We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel,would recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kimberley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimberley Hotel
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great hotel,would recommend!”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed 5th - 7th August through a KGB deal .I was a bit dubious about staying as I had read some negative reviews .I needn't have been!
We had a great time.The hotel staff were polite and helpful,room modern,spacious and clean and breakfast was superb.The chef kept topping up the hot food and it was all of good quality.
The only negative was our room was next to the lift so we could hear people on and off as they went to bed at various times,(there was a wedding there).As there had been a recent refurbishment we were quite suprised they had built the lift next to a room.We could have asked to be moved but to be honest I didn't hear anything the second night.
We would definately stay again .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindy033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    639
    195
    60
    45
See reviews for
131
1,043
19
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

First the positives - Great location, short 5 min walk into Harrogate. Easy to find with on road parking if you don't want to pay hotel charge. Good sized room with good sized bathroom with bath and power shower.
Negatives - Room above kitchen so very hot and overlooking bins so couldn't open window.
You only get the extras with the more expensive rooms, paid £40.00 for one night without breakfast which was very reasonable but NO plasma screen TV (had one that looked like my Gran's) No bathrobe or slippers or teddy.
Would stay again but pay extra for better room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChesterMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Stayed 3 nights - arrived before midday on the first day - room was not ready which is fair enough so I asked if I could leave my luggage as I needed to return a rental vehicle to nearby York. Reception advised that would be fine just leave the luggage beside the reception desk and it would be stored in the luggage room. Fine except when I returned 4 hours later my luggage was still in the same place beside the reception desk! Then when we got to the room which was pretty basic looking out to a brick wall there were only 4 coat hangers in the wardrobe. One wire and three plastic. We immediately asked for more coat hangers and expected them to arrive more or less straight away. When the hangers did not arrive we asked again, and again - on one occasion we would told the hotel does not supply coat hangers! After more perseverance we were told all the rooms had fixed hangers so what were we on about. Finally somebody went out and purchased some good quality coat hangers that were delivered to our room before the end of our stay. On the second day we arrived back at the hotel about 5.30pm only to find our room had not been made up. We rang reception who advised us that housekeeping had been very busy and our room would be made up ASAP. Within a few minutes housekeeping arrived and did a 5 minute spruce up only to advise that they had run out of towels and would not have any till the laundry arrival next day. Fortunately after our gasps of disbelief two towels were found. Frankly it seemed the hotel lacked leadership and the staff were poorly trained. There was not a hotel compendium in our room nor did we sight a hotel porter during our entire stay.
Whilst the hotel is in a good position to explore Harrogate it is definitely not 4 star.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sineke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We have just returned from a weekend at the Kimberley Hotel in Harrogate.

I had stayed there a couple of times a year ago on Buiness and had decided to treat the wife.

First the good ...

Excellent location just a five minute walk from Centre with bars and excellent restaurants close by.
Executive rooms are first class with Truffles and a bottle if Wine waiting on arrival. The rooms are large with quality furnishings including a LCD TV on the wall and excellent Tea / Coffe facilities. The Rooms have good quality bathrooms with a huge bath and powerful shower. The toiletries are also first class.
The hotel has a lot of character and generally the service is good with a couple of exceptions (see below).
We had a meal on the saturday evening in the Terrace Bistro - tip ask for a table by the outside doors - we had a table inside the restaurant opposite the bar and we were sweltering as there didn't seem to be air-conditioning - we moved to a table next to the open door and it was much more comfortable. The choice and quality of food was good and I would have no hesitation eating there again.
The bad ..

1/ The hotel has its own car park which was full by 7.30pm when we arrived and we had to park near the road. We moved our car about 50 yards into the car park on Saturday morning and we were charged £6 - when I stayed there last year there was no charge.

Another minor point but ... on the Saturday morning there was a newspaper outside our door (if you can call the Sun a newspaper !!) - we hadn't ordered a paper and took it to reception on the way to breakfast. They thanked us for returning the paper and apologised for the inconvenience ..... it was on our bill when we came to checkout !!!

2/ Breakfast service - The hotel was full and breakfast was extremely busy both morninings we were there. There seemed to be alot of staff but there seemed to be a lack of instruction / direction as to who should be doing what and even which tables they should be serving.

Saturday morning arrived at 9.10 am and waited and was immediately seated after ordering tea and toast we then went to the self service buffet. There is a good choice of cereals and fruit juices. when we came to get our hot breakfast items there was no fried eggs, no scrambled eggs, very little bacon left only the scrawny end bits, the black pudding had finished and there was only a few hash brown. I immediately asked for fresh bacon, Eggs and black pudding .. 10 minutes and three more requests later the bacon appeared fortunately when the eggs arrived I put them on my plate as thet had now gone, there was still no black pudding and I made do with hash browns and beans.

Sunday morning arrived at 9.30 and waited for about 5 minutes for someone to greet and seat us we were asked to wait whilst they checked for a table for two and we were seated in the adjacent room to the main breakfast area. There were a number of empty tables in the main area but these hadn't been cleared. After having cereal and juice we set off for our hot breakfast - no plates !! Again I had to ask three times and waited nearly 10 minutes for someone to arrive with playes (by now there was about 8 people waiting) - fortunately today there was only the hash browns missing so I got pretty much what I was after.

Whilst having our breakfast the couple behind us asked for drinks and porridge - some ten minutes later they enquired as to the whereabouts of the porridge and were surrounded by 4 people asking who took the order - they lady who had taken the other suddenly appeared after about a minute with everything they had asked for.

Our observations concluded that if they are going to meet and greet people (always a nice touch) then they should have someone at the front at all times and they should know which tables are available. The staff should know which area they are responsible for or the tasks divided up - they all seem to do everything and rush round like headless chickens not knowing what to do next and forgetting some of the basics like which table ordered what !!

Finally, someone from the kitchen should check the food quantity levels and not rely on the customer telling them when something has run out.

Fix this and you will have a hotel to rival and better the Majestic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the annex - these are all Executive rooms a little more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank red_striker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Kimberly hotel. We booked on line and were more than pleased with the location. It was right next door to the international conference centre and just a short walk into the centre of the town. We were given a lovely room in the new anex which overlooked a small dene. it was quiet, spacious and well appointed - everything brand spanking new. the only grouse (and a small one) was the lighting. the bedside lamps were not enough to light the room but when we put on the main ceiling spotlights the room was bright enough to perform open heart surgery!!! the breakfast was first class - (tea in a teapot and not stewed tea from a flask which seems to be gaining popularity with some hotels.) All the food was freshly made and fruit was fresh and not tinned! We ate at the restaurant on the first night and the menu was really different and good value. we ate out the second night and wished that we had just stayed at the hotel restaurant. The staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful. We would certainly reccomend this hotel and if we return to Harrogate would certainly use it again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wharriers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Just returned from a two night stay at the Kimberly Hotel courtesy of kgb deals. We had a deluxe room in the annexe which overlooked woodland at the back of hotel so there was no road noise.

Room very spacious with excellent decor and large bathroom with high quality toiletries. Breakfast very good with lots of variety and food in Bistro is of a very high qualty. Staff all very polite and helpful and Hotel is defintiely a 4 * establishment.

I do have a couple of criticisms though. Although waiting on staff are very efficient there seems to be a problem in kitchen when the hotel is busy. First evening we waited an hour for our starters in the Bistro which was probably due to the fact that there was a large party in the dining room eating at the same time. Breakfast on our second day was very busy and they ran out of eggs, bacon, hash browns and black pudding all at the same time and diners (myself included) had to wait a long time for the hot dishes to be refilled. Had to pay £6.00 per night to park on hotel car park.

Despite the comments above we did get an extremely good deal and would definitely return if a similar deal came up in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venus53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed for 2nights , our room was with groupons booking special deals the room was an up grade ,but we felt it was not quite up to the mark no fridge no real extras as most 4stars but decor/comfort good, on sightseeing trips, we went to Harrogate TI, they gave to 2hr parking disc, The train to york, do a two for one return which is £11, knaresborough is worth stopping off the train , beautiful views, and not to forget Betty cake shop, you may have to wait along time to get a table

Room Tip: York can be a nightmare ,they do a park and ride, But the train do two for one we went from Harrogat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,443 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
2,601 reviews
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Hotel

Property: Kimberley Hotel
Address: 11-19 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#8 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimberley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimberley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberley Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing