of 104 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Stoke on Trent, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“We will return - but not to room 1”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We've just had 2 nights in the Kingsway hotel. The hotel is fine - very clean with a good breakfast.
There are only 2 parking places at the front, but more available round the back at the weekend, when the offices next door are closed.
The location is great - just a short walk up a hill to town, across the road from the convention centre and less than 2 minutes to the nearest pub.
I only gave it 3 out of 5 because of the bed. We knew the room was small before we booked, but we weren't expecting the bed to be as small as it was. It's not a full size double, so a larger than average couple will struggle to sleep comfortably.
Luckily for us, we're not larger than average so we just about managed.
We would be very happy to return to the Kingsway, but not to room 1

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    17
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
1
14
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Cheap & cheerful. Stayed for one night & arrived well before check in time & proprietor was very helpful, allowing us to check into the room. Small room but very clean & comfortable bed. Breakfast was plenty of cereal, juice, tea/coffee, toast & cooked breakfast. It is in a really good central location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed for one night. Proprietor was very friendly and helpful. Room was on the top floor, small yet practical and just what we needed for our stay. The room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was lovely and we were very happy overall, apart from the road noise. Great location. Good value for money. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

It's B and B is one of the cheapest in Harrogate so anybody expecting a five star palatial room is barking up the wrong tree. That said, we found our room to be small yes but perfectly comfortable and spotlessly clean. We had an small bathroom with a good shower, we were even provided with shower toiletries which was an unexpected surprise. The room was cleaned and the bed made up each day. A full English breakfast was included in the price and it was a very good breakfast with unlimited toast, cereal, tea, coffee and orange juice. The landlady and her assistant were very pleasant and helpful and offered us plenty of local knowledge. The hotel is very well located, five minutes from the centre of town. Definitely worth a stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cherrilybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We have just returned from a one night stay at this b&b it is nota hotel.room was very basic and the tv was rubbish had to tune it in ourselfs, you could not stay in the room for any length of time it was tiny and very dark . Saying that it was cheap so what can you expect ? It is central to shops ect.and is clean . On arrival we found the lady rude handed us our keys told her us breakfast was at between7and 9 but to be down by 8.30as she will be very busy then slammed the door and went back to her room! No hello welcome very rude ,! I was all set to tell her what I thought of her customer service this morning but she was a little less rude this morning the breakfast is poor more like a child's breakfast would not stay here again

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taniscaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Walt Disney World, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

We had an event in Harrogate and needed a room, last minute. We found this hotel to be, by far, the cheapest, and took it.
We were pleased to know we were 5 min away from everything. We did not have breakfast there and (sorry to say this) it did smell a little dated (as in old furniture or something, hard to describe) but it was clean (the carpet on the entrance did need a bit of assistance though)
The lady that runs it is very friendly with a cute dog. Our room was clean and quiet. check out time at 10 am which was a bit harsh considering we got to bed really late the previous night.... would have preferred to have it at midday like most places do. However, given the location, the price and what we got for our money I was pleased. This is a no frills place, it offers a nice comfy bed and if you like breakfast, if you fancy spa or a fancy looking environment then don't go as you'd be disappointed. I got what I needed and would go back if I went to Harrogate again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LIFEJOURNEYWORLDWIDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We arrived before lunch and after a chat with the lady of the "House" we parked our cars outside of the hotel and set off to explore the city, before returning to settle in our rooms prier going to the show in the evening.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alanbowles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Arc Hotel
The Arc Hotel
#7 of 104 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prospect Crescent
Prospect Crescent
#23 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Conference View Guest House
Conference View Guest House
#70 of 104 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Geminian
Geminian
#19 of 104 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Camberley
The Camberley
#9 of 104 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsway Hotel Harrogate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsway Hotel Harrogate

Property: Kingsway Hotel Harrogate
Address: 36 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Kingsway Hotel Harrogate Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing