We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff attitude appalling”
Review of The Cavendish

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cavendish
Ranked #51 of 99 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Staff attitude appalling”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The location is lovely, not far from centre but quite. The hotel itself is clean and tidy. The breakfast is ordered individually so unless there is no one else in the breakfast room when you order you have a very long wait, as already stated there is not a great option for vegetarians. The rooms were small and very hot (yes it was August and hot outside) one small window that opened. The staff's appalling attitude telling other guests from our group that the payment for booking wasn't enough and there had been a mistake on our group leaders part is out of order, it had already been discussed with the group leader so why did we all need to know!! AND shouting at guests about payment and making guests cry is not acceptable. We will never visit again and we will be passing this experience onto our senior people to ensure that none of our 1000 co workers are treated like this by this hotel next year when we are all in Harrogate again for our national conference.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hwhorlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    45
    7
    8
    2
See reviews for
24
56
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Greagt location very convenient easy to walk into centre. The room was large at the front and the staff friendly and welcoming. Excellent breakfast freshly made from local produce.The room was slightly noisy on Saturday night with people walking up the street.

Room Tip: Front room good size but slightly noisy on Saturday night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGSFormby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Very clean and tidy but rooms are small and no wifi :/
Breakfast although fresh is VERY SLOW - often taking over an hour to obtain and catering for a vegetarian is a no no it seems... SLOPPY scrambled eggs and 4 slices of mushroom apparently = breakfast?
Quite a few friends went together and booked lots of rooms but NO reductions offered, in fact we were charge more than expected. When this was taken up, the staff became very hostile.
As previous customers and again with the attitude of the owners this time to our group leader, we have decided not to use them again. Buyer beware!

Room Tip: Windows don't open sufficiently for air circulation but the back of the "hotel" opens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foreverhopefuljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

It's a simple as this for £50 quid you get a lovely clean room, the best breakfast with perfect poached eggs black pudding all locally sourced and the 2 most helpful,friendly owners! It's a bargain ! I look forward to staying everything time I go to Harrogate.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ourkidkurt407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The guest house is in a great location for the centre of Harrogate and the rooms were well appointed and very clean and tidy. The staff were pleasant and friendly and helpful. The room was a litle hot when we arrived and it was not possible to open the windows any further which was a disadvantage in the hot weather that we have been having. It was however, clean and comfrotable and well appointed. The room was not large but perfectly adequate for a short stay. The bed was comfortable but a little too hard for me but many people would find that is what they needed/liked. The breakfast was well cooked and very tasty with lots of choice and fresh coffee from Taylor's of Harrogate.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HistoryKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Whilst this guest house is in a good location and the owner's sister tried to be helpful - the room was far too small fo a double and very little ventilaion which made it very claustraphobic; especially as the day we were staying was very hot.
I am sure that other rooms were much larger as presented on the website. Room 15 however is not shown in the photos and had we have been aware that this was going to be our room we would have asked for a larger room or booked elsewhere.
As it happened all the other rooms were booked and as the room was so hot and claustraphobic we eventually found ourselves another hotel for a similar price with larger rooms and better ventilation.
Whilst the owner wavered the cancellation fee we did lose our deposit of £20 which resulted in our stay being more expensive.
My feelings are, is that the owner should explain to guests at the time of booking that the room is very small so that they will not be disappointed as we were on checking in.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south shields
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Very small room was disappointed expected more or reduced rate for smaller rooms, but very clean and lovely breakfast and nice staff.Very nice area and it was first visit to Harrogate and had a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaz28_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Royal Parade
Royal Parade
#12 of 32 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dales Guest House
The Dales Guest House
#41 of 99 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harrogate Luxury Studios
Harrogate Luxury Studios
#8 of 32 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prospect Crescent
Prospect Crescent
#23 of 32 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Arc Hotel
The Arc Hotel
#7 of 99 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish

Property: The Cavendish
Address: 3 Valley Drive, Harrogate HG2 0JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cavendish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing