We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KGB Special Deal”
Review of Kimberley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimberley Hotel
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“KGB Special Deal”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We booked this trip a number of months ago with KGB Deals. When we arrived we were informed that we were going in the Annexe building and car parking was £6.00 per night, things were not looking good!

We were however pleasantly surprised when we found our room.

The room was spacious and clean. Spacious bathroom with a super deep bath. Breakfast was excellent 1st morning, not so good the next. Having said that we did get up late the 2nd day and the breakfast was still being refreshed, all about timing I guess.

The staff were all warm, friendly and helpful.

The hotel is in a great position for going into Harrogate and only 20 or so miles from York so we took the opportunity to visit.

If I'm honest I wouldn't pay the rack rate but will certainly go back if it pops up on a deal site again.

Room Tip: Request an Annexe Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    658
    202
    62
    45
See reviews for
136
1,082
20
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Myself, partner and 2 year old daughter stayed here for my birthday. It was lovely, parking to rear and we stayed in the new building which was so nice. Room beautiful and very new and modern decor. The chocolate mints on the pillow and bath robes with free slippers added a unique personal touch that made this better than other hotels that we have stayed at. The breakfast was lovely, all you can and a very good selection. The staff even gave my daughter a hotel teddybear. I cannot complain at all about this hotel and would definately recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby N.Yorks
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Stayed 2 nights as part of kgb deal, paid £99 so great value. Allocated ground floor new part of the hotel. Spacious clean room, comfy bed, modern bathroom with deep bath although no towels provided! On ringing reception no one answered so had to go & ask. Good thing i discovered no towels before showering! Towels promptly delivered.
Buffet breakfast, adequate & plentiful. 10min walk into town no need to use your car if you don't want.Think car park charge is fair although free would be better!
Weather glorious so walked from town centre via Valley Gardens to Harlow Carr approx 1 mile, well worth a visit. Had a great meal 1st night @ Le Bistro Pierre, Cheltenham Parade, then good entertainment followed @ The Blues Cafe Bar, Montpellier Parade. Ate on 2nd night @ Van Zeller's, Montpellier St, very expensive & over-rated.
Overall a great weekend

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ForeverfatNYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We have just returned from a Great Rail Journeys tour which included three days at the Kimberley Hotel, Harrogate. Fortunately, we did upgrade to a beautiful room in the annexe which overlooks woodland at the rear of the hotel. Others in our group were not so fortunate and complained of small rooms with a tiny en-suite. Staff did not look very happy at all, maybe because they received so many complaints from our group of 41 people! Breakfast was good with no complaints as far as we were concerned. However, dinner was another thing! Although varied, portions (served directly on the plate) were absolutely minute, carrots so thin that they could not be pierced by a fork and had to be picked up with a knife, three tiny bits of potato and small servings of meat. But the thing that made all those on our table laugh out loud was the 2-1/2" square by less than 1/4" thick slice of chocolate mousse which was my dessert! We decided that it must have been the last they had as when I complained to the waitress nothing happened. What a pity that this hotel let itself down. When our tour guide complained, all of our group received a free glass of wine (from the Kimberley) at the next hotel we visited but, no doubt, none of our large group would ever return there.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the best rooms in the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanbarryWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed The Kimberley Hotel this weekend on a Groupon 2 night stay offer which was excellent value at £99 for 2 nights.

The hotel is located a short walk (perhaps 10 minutes at most) from Harrogate centre so it's fine to leave cars in the hotel car park all day and wander into town.

The hotel is a traditional Harrogate building but the interior is contemporary but nicely done.

We stayed in the hotel annexe in a lovely spacious room with nice decor, leather sofa and big flat screen TV on the wall. Nice spacious bathroom - modern with great deep bath and good shower.

All the staff we encountered were helpful and polite.

Breakfast was fine - nothing special. We didn't eat in the bistro so can't comment on that.

In summary - our stay was enjoyable and we found the hotel to be good. We would certainly consider a return visit next time we visit Harogate.

Room Tip: Annexe rooms were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollysouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I booked this hotel for a girly weekend with my mum. I wanted somewhere in walking distance of Harrogate but far enough to be quiet. This hotel did not disappoint. We got there too early for check in but the receptionist looked after our bags while we went for lunch. We had booked a budget room so I didn't expect the HUGE bedroom we were given! Very clean, spacious and the bathroom was lovely too. The beds were so comfortable!
We ate here on the second night because the heavens opened and we didn't want to go out. I'm so glad we did - the service was brilliant, the food was gorgeous with plenty of choice.
I cannot fault this hotel at all and would definately go again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woobs75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed two nights here in a smart,comfortable,clean room. The bathroom was beautifully designed,very clean and well-equipped with useful grab-rails.The frosted glass door to the bath-room was not a problem.Breakfasts were excellent, and the lunch and two evening meals were not too expensive and very good. Service was excellent from every one. Reception staff booked a sightseeing cab and sorted out a cinema trip for us.Parking is at the back of the hotel. Normally £6 per night,it was free to us because my partner is disabled.We were also given a room conveniently close to the lift ,dining areas and car park.The hotel is in a very central position ,near the Conference Centre and lots of restaurants and shops.We preferred,however,to drive out to the dales and enjoy the simply beautiful scenery.

Room Tip: Our excellent room was in the newly built section of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank furbysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Hotel

Property: Kimberley Hotel
Address: 11-19 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#8 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimberley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimberley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberley Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing