We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Couldn't Fault This.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrogate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Knabbs Ash Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #34 of 100 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northamptonshire, UK
Level Contributor
280 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“We Couldn't Fault This.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

If you are looking to find something to criticise then don't stay at Knabbs Ash - you are very unlikely to find what you are looking for here. Gleamingly clean and yet homely and welcoming, beautifully and tastefully decorated, lovely situation overlooking the Yorkshire countryside, faultless hospitality, superb breakfast, and Tess the dog can even play football in one and a half feet of dry powdery snow.

Thank you Sheila and Colin. You set a mark in B and B hospitality which we don't beleive could be bettered.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intrepidity060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
168
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

We were stuck in the snow last weekend and couldn't get home as a jack knifed lorry closed the road. We found Knabbs Ash using the hotel listing on the Sat Nav and what a treat we found on our arrival. We hadn't booked but Sheila immediately took us in. We were welcomed with a cup of tea and flapjack. We had a double room which was extremely comfortable with plenty of ammenities including flat scren TV, Tea/ Coffee making facilities, hair dryer, lots of little treats and plenty of bathroom products. Breakfast the next morning was delightful - the poached eggs were cooked to perfection.
We would definitely stay here again - hopefully next time in less challenging circumstances!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2010

Knabbs Ash was a delightful place to stay - the room was warm (we has subzero temperatures), comfortable and spotlessly clean with lots of well thought through attention to detail. We received a pot of tea and cake on arrival which was lovely. Breakfast was delicious with lots to choose from. Knabbs Ash is well placed for Harrogate (approx 6 miles) and lots of good walking with easy access to the moors. A real treat.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verityodonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2010

Stayed 3 nights in November - received a lovely welcome (pot of tea and cake) and that standard continued throughout our stay. Very comfortable rooms with constant hot water and interesting and useful 'extras' in the shape of a mini-fridge, torch, and sherry! Breakfasts were fantastic and Sheila was a most convivial host. In a good position just off the Harrogate/Skipton road (but far enough off that any noise from the cars do not bother you). We would certainly stay again - excellent value!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigeljameson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

we stayed one night here as we were going to a house warming in harrogate. the room was immaculate and nothing was too much trouble for the owner sheila. we came in a little late but she left the door open and we locked up. breakfast was a little early for a sunday but it is a farm so you have to make allowances. a lovely breakfast ordered the night before. we would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolineh2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

We were greeted with such a warm welcome on our arrival and felt at home from the very start. Our en-suite room with its very comfortable bed was bright and clean and had beautiful views across the fields. The hospitality and friendliness we received was brilliant. Breakfast was delicious and set us up for a day walking at nearby Bolton Abbey. We would definitely consider staying at Knabbs Ash again and have already recommended it to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milly084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

I am laying in the comforable bed fo Knabbs Ash as I write this review. I am listening to the quiet wind outside while enjoying hot tea from the lovely assortment of teas and coffees in my room. Sheila and Colin have made this experience such an enjoyable one. They have opened their beautiful home and I can tell you, if you are traveling through the Yorkshire area, you really should not miss this experience. From driving into their long driveway, greeted by sheep on one side, cows (the neighbor's) on the other, and Tess, their beautiful herding dog, you are transported to another time.

They provide all the conveniences of modern life - wireless high-speed internet from your private room, free car park outside, flat-screen television in each room and a portable fridge in each room, hot water pot and hair blow dryer (and other modern things but I won't name them all). But you look outside your window and you feel like you are in the old English country side. You see sheeps and cows and acres and acres and acres (I am not kdding) of green grass, nature in all its glory.

I cannot say enough nice things about the place - but Colin and Sheila make it so special, warm and welcoming.

Don't miss staying at Knabbs Ash if you are in the area, and make a special trip out to Harrogate to stay at Knabbs Ash if you are not in the area - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawaiiCatLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
3.4 mi away
The Wellington Inn
The Wellington Inn
#30 of 100 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Market Tavern
The Market Tavern
#13 of 16 in Knaresborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
3.9 mi away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#2 of 100 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
North Dockenbush B&B
North Dockenbush B&B
#15 of 100 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cold Cotes Guest Accommodation & Gardens
1.8 mi away
Sophie's B&B
Sophie's B&B
#56 of 100 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knabbs Ash Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knabbs Ash Bed & Breakfast

Property: Knabbs Ash Bed & Breakfast
Address: Knabs Ash Skipton Road | Felliscliffe, Harrogate HG3 2LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small holding set in peaceful countryside with far reaching views. Three tastefully decorated en-suite rooms, private sitting room for guests own use. Patio & garden for guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Knabbs Ash Bed & Breakfast Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing