We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cavendish

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrogate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cavendish
Ranked #49 of 104 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Just spent one night at The Cavendish. Perfect location for Harrogate. Lovely welcome and very nice room. Breakfast really good.
We ate at the Italian restaurant next door, Luigis, which was very nice. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleD281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    45
    7
    8
    2
See reviews for
24
56
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed one night. The accommodation is clean and comfortable. Easy walking distance into the centre of Harrogate but in a quite area with splendid gardens opposite. Choice of English or continental style breakfast. The quality of the ingredients was good and it was nicely presented by friendly staff. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tappers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I would agree with everything said before, however our room was very small. This was our second visit and although we paid the same rate, the room last year was so much more spacious. Our room was immaculate and the bedding is beautiful; but a wash hand basin in the room? The shower room/toilet was tiny too. The staff are fabulous and the breakfast is real quality food expertly prepared and presented. We even had an chocolate easter egg on Easter Sunday. Nice touch

Room Tip: check what room you are getting - No. 8 is tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lulu49Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koblenz, Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

The Cavendish is a lovely little b&b NOT a hotel. The room was spotlessly clean and the staff very attentive. Breakfast was delicious, I'm not usually a bacon and sausage eater but the locally sourced produce on offer was really delicious.

Back to the room. Small but adequate with fresh towels of a superb quality. I cannot fault this place although I must add, if you have problems with stairs perhaps this isn't the place for you. Harrogate Conference Centre is a 10 minute walk away and the gardens opposite are lovely.

Room Tip: Room 7 is really small! Ask to be changed, the staff are very accommodating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 573Ger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Just arrived home after a 2 night stay in this lovely B & B.
Welcomed on arrival and given a parking permit allowing us to park for free, which is a bonus in such a busy place.
The Cavendish was well located opposite the lovely Valley Park and a stones throw from the Shops, Pubs and restaurants.
We upgraded to a superior room and we were not disappointed at all, large 4 poster bed and lovely view of the park and nice and quiet in the evening.
The hotel is very well kept and clean.
Breakfast was superb, had full English one morning and the continental the other.
We will definitely being staying here again

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit more for the superior rooms, larger and are on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We visited the Cavendish on the 1st April 2014 and it was a surprise night away for a birthday present, As we arrived early than the check in time we were given a parking permit allowing us to leave the car outside whilst we wandered around the shops. We then returned to our room early evening, only to find we were on the very top floor which was a bit of a hassle when trying to carry luggage and shopping up. However, this was soon forgotten about when we were greeted with a beautifully decorated modern and clean room. We slept like babies and even commented on how fabulously comfortable the bed was!! Breakfast the next morning could not have been better our plates were piled high with fresh cooked food enough to set us up for the day. I would certainly recommend staying here and will defiantly be back again. Harrogate is a lovely little town. Must mention the beautiful gardens opposite the hotel which were lovely to walk around in the sunny weather. Only fault I may have is the lady who checked us in seemed confused by out booking and this was not reassuring.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessica l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslingden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I took my wife here for here birthday at the end of March 2014. I had booked one of the dearer rooms that promised a four poster bed.

I was not disappointed at all. The room was fantastic and the Hotel was one of the cleanest I have ever seen, the service was wonderful. The location is brilliant if you wish to spend the evening In the town center. The rooms were very quiet, we didn't realise anyone else was staying in the hotel until breakfast the next day.

The next day we had a wonderful breakfast cooked perfectly and with a good selection.

Honestly I couldn't recommend this highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank campmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Royal Parade
Royal Parade
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dales Guest House
The Dales Guest House
#42 of 104 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Prospect Crescent
Prospect Crescent
#23 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harrogate Luxury Studios
Harrogate Luxury Studios
#7 of 30 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regent House Apartments
Regent House Apartments
#26 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish

Property: The Cavendish
Address: 3 Valley Drive, Harrogate HG2 0JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
The Cavendish Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing