We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The "Cheers" of Harrogate” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hales Bar

Hales Bar
Ranked #37 of 433 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The oldest pub in Harrogate with Victorian gas lighting & artifacts. Our small menu is all home made & locally sourced. A private function room available for private hire. Please remember we are a very busy pub not a restaurant therefore service times are dependent on levels of trade.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The "Cheers" of Harrogate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We stopped in for brew and lunch because this historic bar was quite close to our hotel and the historic area of Harrogate. The locals were friendly, recommending local beer/ale. We opted for traditional fare - Yorkshire pudding with beef and gravy and Wensleydale cheese, chutney and sun-dried tomato sandwich (okay, maybe not than traditional). We were happy that we stopped in and recommended it to others in our group.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank HappyHawk65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMANDA W, Owner at Hales Bar, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Lovely comments, many thanks for taking the time to review us :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    133
    33
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Level Contributor
692 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 460 helpful votes
“Never saw an open-flame bar-top Cigar lighter before! Maybe you'll smell the suplhur from the springs beneath the cellar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stopped into Hale's while walking around the historic Montpellier Quarter. We turned left at the entrance and went into the Vaults bar which was small and quiet with only three beer taps. It felt like being in a wine cellar. Service was fast.

Washrooms are on the other side in the Lounge bar which was packed with more Ales and beers available in a loud and festive atmosphere. This is where you'll see the gas lighting at work as well as the Cigar lighter with the open flame sitting on the bar top. I had never seen one like that before and have not been able to find a photo of one online so these must be very rare nowadays.

This public house is as old as they come, established around 1766. The bar was previously run as The Promenade, a coaching Inn. It was expanded in 1856 when it became Hodgson’s, until 1882 when William Hales became the landlord and it was renamed Hale's bar.

It has been running as such ever since....that's 132 years of pub operation! I bet there are not many of this calibre around anymore.

Apparently sulphur springs still flow beneath the cellar and you can occasionally get a whiff of it up in the bar though we didn’t smell it on our visit.

The service at the bar was quick including delivery of our coffees. For its history and charm, Hale's is definitely worth having a drink at during any visit to Harrogate.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Concierge_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMANDA W, Owner at Hales Bar, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give this wonderful review & we hope to see you again one day in the future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london county hall
Level Contributor
331 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“top pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

A brilliant atmosphere on a Saturday night busy but not too busy. Great service and excellent choice of beers. Truly buzzing with a mix of all ages.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatrice-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMANDA W, Owner at Hales Bar, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Fab comments, thank you so much for taking the time to review Hales Bar :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Good pub with real ale and history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Popped in for a pre-dinner livener as visiting the town for a few days ..was not disappointed. Nice range of beers and barman helpful in guiding us thru' them. Could have easily made a night of it and will make a point of calling again if back in Harrogate. The key to a good pub is how they keep the beer ..they know how to here!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deltablade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMANDA W, Owner at Hales Bar, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, we take great pride in offering our guests quality kept beers & your appreciation means alot :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“West ireland Couple”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

we were very impressed with the style and atmosphere in this pub / restaurant . Staff very friendly

Very helpful and did not mind us asking questions about the gas lighting we were there on Thur night for Karakoe

we had meal on wed night excellent food freshly prepared and very well presented.

we could recommend this pub / restaurant to anybody

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank toolanellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMANDA W, Owner at Hales Bar, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Great comments, many thanks :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hales Bar also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Hales Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing