We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb B&B close to town centre”
Review of The Cavendish

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrogate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cavendish
Ranked #51 of 99 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb B&B close to town centre”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is an excellent B&B but with the style of a small hotel. Welcome and service were excellent. Room was pleasant and the bed very comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities with a few biscuits for good measure and the bathroom,though small, had a good supply of towels and toiletries.
Breakfast was excellent with a range of help yourself cereals etc to start and an excellent choice of hot cooked breakfasts to follow.
Situated just a few minutes walk from the town centre so no need for taxis.
Well recommended

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NormW45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    45
    7
    8
    2
See reviews for
24
56
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Good location, two minute walk into town, lovely clean room, although a little warm. Although it was the beginning of March and the sun shone all weekend. The weather a little better than expected. All windows opened and had a fantastic view into valley park.
Breakfast was good, cereals, juice toast, and cooked breakfast.
Will definitely be back

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend break in harrogate.What a lovely little place, clean and comfortable. Friendly helpful staff. Comfiest bed ever! Really enjoyed our stay. Great spot and perfectly located for shops, food and sightseeing. Would recommend this lovely hotel to anyone looking for a convenient location and well appointed, well looked after room.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kitty123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Very we'll placed, everywhere is a short walk. Rooms are basic but nicely appointed with good bed linen which makes a stay complete. Breakfast will see you through the day and we would deffo stay again when we visit lovely Harrogate

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank will b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We (3 colleagues) arrived after a long trip from Wilrtshire to be greated by the owner. She was very friendly and told us where the rooms were. The room (number 2) was lovely, and literally the cleanest room I have ever stayed in. We went out for dinner as they don't serve food at the guest house. Breakfast was lovely, has a buffet breaksfast as well as freshly cooked English breakfast. The owner helped us with directions to where to eat and where to get petrol. I would highly recommed this as a place to stay, and I can't wait to go back

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennickwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Commuting to Leeds is fast, comfortable, easy, therefore, Harrogate is interesting as a place to stay in a more relaxed place. The Cavendish is at less than 10 minutes walk from the bus and railway station, it is facing the lovely Valley Gardens and the whole city center breathes old European spa athmosphere. There are many nice restaurants in the area, cultural life, even silent forest tracks, all within walking distance. The Cavendish is comfortable, efficient, very friendly. Need more? Not me.

Room Tip: Room 19 did not face the Gardens, nor the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChR47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Good central location, next to a very nice park. Both rooms we had were clean and comfortable.
Very pleasant owner who went out of her way to make our stay perfect. After booking in and a wander around the park, we changed and ate in Luigi's situated almost next door (see review).
The nights sleep was great and we rose to a breakfast of a high standard, sadly they were fully booked and we only stayed for one night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onemorebreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Royal Parade
Royal Parade
#12 of 32 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dales Guest House
The Dales Guest House
#41 of 99 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harrogate Luxury Studios
Harrogate Luxury Studios
#8 of 32 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prospect Crescent
Prospect Crescent
#23 of 32 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Arc Hotel
The Arc Hotel
#7 of 99 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish

Property: The Cavendish
Address: 3 Valley Drive, Harrogate HG2 0JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
The Cavendish Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing