We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“such an enjoyable meal with friends”
Review of Bistrot Pierre

Bistrot Pierre
Ranked #30 of 446 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Bistrot Pierre's 'raison d'etre' is great value French cooking and seasonal menus. We like to combine French bistrot classics such as steak-frites, boeuf bourguignon and creme brulee with our own take on regional favourites like confit de canard and pate de campagne. Our relaxed and friendly bistrot is the place to go for any occasion. Sitting in the heart of the town centre, just a two minute walk from Harrogate Theatre and close to the bustling Montpellier shopping district. The decor is decidedly French in style, with the accent on elegant and relaxed. Our bistrot is located on the first floor with lift access and benefits from a stunning heated balcony, which is the perfect place for dining al fresco whatever the weather! Open seven days a week serving lunch and dinner we have something for everyone, from the two-course prix-fixe lunch for £11.95 and a two-course pre-theatre menu for £14.95 to the sumptuous a la carte menu, and for those with little time we now also offer a one-course lunch menu for just £9.95. Wander through our distinctive French wine list too, with over 20 French wines sold by the glass you will discover something exquisite to drink with your meal. For something a little special we also host a range of events at the bistrot. Join us on the second and fourth Tuesday of every month for our Soiree Gastronomique, a six-course set menu with hearty provincial cooking. This is outstanding value priced at £22.95 per person. In addition, we also offer a special Dine with Wine evening where each course comes with a glass of specially chosen wine. This takes place on the first and third Wednesday of every month, so join us for a delicious two or three course set dinner menu for £22.95/£27.95 per person. We want to make sure there is something for everyone on our menus, whatever your dietary requirements. That's why you'll find plenty of delicious gluten-free dishes as well as a child-friendly menu on offer to help make your experience in our restaurant as easy and enjoyable as possible. If you love what we do and are looking for the perfect present, give the gift of French dining and order our gift vouchers online. We also have a bistrot in Ilkley in West Yorkshire, which sits proudly within a stunning arch-shaped building that dates back to 1861. Next door you will also find our sister pub, The Crescent Inn, which boasts 8 real ales, 15 wines by the glass, honest home-cooked food and eleven affordable boutique bedrooms.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“such an enjoyable meal with friends”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a lovely lunch which catered for a cross section of dining tastes. I very much liked the option of salad with my fish instead of the usual chips or vegetables (which were also available). They also provided a fruit salad for dessert, even though it was not on the lunch menu, which made a change when you just want a light option.
The service was friendly and quick and it gave good value for money when you don't want to spend too much. I'd go again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bauhaus100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBPHarrogate, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your lovely review, we really appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience. Many Thanks and hope to see you again soon,

Best wishes

Arnold
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    638
    338
    81
    30
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Buzzing and Brilliant”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We went on Friday having walked miles watching the Tour de France.
The food was innovative, beautifully cooked and really fresh.
The service was friendly, relaxed yet professional and the place had a great atmosphere.
The best restaurant for a nice meal in Harrogate QED

Helpful?
3 Thank CampbellAsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBPHarrogate, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our restaurant and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes
The team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I'm absolute sucker for goats cheese and they do it well! Except that I absolutely love sitting on the balcony wrapped in the blanket with a glass of wine. Food is good, but I must say that some of the dishes seemed slightly greasy and I felt like there was no need for so much of oil in them.
Except that service can be not amazing, as on occasion I had to wait ages to pay and in the end decided to get up and walk to the bar to pay. Despite that I was back few times and I'm sure I will be back again.
Oh and cocktails at the bar taste yummy!

Helpful?
3 Thank Magda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBPHarrogate, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you very much for the kind comments, very good to hear that you enjoyed our food and service. I hope we will see you again when you are in Harrogate next time,
Very best wishes
Arnold
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Most beautiful steak”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I visited Harrogate on business and had dinner at this restaurant. I had the escargot, which were superb, and a steak that melted in the mouth. Service was brilliant and the atmosphere was lovely. There was no football on - thankfully!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ingwenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBPHarrogate, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you very much for the kind words, we really appreciate your lovely review and we are looking forward to see you again in our restaurant. Best regards
Arnold
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
509 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We called without a reservation early evening and after a bit of juggling the friendly floor manager found us a table.
We very much enjoyed the new Summer menu selections as well as a few old favourites.
We chose starters of squid with roasted garlic aoli and creamed mushrooms with Alsace bacon on Brioche, both were served quickly and tasted delicious!
Our mains were chicken breast served with a light lemon cream sauce served with broad beans and bacon and the classic steak frittes with black pepper butter. Again service was quick and the food was fresh tasting and delicious! The vegetables served along with the chicken included roasted red beetroot and all were cooked to perfection!
Harrogate is packed with amazing restaurants of every description and so restaurants have to be on their toes to keep business. Last night Le Bistrto Pierre certainly scored well on food, service and atmosphere! On the strength of tonights meal, we shall be returning next Saturday to enjoy their Le Tour De France special menu!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank theharrogatelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBPHarrogate, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for the kind comments, they really mean a lot to us!
I am hoping to see you again soon breakfast lunch or dinner you are always welcome here!
kindest regards
Arnold
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistrot Pierre also viewed

 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bistrot Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing