We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Choice”
Review of Alamah Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alamah Guest House
Ranked #5 of 98 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We chose the Alamah Guest House after reading the reviews previous guests had written and now that we have stayed there we can totally agree with all of them. It is a beautiful house in a great location, just a short walk into town. Parking is also provided. We were given a very warm welcome from Judy on our arrival and shown to our comfortable and spotlessly clean rooms. She and Sue, who served our delicious breakfasts, were knowledgable and very accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble and we couldn't recommend this guest house highly enough. We are a family of four and stayed in a double and a twin room, both of which had en-suite bathrooms. Even the sun shone on our lovely February weekend here!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamah, Owner at Alamah Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Thank you for bringing the sunshine to Harrogate for your stay! It was lovely to meet you and your family and we're glad you enjoyed your upgraded rooms (and you got to watch the football!) Thank you for finding the time to write such a lovely review of our Guest House and hopefully you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
There are newer reviews for Alamah Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2013

Perfectly positioned for exploring Yorkshire we had a really great week-end at the Alamah.
We found our modern bedroom and bathroom exceptionally clean, fresh and inviting. Such a comfortable bed and lovely furnishings.
The breakfast was excellent and I can confirm that Judy cooks brilliant scrambled, fried and poached eggs as I tried a different type each day. Nothing was too much trouble and Sue and Judy make the perfect hostesses, always making us smile.
If you ask very nicely Sue will perform a brilliant Mrs Overall in a Yorkshire accent!
Looking forward very much to our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabrielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We have just returned from a 2 day stay at the alamah Guest House in Harrogate. On arrival we had a very warm welcome from Judy and Sue. The room we stayed in was spotless, the decor very tastefull, and the bed was extra comfortable we just sank into the pillows. The shower in the en suite was great. The food at breakfast was excellent my husband actually said it was the tastiest he had eaten. Location perfect,parking a plus and great value for money. We would definitely recommend this Guest House to anyone coming to stay in Harrogate.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed here for a weekend whilst visiting family. Very well priced and the location was great for the popping in to the town. Room was very clean with everything we needed. Double bed is comfortable. The shower in a very clean en-suite is brilliant, I'm not even a shower person but I wanted to take it home! Sue and Judy were very nice and accommodating. Cooking was spot on!

Overall I'd recommend this to anybody wanting a value for money guest house within walking distance of the town centre. Also with parking which was essential looking at all of the parking signs around.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I stayed at the Alamah for 2 days in December while at a conference in Harrogate. The Guest House is very comfortable and Judy and Sue are excellent hosts. I felt very at home, the place is spotless and the breakfast was good value, tasty and cooked to order. I would definitely recomment Alamah to anyone comning to Harrogate whether on business (convenient for the conference centre - 2 mins walk) or leisure (just about 5 mins walk into town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Gillian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We spent 2 nights in Alamah Guest House. We have stayed here before. Always a warm welcome from Judy and Sue. Location is perfect, near to all amenities. Breakfast is perfect, plenty to choose from. Very reasonable rates, easy online booking. Rooms are very comfortable and clean, we have had room number two. Bathroom was just renewed. We highly recommend Alamah Guest House for a nice and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Room 2 is a cosy and quiet room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haan38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Just spent 2 nights at the Alamah and found it very comfortable and Judy and Sue made us feel really at home. The Guest House is a large Victorian villa which is tastefully decorated and the bedroom we were in, No.2, was clean and nicely furnished. The breakfast was delicious and served cheerfully by Sue. Only a few minutes away from the HIC and a short walk to the centre of Harrogate shops - we will be back.

Room Tip: Room 2 was nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#8 of 30 in Harrogate
188 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,863 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
1,433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#2 of 98 in Harrogate
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamah Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamah Guest House

Address: 88 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range: £70 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alamah Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive to maintain high standards and have many 'repeat bookers.' The Alamah is ideally located for conferences and exhibitions at Harrogate International Centre, the town centre and as a base to explore the beautiful North Yorkshire countryside.We are proud to hold a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Award for 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alamah Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamah Guest House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing